Pet Help Stuff Tarantulas Eat
smellyocheese
Jun 26 2006, 12:46 PM
I'm still against feeding live mice and hamsters to Ts. It's just not necessary. They don't need that much calcium in fact there's a theory that too much calcium is not healthy for the T and can cause molting problems. Plus do you really wanna take the chance of the hamster/mouse biting your T? any T keeper should know that one punture to the abdomen means bye bye to the T. if a mouse can take a chunk out of a snake, it can do so on a T.
Just my piece of mind. why bother taking unnecessary risks?
smellyocheese
Jun 28 2006, 02:16 AM
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jun 26 2006, 02:11 PM) What so hard. Give dead one lo. For t like blondi tak kan still wan to feed crix. Not logic la. Who ask u go and touch them  Tarantulas do not fancy dead prey  especially the big ones. that's the reason why people don't feed dead. How is it not logical to feed insects to a T blondi? a T blondi can take 5 crickets at one go. And that' sufficient for one feeding. It's unfortunate that in Malaysia we don't have many feeder insects available. In some other countries, they usually feed larger insects like hoppers, locusts and roaches to their Ts. Therefore it is perfectly logical to feed insects to the larger T. Again, feeding vertebrates is not a must and could be harmful.