Pet Help Stuff Tarantulas Eat
TSClecwm
Jun 8 2006, 08:20 PM, updated 20y ago
Hey guys, I'm really interested to noe wad tarantulas can really eat.
Other than the normal crickets, mealworms...wad were the wildest thing u've have ever fed them and they finished it? Of cuz,hopefully it survived.
I've nv seen any ate a 2-inch mice(fairly huge) b4...I think only the Theraphosa leblondi would/could consume it.
Anyway, would u owners mind sharing? Any vegetarian tarantulas?
For me,the worst I've fed was a small frog...wouldnt feed it another time.
This post has been edited by Clecwm: Jun 8 2006, 08:42 PM
HuonHengChai
Jun 8 2006, 10:48 PM
I gave my Ts with pinkies once and they finish them wasn't a good thing to see thou. they basically eats anything that they can overpower, in the wild blondi eats snakes that are unlucky enough to venture in their burrow. other things i know people had try are house lizards, feeder fishes, grass hoppers and one of my friend feeds his seemani with rosea :grin:
TSClecwm
Jun 12 2006, 06:06 PM
Geez....a house lizard  ... I see some in my house but I cant imagine feeding them to a tarantula. What is usually left behind after they eat it? Tarantulas are fairly clean eaters...
julchin_09
Jun 13 2006, 12:11 PM
If you give a house lizard(Cicak), I think there would be remains left. I don't advise giving the Tarantula that as the carcass will smell really bad...
NZX
Jun 14 2006, 01:55 PM
agak agak lar... if u give a big mouse it will kill n eat it...buit if it cant finish it then u have a half eaten dead thing there that smells bad for u to clean up. YUCK!!!!
i give crix only...hahaha...
JetOoi
Jun 14 2006, 02:02 PM

I feed my 2 inches rosea with all sorts of insects that it can overpower. the recent victim was a dragonfly
wei
Jun 14 2006, 06:05 PM
I heard ppl feed Ts with choped/ sliced meat too.
terrorist
Jun 25 2006, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(gtoracer1 @ Jun 14 2006, 11:28 PM) wow,interesting,feed hamster?  swt , wan meh ? hamster so cute , u wan feed Tarantula =.= ..
wei
Jun 25 2006, 10:24 AM
hahahaha... actually somebody tried that. u can check with other tarantula keeper in lowyat.
WhitE LighteR
Jun 25 2006, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(terrorist @ Jun 25 2006, 12:07 AM) swt , wan meh ? hamster so cute , u wan feed Tarantula =.= .. Who cares they look cute... we love our tarantula more This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Jun 25 2006, 10:34 AM
HuonHengChai
Jun 25 2006, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(terrorist @ Jun 25 2006, 12:07 AM) swt , wan meh ? hamster so cute , u wan feed Tarantula =.= .. Hamsters are vicious! they look cute but they have a plot to take over the world and bring pain to man with their teeth. Tarantulas are the saviour of mankind!
WhitE LighteR
Jun 25 2006, 11:40 PM
LOL...pinky and the brain
Rena_blue
Jun 26 2006, 10:08 AM
Aiyakyak... say hamster until like tat meh...take over the world...hohohoho
|sorcerer|
Jun 26 2006, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(HuonHengChai @ Jun 25 2006, 10:09 PM) Hamsters are vicious! they look cute but they have a plot to take over the world and bring pain to man with their teeth. Tarantulas are the saviour of mankind! heh.. today im laughing in front of my pc.. thank god my staff never see me..
wei
Jun 26 2006, 10:56 AM
I concur that pet lover have wild imagination.
smellyocheese
Jun 26 2006, 12:46 PM
I'm still against feeding live mice and hamsters to Ts. It's just not necessary. They don't need that much calcium in fact there's a theory that too much calcium is not healthy for the T and can cause molting problems. Plus do you really wanna take the chance of the hamster/mouse biting your T? any T keeper should know that one punture to the abdomen means bye bye to the T. if a mouse can take a chunk out of a snake, it can do so on a T.
Just my piece of mind. why bother taking unnecessary risks?
suiteng
Jun 26 2006, 01:33 PM
Giving pinkie to Ts not recommended though, coz pinkie's skin is like human skin.. later the Ts cannot differentiate it's your hand or pinkie, later bite.
WhitE LighteR
Jun 26 2006, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(smellyocheese @ Jun 26 2006, 12:46 PM) I'm still against feeding live mice and hamsters to Ts. It's just not necessary. They don't need that much calcium in fact there's a theory that too much calcium is not healthy for the T and can cause molting problems. Plus do you really wanna take the chance of the hamster/mouse biting your T? any T keeper should know that one punture to the abdomen means bye bye to the T. if a mouse can take a chunk out of a snake, it can do so on a T. Just my piece of mind. why bother taking unnecessary risks? What so hard. Give dead one lo. For t like blondi tak kan still wan to feed crix. Not logic la. QUOTE(suiteng @ Jun 26 2006, 01:33 PM) Giving pinkie to Ts not recommended though, coz pinkie's skin is like human skin.. later the Ts cannot differentiate it's your hand or pinkie, later bite. Who ask u go and touch them
suiteng
Jun 26 2006, 02:55 PM
They are my furry little friends :whistle:
smellyocheese
Jun 28 2006, 02:16 AM
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jun 26 2006, 02:11 PM) What so hard. Give dead one lo. For t like blondi tak kan still wan to feed crix. Not logic la. Who ask u go and touch them  Tarantulas do not fancy dead prey  especially the big ones. that's the reason why people don't feed dead. How is it not logical to feed insects to a T blondi? a T blondi can take 5 crickets at one go. And that' sufficient for one feeding. It's unfortunate that in Malaysia we don't have many feeder insects available. In some other countries, they usually feed larger insects like hoppers, locusts and roaches to their Ts. Therefore it is perfectly logical to feed insects to the larger T. Again, feeding vertebrates is not a must and could be harmful.
Street Force
Jun 28 2006, 02:25 AM
Wah....white lighter vry vry ganas... i only able to feed my T with mealworms only...they are still small...
WhitE LighteR
Jun 28 2006, 08:40 AM