LYN Cycling V9, Racing/Road bikes- Ironman Malaysia 2014
fastreader
Nov 9 2013, 10:55 AM
hi...newbie in the cycling house...  i'm intending to get a roadie...so was wondering how much is a reasonable price range for decent ones?.. would RM1.5k be enough?.. would rather spend a "little bit" more for a more decent bike than to get a cheapo and easily breakdown bike... Further, is there any recommended brand that is suitable for beginner like me?.. i noticed tat some of my fren recommend Polygon for some carbon thingy... Any other brand recommendations, sifu and guru?.. Background: I'm more of a long distance hobby runner. Now want to try out cycling. More of long distance cycling (targetting 50-60km for weekends).
fastreader
Nov 9 2013, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(tuan birch @ Nov 9 2013, 11:10 AM) what u mean by "polygon for some carbon thingy"? anyway buy a giant tcr. very cheap rm3K only. if u give up cycling later u still can easily sell it off at BBS. dont buy too cheap bike, later you cannot find friend with same league. "what u mean by "polygon for some carbon thingy"?" what i meant was, some of my friend was recommending me to get Polygon as it got certain parts in carbon...the fork or the body..i cant reli remember which part...  Giant tcr?..3k is pretty steep...  anything below that price range which is decent enough for beginner?..what about the Helios range of bike?...isit decent enough?
fastreader
Nov 9 2013, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(tuan birch @ Nov 9 2013, 11:10 AM) what u mean by "polygon for some carbon thingy"? anyway buy a giant tcr. very cheap rm3K only. if u give up cycling later u still can easily sell it off at BBS. dont buy too cheap bike, later you cannot find friend with same league. yeap..i will look at BBC for any deals too..
fastreader
Nov 9 2013, 11:19 AM
opppsssss....BBS...
fastreader
Nov 9 2013, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(malleus @ Nov 9 2013, 11:26 AM) would be the usually the fork that's carbon. but you're not likely to get carbon anything for a 1.5k price. polygons used to be seriously good value for money for their 2012 and especially 2011 range. but for 2013 you no longer get decent wheels with the bike. oic...hmmm..maybe i shud b looking for a used polygon year 2011.. but sometime i noticed tat ppl arent selling it any lower than the original price...inflation i guess..
fastreader
Nov 9 2013, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 9 2013, 11:37 AM) 4k+ would be on the safer side.. polygon has very cheap price point bikes.. practically unmatchable value for money... go give them a look first.. if you have more to spend and want other brands... you think about it then... sifu had spoken!!! alrite..maybe will settle with polygon....thank you...will have a look around for the entry-level model..
fastreader
Nov 9 2013, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(Mr Oo @ Nov 9 2013, 12:28 PM) hi,newbie buying for my 1st roadbikr, my friend recomment me polygon helios A6 ,any sifu for feedback. tq please read fr post #1931 onwards...i asked the same question too...it seems like polygon is a good bet for entry level model which is bang-for-buck.
fastreader
Nov 9 2013, 02:53 PM
fastreader
Nov 9 2013, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(tuan birch @ Nov 9 2013, 09:32 PM) how to lose belly fat by cycling? cycling may not yield the best result...running will help to reduce the size...but crunches will help to firm it up...however, if the crunches is not consistently maintained, the belly may return again.
fastreader
Nov 10 2013, 01:20 AM
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Nov 10 2013, 01:07 AM) The thing I hate about coming back with this cycling activity is...it makes me think that there are still a plenty of upgrades that need to be done on my bike.. it should be just go out and ride and not thinking about upgrading too much. remember the joy of riding with trainers?..that should b what we shud b pursuing... my wallet  when thought of buying bike...