LYN Almera Owner Discussion V2, Come share ur experience

shinchan99
post Nov 6 2014, 02:10 PM

619 posts

Sharing my experience on my 2012 almera V spec bought in 2012 as well. Current mileage at 60k+

1. First day when got my car , got disc sound. Checked by TC service center the disc brake dust cover touches my disc brake hence kena the sound. Repaired, and so far no problem.

2. First day of ownership, changed the rim to 17" and start monitoring the FC. To me, not impressed at all, my old junk scooby turbo charged can do almost similar FC with my new almera. Roughly each drive of RM 80 petrol can only get me +- 400km, sometimes lesser due to traffic jam, sometimes higher if drive highway. But tried driving long range on highway quite satisfied can get 500km. With the new increase in petrol price, my full tank now about RM87-90 can only clock 400km max. I've emailed to their customer service before regarding the FC issue is it normal or not, they feedback it's actually very subjective on FC so unable to comment. Came across arrowhead's FC like quite similar to mine, let me know bro if you had found any solution to this matter from the SC.

3. Rear drum brake sound (like those lorry braking sound) came after 1st or 2nd service can't recall and i've been since keep complaining to TCEAS, but not able to solve the problem until today. Last service which is just last week, still not able to solve, and the SA told me he will submit for parts claim whole set of rear drum.

4. Wheel bearing issue. To date my mileage about 60k , i've claimed total 3 sets of wheel bearing. First set (front right side) i think changed around 10k, rear both side around 50k. Dont know when will my front left side give way now sad.gif

5. This week, even the worst came. Air cond not cold. Today sent in to check and just got a call from SA that my cooling coil leak. Need to take out whole dashboard to repair sad.gif Lucky warranty covered if not dont know need to pay how much. Need to put car at SC for 2 days.

Not trying to say this is a bad car or what. But just to share my experience so far in owning this car.
shinchan99
post Nov 6 2014, 02:26 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Nov 6 2014, 02:22 PM)
My brakes used to squeek as well. Its from the rear drums. I sent back to tc a few times for that. Last service they rectified it.

At least u get 400kms on a full tank. I usually get 350 only.. that also i control not to pass 3krpm whenever possible.
What they do to your rear drums on your last service? I know your last few times will be shaving off side of the brake pads la, shaving across the brake pads la, shaving here and there correct? Ha ha biggrin.gif

My rear brake dunno shave until how many times jo, still comes back. Shave my bulu also havent solve the squeeking sound laugh.gif

My usual daily work driving can get about there 360-380km with a bit of jam here and there. I thought the culprit was the 17" rims, if your's is not modded with the 17" rims, then you seriously have a high FC rclxub.gif
shinchan99
post Nov 6 2014, 04:14 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Nov 6 2014, 03:54 PM)
They told me they clean inside the drums. That's abt it. I would assume they shave here and there as well.. Knowing how most Malaysian mechanics are  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

And yes, I don't have 17 inch rims on. My car is stock standard.

Haih. Considering to send to hq, but again, what can they do? Lol
I only go to SC if there's major problem or regular service. Just to solve the FC issue ? i think i will pass. Wasting time wake up early morning send car to the SC and solve nuts. Only can suggest you to keep complaining via email (which they normally attend by return email and call too) and complain during regular service.

PS: To all almera owners soon to be, don't just take my bad experience to influence your buying decision. It's still a SPACIOUS car to me (because i am a 6ft'er), and for that price offered, its really value for money. Just that I'm not as lucky as other almera owners here tongue.gif
shinchan99
post Nov 7 2014, 01:42 PM

619 posts

Just got a picture from my air con repairing job for my almera.. Wondering anyone interested to see ??
shinchan99
post Nov 7 2014, 01:51 PM

619 posts

As requested.

SC told me, cooling coil leaking so need to change (i hope he CHANGE and not weld the leaking part back) and taadaa !! Here's the work load involved..

YES !! Removing the whole dash board sad.gif Heart attack when my SA send me the photo..
shinchan99
post Nov 7 2014, 02:33 PM

619 posts

Just hope they replace them. And can last longer than 2 years sad.gif

If every 2 years kong like that , the workload to replace the cooling coil is too much.. And by that time sure got charges to repair already..

So be prepared to fork out large sum of money if repair job involves cooling oil ~
shinchan99
post Nov 7 2014, 02:41 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Nov 7 2014, 02:38 PM)
you blast your temperature to the lowest?
My aircon friend did advised not to put temp to lowest as it would shorten the parts' lifespan.
Most of the time yes.. To the max tongue.gif Will take your advise not to put the temp to the max next time. Thanks for the tips
shinchan99
post Nov 7 2014, 03:17 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Nov 7 2014, 03:05 PM)
two nights ago, as my family and I were getting to ready to go home after dinner and chit chat at a friend's shop, my car suddenly couldn't start. the wipers, signal and lights all working. the giveaway was that the blinking red image of a car with the key inside on the display. had to get it towed to the Nissan SC at 1.30am (tow truck took 1.5 hours to reach!!!)

got it fixed yesterday and SC said it was because the brake switch was faulty causing the car to be immobilised. i told the SC guy that's pretty concerning because it happened out of the blue and my car is not even two years old. his response: that's why we give you 3 years warranty!  blink.gif

has anyone had this problem before?
What a good excuse given by your SC guy.. Means we have to start selling our car on year 3 onwards !! laugh.gif
shinchan99
post Nov 12 2014, 08:46 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(lunacy @ Nov 7 2014, 10:53 PM)
air cond fix at which sc ?  or need to send ourself to supplier ?

bcos proton n perodua air cond issues you need to send the car urself to supplier like denso etc.
The whole fix + warranty claim all done at SC Puchong

0.0410sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:42 AM