LYN's DDR2 Discussion, Come in and share
LExus65
Sep 29 2007, 09:57 PM
some question regarding the test for ram settings.......regarding latency
current i have my mushkin DDR800 stock 5,5,5,15 to run timing of 4,4,4,12 @ 2.15v..........i am running it on P965 Dark it's PI32M stable but not othos, any idea where should i tweak to get this fix........ anyone have some experince to share it.......
other then orthos others everything seems to be working very well..... and no crashes so far after few days of running
LExus65
Oct 2 2007, 09:27 AM
i dun think FSB or HT is the problem, as i have gone higher without any problem at looser timing......... cooling also no problem, i have 120mm fan blasting it.....vdimm i have tried 2.2 but still no effects
there are just too much setting in the DFI boards for dram timing........... i guess need to take time to see what excatly each one does...........
btw i need some advice fom experts around here what does these settings related to ? 1. GTL+ Drive Strength 2. Enchanced Data Transmitting, 3. Enchanced Addressing 4. DQ Calibration 5. Clk fine delay
so any ideas all the experts over here........
LExus65
Oct 20 2007, 09:02 PM
Dimm sensor, wah so shock 1........ i only came across this on a rack server before.....and it very rare....
975X mobo ........ wander if x38 also have it
This post has been edited by LExus65: Oct 21 2007, 07:59 AM
LExus65
Jun 26 2008, 03:57 PM
a1098113, 2 gb is definately not enough for vista especially in those FPS and strategy game. In XP u might survive with 2gb but in Vista u need more.
so far after i upgrade my platform to vista, average ram utilization is hitting 2.5gb during normal gaming session. I ran riva tuner side by side to monitor the resource utilization.
btw, ocx flex 2 PC2-9200 is da king as cstkl mention at the moment..... sadly all runnig out of stock
LExus65
Jun 27 2008, 11:22 AM
speaking ram utilisation, i got a interesting question here. In 32bit OS, we know only 3+gb of the 4gb is available to be use, so there are some remain.
my question is will the remaining ram capacity suffer some sort of degradtion as it not being used ? I'm not sure how the ram utilisation is spread between the ram chip itself, so it may happen some ram chip is not working at all, or all the chips are working randomly.
BTW those review on 2gb vs 4gb, i notice usually the benching rig does not have much background program running like most user did,
LExus65
Jul 9 2008, 05:30 PM
cstkl1 , good pair or reaper u got there....... 1.84v for DDR 1000....
incredible.....
LExus65
Jul 11 2008, 02:25 PM
icic thx for the info cstkl1, may be i go look for a pair of these 4gb too.
most i see manage to get 1000mhz only above 1.95v, seldom i see can get lower. may be i'll try see mine can go or not.... long time never tweak the rams already hehe
well i agree PCP is not bad at all,
LExus65
Jul 16 2008, 10:12 AM
CAS4 on 2x2g max can go around 9xx if u want to maintain low voltage for daily use.........else quite difficult to find...