New user reporting in got mine from lowyat with trade in. Purple monster!!!!
Sony XPERIA™ Z1, Official Thread V3, 5"FHD, 20.7MP-GLens (lossless D. Zoom)
Oct 8 2013, 08:37 AM
81 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
New user reporting in got mine from lowyat with trade in. Purple monster!!!!
Oct 15 2013, 12:15 PM
Had a very bad experience with Sony yesterday. Abit of background. Bought Z1 about a week ago and been happy with it with some minor gripes which is normal for whatever phone u buy no phone is perfect. Found out that my NFC is not working. I was pretty sure that it is a hardware issue as I am not very technical but I not a newbie as well. Did alot of testing and basically found out the phone does detect the NFC chip but for some reason it is not able to connect or detect any NFC enabled devices/cards and etc. Called the call center and they advise me to format and i did twice. No joy and then they advised me to take it to the service center at Plaza Berjaya. Went there pertty calm cos its not my first time to deal with issues on a purchase that needed warranty service. Waited my turn and when finally came to my turn. They had to test for themselves first b4 confirming my suspicion which is totally understandable. They tech confirmed h/w issue.
Then they dropped the bomb on me. "Sorry sir no parts so you have to wait latest end of October or next month"I was like what!? ok so how now? "Well sir you can continue to use the phone since NFC is not critical for daily usage" For some reason i saw RED after that. You are telling me a phone that I bought just a bout a week ago has a h/w defect and u can't do anything to fix it or help me by the end of the month?! I demanded a 1 to 1 exchange at that point. "Sorry sir we don't do 1 to 1 exchange as we are only a service center you have to call Sony Xperia support" I demanded them to call the support line for me and demanded o speak to a manager. Turns out the manager was the first person i spoke to when i called so i doubt that he is a manager cos what kind of a call center where their manager pickups a frontline call? TOld them that this can be considered as a DOA unit and I expect either a refund or a 1 to 1 exchange. To cut it short after some sort of arguing on the phone for 30 mins( i did not swear even once which is quite a surprise for me lolx) they needed to get approval from upper management for 1 to 1 exchange. I finally got the approval to get a 1 to 1 exchange however need to wait till next week. Oh well at least they let me use the current phone first. Hopefully no issues on the replacement 1. Just thought i share my exp with support. Although it was messy but i have to admit they delivered what they promise by following up and getting the approval on the day itself. |
Oct 26 2013, 09:20 AM
UPDATE:
Not sure any of you remember but here is an update on my replacement Z1. Went to the service center after getting a call telling me that the replacement phone has arrived. Waited for about 30mins for them to do paper work b4 getting the replacement phone. Once i got it sat down and tested it extensively at the service center. I noticed that the screen is a little bit more yellowish compared to my current 1. Inform the service center girl that the screen on this is yellowish. She did a test and confirm yes it is yellowish and will go and get me another 1. This time they did a s/w update and it seems the screen went even more yellowish that the last. So she went back and got another 1 this time no s/w update. It could not even turn on! Did a s/w update and still yellowish. They have must brought out 3-4 Z1 and all of them have the yellowish screen with /without the update. They told me that this are the 2nd batch of Z1 that Dynamics sent to them and it seems they are more yellowish than the first batch and worst after the .257 update. By that time it was already 6.30pm and I could not call the call center as they were already closed. The service center frontdesk suggested that I wait for their parts and tools to arrive so that they can fix my NFC. I reluctantly left empty handed. This morning called the call center and spoke to the manager that was assigned to my case and he promised to have the service center to order a diff batch and test the screen b4 calling me to collect. So looks like i need to wait another week. I actually quite happy with the phone my first Sony smartphone. So far customer service has been OK but i really pray that the next batch will not have those awful yellowish screen. Sorry for the long essay thought i update u guys on this.javascript:emoticon(':)') |
Oct 26 2013, 10:21 AM
Oct 26 2013, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(sookk @ Oct 26 2013, 11:14 AM) If you ask me that is pretty good service already... At least they are willing to go through all these hassle to get you a new phone or repair your Nfc... Haha dun get me wrong service is OK so far however I do think I am within my consumer rights to make little bit of noise if the product i bought is not working as it supposed to within 1 week of purchasing it.Try this at asus... Completely different experience |
Oct 26 2013, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(angel-girl @ Oct 26 2013, 10:51 AM) Thanks for sharing. Sony ask me go back get the screen change and imlazy to go as i feel ok with the color or shud say im used to it lol Yeah i even gave them the option of removing the screen on my old 1 and have them fit it on the new Z1 set but they informed my that they currently do not have the tools to pull apart the Z1 just yet |
Oct 26 2013, 12:43 PM
Oct 26 2013, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(ckchan @ Oct 26 2013, 12:20 PM) Me too... Previously still using the screen adjuster to increase the blue. Now already off it. Not sure it's the update improve my display or what. Just ddidn't notice it as an issue at anymore. Well some say the update does improve the screen situation but for some reason the update made it worst on the replacement units. It made it very obvious even the Technician there cud not deny that it was yellowish |
Oct 26 2013, 12:49 PM
Oct 26 2013, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(lilzany @ Oct 26 2013, 04:19 PM) exactly. I have seen all three color demo sets. All is white screen except for the black demo set which has a yellow tint. I decided to risk it with the black since I like the color more and sure enough, my heart was crushed when I opened the sealed box because the yellow tint was immediately obvious. Well agreed unfortunately i had my original Z1 to compare with and it was very obviousSo I got back and then I'm not that sure of the yellow tint. It is there I never doubt it but without a straight on comparison, is really hard to notice. |
Oct 26 2013, 05:03 PM
| Change to: | 0.0631sec