New Dell Venue Pro 8" and 11" Windows 8.1 tablets, IPS. Baytrail/Haswell, $299 and $499 up

marauderz
post Oct 25 2013, 10:58 AM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

Ok.. Dell Venue 8 has an Active Digitizer? Color me interested..
marauderz
post Oct 25 2013, 11:19 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Oct 25 2013, 11:13 AM)
is that a generic connector which all notebook can use or specific to certain model?
Yeah, there're generic HDMI -> VGA connectors.
marauderz
post Oct 25 2013, 11:45 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Oct 25 2013, 11:43 AM)
need driver or plug & play?
Should be usually.
marauderz
post Oct 25 2013, 02:04 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Oct 25 2013, 12:04 PM)
you mean usually need driver?
My bad that I made it unclear, I mean usually don't need.
marauderz
post Oct 25 2013, 02:06 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Oct 25 2013, 11:59 AM)
I don't think its active digitizer -- it should be a capacitive pen. I don't think the touch screen is pressure sensitive
Some ppl have mentioned that it could be the new Synaptics screen which supports their own Active Digitizer sensor. One of the tell tale signs that it is a digitizer is that if you look at the stylus in the shots

http://www.dell.com/us/p/dell-venue-8-pro/pd

It has a sharp tip, capacitive ones can't have a sharp tip.
marauderz
post Oct 25 2013, 03:26 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Oct 25 2013, 02:38 PM)
from your link
Yes, my previous post was before I looked at the page in detail, now the remaining question is does the Micro USB port work as USB OTG? IT *should* but we know OEM's just don't get the requirements of a proper USB port on tablets tongue.gif
marauderz
post Nov 3 2013, 06:52 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(christcomes @ Nov 2 2013, 01:38 PM)
So I called Dell and they said that they will not be selling this tablet online. We need to check with resellers. The resellers however don't even know this tablet exists. We'll at least the ones I called. So who's going to go get a bunch of these into Malaysia for us? 64GB for me please.
Hmmm... interesting, wonder if it's just a matter of them BS'ing of course. We'll have to wait and see then. Resellers.. at the very least I guess All IT and ThunderMatch?
marauderz
post Nov 3 2013, 10:36 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Nov 3 2013, 09:37 PM)
and the Dell shops.
don't really recall seeing much Dell shops, maybe they don't stand out?
marauderz
post Nov 4 2013, 05:41 PM

3,390 posts

Reviews are showing up.
http://www.wpcentral.com/dell-venue-8-pro-unboxing

marauderz
post Nov 5 2013, 10:04 PM

3,390 posts

Crap.. just found out the Dell Active Stylus needs them AAAA batteries again...

It's FOUR As not AAA.

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/product...19&sku=750-AADH

marauderz
post Nov 7 2013, 05:43 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Nov 7 2013, 05:13 PM)
Four As? never seen one before
Basically they're slimmer than AAA batteries, you can see it on my old T580 review, as well as how to 'harvest' some from 9V batteries.

http://www.marauderzstuff.com/PermaLink,gu...a48bc98baa.aspx

marauderz
post Nov 9 2013, 11:39 PM

3,390 posts

REally really really want to get the Venue Pro 8 but if stupid Dell Malaysia doesn't want to bring it in...
marauderz
post Nov 13 2013, 09:16 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(derravile @ Nov 13 2013, 11:24 AM)
lenovo has launch another 8" tablet which is almost identical to the venue pro 8 at the same price

http://techreport.com/news/25631/lenovo-mi...isted-at-amazon
was the tablet 2 ever made available here? These companies feel that Malaysia is too flooded with cheapo tablets and thus no one is interested in x86 ones I guess.
marauderz
post Nov 13 2013, 11:54 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(derravile @ Nov 13 2013, 11:08 PM)
i getting it from US through bulk purchaser, dun feel like they will bring in anytime soon.
That's my point lor tongue.gif We don't get all the good stuff here, just the shovel ware.
marauderz
post Nov 14 2013, 12:17 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 14 2013, 12:10 AM)
I thought tablet 2 was in Malaysia?  hmm.gif
But I understand from Lenovo Malaysia that the sales for these models was really sloooow.
Well.. considering I never saw one in retail shops in Low Yat or Digital Mall, I wonder how they were selling them? Only to business customers? That was at a point when no one would trust an Intel Atom, before Clovertrail proved itself, who the heck would get it without taking a look at it first?

Heck I was pleasantly surprised with the Acer W510, that's why I bought it and love it!

marauderz
post Nov 14 2013, 12:35 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Nov 14 2013, 12:18 AM)
Helix is FUGLY and EXPENSIVE and with 3rd gen Core processor!
Think pad is EXPENSIVE with last gen Atom processor!

so yes consumers and interprise should SHUN the products. Lenovo is the king of making fugly computers.
wait wait... you mean NOW only they bring out the Tablet 2 to Malaysia? Yeahlar.. like that of course tell them to go suck on it lar!
marauderz
post Nov 14 2013, 11:24 AM

3,390 posts

I know the Tablet 2 was announced when Clovertrail was announced. At that time if they released it when they announced it, I might have gotten that instead of the W510, cause I want the digitizer.

Now.. sigh.. ok ok.. less Lenovo complain.. back to topic..

Damn you Dell Malaysia!!! tongue.gif
marauderz
post Dec 2 2013, 03:35 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Morning_Star @ Dec 2 2013, 03:07 PM)
rkwan67, where did u buy the micro usb OTG with power Y cable ?
Pls provide the URL link. Thanks in advance.
I see one here, I wonder if it'll work.
http://dx.com/p/236805?Utm_rid=74646523&Utm_source=affiliate
marauderz
post Dec 2 2013, 05:05 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Morning_Star @ Dec 2 2013, 05:03 PM)
guess Malaysia don't sell OTG Y-cable
Nope, haven't seen anything like that around the shops.
marauderz
post Dec 10 2013, 02:44 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Dec 10 2013, 02:17 AM)
for those who are desperately interested wink.gif

http://www.ipmart.com/usa/browse/DELL_Phon...16702&brand=358

64GB version - RM 1,184.16 + USPS Express 1-2 delivery RM 202.68 (2-4 weeks at RM 79)
32GB version - RM 1,002.33

shipping weight is 0.91KG
I should get mine in a few days, then can comment about how well it works. Should be same with Acer W4 I guess.

0.0280sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:24 AM