Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V32, Official 4.3 is HERE !!!

narutokun83
post Oct 3 2013, 04:54 PM

2,108 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Oct 2 2013, 01:50 PM)
cyanogen mod is very stable. there is no such issue like you said.
you never factory reset when flash rom? or you use titanium backup to restore system apps? or you flash the wrong Gapps? there are different gapps for 4.0, 4.1, 4.2 and 4.3

What is the proper way to do a custom ROM install?
My way of installing cyanogen mod is
1) Download all (CM and Gapps) into my SD card
2) Boot into recovery
3) Select flash from SD
4) Select CM and install (same as Gapps)
5) Then only i select Factory wipe
6) Reboot

narutokun83
post Oct 3 2013, 11:35 PM

2,108 posts

QUOTE(tigerporc @ Oct 3 2013, 05:05 PM)
Generally should be (if going to a different ROM)
2) Boot into recovery & wipe data and cache
QUOTE(mtxx @ Oct 3 2013, 06:37 PM)
The way I do is,

Factory wipe first
Clear cache
Clear dalvic
Then flash rom and gapps

Never use titanium backup to restore system apps.
Hmmm... guess i messed up. Will do a complete wipe and try again i guess. Thanks all the sifu that provided feedback.
narutokun83
post Dec 20 2013, 12:51 AM

2,108 posts

Dear Sifu, I messed up big time. While trying to unroot and return to stock firm for my phone, might have bricked the bugger.
I followed the steps posted in here "http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2187081", Once it rebooted from Odin, the touch screen doesn't register anymore. Now its stuck in a boot loop and i can't even go into recovery. All i can do now is go into download mode.
Is there any solution or did i bricked my device.

0.0188sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:43 PM