Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V32, Official 4.3 is HERE !!!

VinluV
post Oct 29 2013, 02:41 PM

1,947 posts

didnt know 4.3 coming out soon,
just planning to test the Cyanogenmod 10.1.3,

anyone using this rom can give feedback?
Is it as stable as wanamlite? given that wanam is still touchwiz..
VinluV
post Oct 29 2013, 04:02 PM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(jassonking @ Oct 29 2013, 07:41 AM)
im using cyanogemnod 10.1.3 just for one month. so far :

1) Speed, efficiency, tons of new features
2) Stock Android experience without any carrier/manufacturer bloatware

but sometime it have error on camera.

it said 'Cannot connect to camera'

how to fix this error. thanks sifuu  smile.gif
If the camera is having fc. You can try the below steps.

use root explorer to go to /system/app
mount as r/w
rename your camera.apk to a .bak file
import stock camera.apk to /systems/app
reboot

-reminder to rename the camera app as a backup. I sometimes forget as well when fixing problematic system apps.

Anyway just camera problem? Everything else stable ka?

edit:you can get the camera apk for 4.2 from here

This post has been edited by VinluV: Oct 29 2013, 04:08 PM
VinluV
post Oct 29 2013, 04:14 PM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(jassonking @ Oct 29 2013, 08:09 AM)
thanks bro. let me try 1st this app.
let me study 1st abt this method. im really noob, root n flash also need one week to read entire google tongue.gif

yup. just camera problem. everything else is stable.
ok... hmmm may give it a go later tonight.
Basically you're changing the launching app and because its a system app you need abovementioned steps as you cannot install/uninstall system apps.
Uninstalling system apps will cause problems btw.

edit: get the stock camera app if all else fails.

edit2 : link for you to read http://browse.feedreader.com/c/The_Area51_...e_etc/283860704

This post has been edited by VinluV: Oct 29 2013, 04:25 PM
VinluV
post Oct 30 2013, 11:53 AM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Oct 29 2013, 01:18 PM)
go try slimbean 4.2 la.
http://slimroms.net/index.php/downloads/dl...egory/935-i9300

For features:
it have ALL cm features (+ abit from aokp)
it have way more customization. (change transparency of nav bar/status bar/notification shade/quick settings)
unique feature such as dark UI (save battery for amoled screen)
much better camera (true view,smart capture,scenes,power button shutter,focus mode)

my favourite is swipe to access quick settings.
in the pull down notification shade, swipe left/right anywhere to access quick settings, no need tap the small upper right button.
about bloat:
actually cyanogenmod also got some bloat. they include voice dialer,cm file manager,apolo,many useless live wallpaper.
cm rom size (168MB rom + 93MB gapps = 261MB)
slimbean size (one zip file, rom including gapps 94MB only)
didn't know about the slimbeans, but gave cm10.1.3 a go yesterday.
No problems at all form my phone but :

Stupidly the titanium is unable to load my old profile and restore my apps, even after forcing the profile in from adb, it cannot see my old backups from either phone and sd card.
Gave up and reverted to own stripped wanam for now.
VinluV
post Oct 31 2013, 12:09 AM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Oct 30 2013, 05:18 AM)
it is not titanium stupid. android 4.2 and 4.1 puts the internal memory in different directory.
to avoid such confusion when moving between 4.1 and 4.2, save your TB backup in external sd card

in aosp roms,
externa sd is /storage/sdcard1
internal sd is /storage/emulated/0

so set your cwm backup and titanium backup in the correct directory.
hmmm did not know the name change.
Gon give it a try later.
VinluV
post Oct 31 2013, 01:08 AM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Oct 30 2013, 04:43 PM)
In tb, go menu, preferences, backup folder location

It has auto detect also but takes long time to scan everything. Better to find the directory yourself
yeah that did not work earlier.
Will try later when back at home from work.
VinluV
post Nov 5 2013, 07:59 PM

1,947 posts

Hi all,

Just updated to 4.3 from Wanamlite and wondering where is the photosphere?
VinluV
post Nov 5 2013, 08:15 PM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Nov 5 2013, 12:02 PM)
Photosphere is nexus feature.
Samsung phone don't have it.

But you can install the apk separately.
Go search for Google edition camera 4.3
Thanks for the reply. I assumed it came with stock 4.2, was ignorant to not know that it came from the Nexus 4.

Anyway here's an apk link for anyone who wants it. http://d-h.st/ALM
just copy to your phone and install like normal.
you'll get 2 camera apk now.
VinluV
post Nov 6 2013, 03:50 PM

1,947 posts

hmmm anyone experience lock screen being unable to show display on wanam?
mine showing black screen no matter whether i press power or middle button. until i plug it in to show display.

also battery drains fast this time round. 4 hours on normal whatsapp and its down 50%
VinluV
post Nov 6 2013, 04:40 PM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Nov 6 2013, 08:21 AM)
Which kernel are you on? Perseus might have problem with this, and not to mentioned the battery drain as well. Try using Yank kernel, or use NeatRom Lite.
im on wanamlite so using se.infra@R0303-04#1 kernel.
may try another rom later or try adam kernel

This post has been edited by VinluV: Nov 6 2013, 04:40 PM
VinluV
post Nov 14 2013, 02:44 PM

1,947 posts

Good news everyone.

Alpha Kit Kat on CM11 is now working. Only Wifi and Camera may not work.
Mobile data works fine.

You need at least cwm 6.0.4.3

And pa 4.4 gapps

Don't use Philz Recovery

Link to ROM:

https://mega.co.nz/#!9IsgGYhR!WxuDc...9qTzjiPNKsM191k

EXT SD and Camera fix: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/43156693/Ben-ext-sd.zip

edited: gave you a new link. Boo.

On a side note.
Tried:
slim bean 4.3 build 2 - didn't like it damn thing keeps unrecognizing and stating my external SD card is corrupt/blank for God knows why.
CM10.1.3 - Didn't like it as well, screen brightness not bright enough.
AOKP - meh
Paranoid Android - Any feedback? Is it stable or am I going to be troubleshooting how to free more storage rom space like touchwiz?

This post has been edited by VinluV: Nov 14 2013, 02:52 PM
VinluV
post Nov 14 2013, 02:53 PM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(victor2212 @ Nov 14 2013, 06:45 AM)
How much is it to fix a s3 screen now? Has the price decreased?
rm450 i was told. Cracked my screen and pondering on whether to send back to samsung to repair it.
Cracked screen looks so manly.
VinluV
post Nov 16 2013, 07:20 PM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Nov 16 2013, 10:35 AM)
looks like its not working... gus something is wrong... zzzz
The power port may be damaged. It's one of the most abused parts of the phone btw.
Also easily replacable phone part.
VinluV
post Nov 19 2013, 02:15 AM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Nov 16 2013, 02:41 PM)
self replaced or service centre?
Self replacing.
You need the part,
tools to open the case and remove the cost,
and a heat gun to melt the glue and let u remove the faulty part.

At shops I think it can be done for under rm100.
VinluV
post Nov 19 2013, 02:18 AM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Nov 18 2013, 03:54 PM)
Poor RAM management (very difficult to multitask)

+1 to this. I felt it the moment I used touch wiz 4.3.
Almost every app gets killed in the background
Remove all boatyard apps and it'll help.
Especially stuff like clocks.
Greenify also helps once in a while.
VinluV
post Nov 19 2013, 09:10 AM

1,947 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Nov 18 2013, 11:15 PM)
I already did. Deleted all nonsense apps with titanium backup. And Greenify many user apps.
But it's still the same.
Very frequently, I notice my apps like browser, whatsapp, settings, loads as if it's loading for the first time. Many loading delays. Ram usage doesn't seem to be high, but background apps gets killed anyway.
I feel u bro. I was on wanamlite before.
The ROM size is like 1gb.
I removed useless clocks. Widgets. Wallpapers. Even Samsung keyboard.

What to do? That's the problem with touchwiz...

0.0243sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:12 AM