Mechanical Keyboard Thread W16, Keyboard race

hmwgbworld
post Oct 5 2013, 09:27 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Curiga @ Oct 5 2013, 09:05 PM)
i like the blue switch, bcause the 'click' sound. but doesn't it annoy? after blue which switch produce quieter sound? brown?
brown isn't quiet switch, but it just like a version of switch that don;t have the clicky sounds from mx blue.
hmwgbworld
post Oct 14 2013, 10:06 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Oct 14 2013, 09:17 PM)
oh dear...reinstalling games and drivers using 1Mbps streamyx after a clean Windows 8 installation is a big pain in the rear T.T
hmwgbworld
post Oct 22 2013, 12:57 AM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Oct 22 2013, 12:42 AM)
how much is exceed???
If u can settle down without led backlit, CM quickfire Rapid might be the choice for standard layout of TKL size.
Else pretty much the brands suggested by sifu here cool2.gif .
hmwgbworld
post Oct 22 2013, 03:53 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Oct 22 2013, 02:05 PM)
btw, can i know, does CMStorm TK keycaps can be modified? if can, i rather choose it, since the price is only rm320 and the quality build is good. No one compain it. Need you commend  brows.gif
Well so far from my experience about TK is quite good for the build quality. Its the first mech kb i own also after surveying for awhile.
Its heavier than i expected when i get a hold on it. And i also tried to stretch it like youtube video shown and it really no flex.
Imo, picking a kb is very depending on which what type of layout u get used to and how does the size matter on your usage.
Personally i need a kb that features as similar layout as my previous one since i need numpad and arrow keys with compact size coz table is small.

This post has been edited by hmwgbworld: Oct 22 2013, 03:55 PM
hmwgbworld
post Oct 22 2013, 04:32 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Oct 22 2013, 04:05 PM)
Oh it means, cmstorm tk is a good choice?
It depends mainly on your preference sweat.gif , as long as u can get used to its layout.
Though the only downside is some keycaps can't be replaced easily due to non-standard layout.
If u only need the arrow keys or TKL, u can turn off num lock and it works that way.

Here's the cons I think that may bother some users but i'm ok with since i ady get used to this layout after 2h of usage:
1. Brightness on F12 (Win Lock) and FN keys can't be adjusted
2. When LED turns on, FN and F12 keys won't light up unless u activate it.
3. When num lock is on, LEDs on num keys "2 0 00 and ." are off.
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

And one last thing is the arrow keys will light up and can't turn off when its in cursor mode and num4 = del key and num6 = page down etc.

This post has been edited by hmwgbworld: Oct 22 2013, 04:40 PM
hmwgbworld
post Oct 22 2013, 05:30 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Oct 22 2013, 04:59 PM)
So, yours is brown switch? The brown switch is in the middle of red and red ryte?

So, the key press is lightest than blue switch?
Yup, mine is brown switch.
From what I know is red is lighter than brown.
Not sure about blue/brown is lighter than each other. Brown is similar feel as Blue, but no clicky sounds.

Local shops in Kuching don't have much choice for mx switches, and I don't have chance to test them out since they dun have demo set for ppl to test before buying, kinda bad imo. So i can only choose mx switch that probably suit me based on reviews, videos to make up my mind.
hmwgbworld
post Oct 22 2013, 05:51 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 22 2013, 05:35 PM)
Brown and blue actually differentiate quite a lot apart from the clickiness.

Their tactility is a huge different, not to mention the clicky part of blue also affected the actuation point of blue to be different from brown.
Hmm looks like I have mistaken on the tactility between them, thx for clarifying me notworthy.gif .
The clicky somehow like notifying a key entered , while brown is quieter when touch typing while the bump is good for me to know i have typed something.

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Oct 22 2013, 05:36 PM)
Like a true internet warrior. I think that blues are just slightly stiffer than browns (not enough to be noticed) but much noisier. I may have bottomed out a lot more than I should when I type, so there's that...

The reds-black dynamics is a different thing altogether because it's non-tactile.

On that note, I bid you all good day as I will be heading home to try out 6.79 for real biggrin.gif
Haha, maybe ba since not much friends around me are interested into pc stuff.
6.79 hmm.gif , d2 latest change logs?
hmwgbworld
post Oct 23 2013, 09:18 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Oct 23 2013, 09:10 PM)
we won't stop you from buying Filco ComingSoon™
What's thee coming soon of filco keyboard o.o?

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Oct 23 2013, 09:12 PM)
actually, if someone were to go to SG, filco are available at some retail pc shops there. can go straight buy.
I;m having a trip to SG next year Jan probably, which pc shops got o.o?
hmwgbworld
post Oct 23 2013, 10:12 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Oct 23 2013, 09:21 PM)
go to Sim Lim Square, look for pc shops on the 3rd floor and up. there is a few, last time at least 3 shops got ducky and filco. one got hhkb/realforce also. however, price is of course quite higher than here or online.
Okay noted, hopefully I have time to pay a visit there nod.gif . Since my sis said wanna stay at universal studio for one whole day, the other 2 days dunno do wut yet.
hmwgbworld
post Oct 23 2013, 10:18 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 23 2013, 09:52 PM)
The stock for local TKL is ComingSoon™ one.

Means you gonna wait long long for it to actually available.
Hmm after stalking this thread for awhile, seems filco is very nice to get with.
Is the quality from it really makes big compact compared with other brands even if they are the same mx switches?
Edit: Hmm I mean the typing feel.
*Surf around net, it cost $139 on Amazon shocking.gif .

This post has been edited by hmwgbworld: Oct 23 2013, 10:19 PM
hmwgbworld
post Oct 23 2013, 10:32 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 23 2013, 10:24 PM)
Syukurlah Marehsia's ComingSoon™ Filco murah berbanding luar negara.

BTW, the built of a quality indeed can influence the typing feel of the switches.
Yea, saw the gs thread selling price is at least rm100 cheaper than other country.
Now hopefully during the time in SG have a chance to test them tongue.gif .
hmwgbworld
post Oct 24 2013, 06:18 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 24 2013, 06:09 PM)
Reporting in with my new Corsair Vengeance K95 Red Switch.
Too bad it is not standard layout but the built quality is super awesome. biggrin.gif

The aluminum body is rigid and the key press is nice to feel, red switch is real good, but still prefer the noisy clicky blue switch. Just my boyfriend complained it is too noisy when night. sweat.gif

Seriously, if you don't mind about the non-standard layout, K95 is good choice, aluminum body is awesome brows.gif
Buy another one with mx blue switch and only use it when your bf not around whistling.gif .
K95 is too big for me shakehead.gif .
hmwgbworld
post Oct 25 2013, 07:41 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Powet @ Oct 25 2013, 07:36 PM)
thanks =/ btw do you know where from lowyat can let me try out those cherry mx switches?
C-zone (Compuzone) if I'm not mistaken, have some ducky/rosewill keyboards for testing?
hmwgbworld
post Oct 27 2013, 06:19 PM

3,375 posts

If modding mx brown switch to mx clear, do i need to change the springs to get the heavier feeling from mx clear?
hmwgbworld
post Oct 27 2013, 06:42 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Oct 27 2013, 06:22 PM)
^
Just swap the spring of the browns to clears. I think you'll get a better typing experience.
So means i just keep the existing springs on my current kb and only change the mx switches right?

QUOTE(asunakirito @ Oct 27 2013, 06:31 PM)
Hi 016,
Then why you sell your cherry mx blue ikbc f-104 lol? Since its so good hehehe  laugh.gif
Today i tried Ducky Zero and Ducky Shine 3 Keyboard at digital mall, didn't like the feeling of the keys.
Even they are rated as Cherry Mx Brown, I couldn't feel the tactile of it compared to CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry Brown. It's as smooth as a RED cherry.
Perhaps u need to test it carefully since mx brown isn't heavy. Press slowly before bottoming the keys u will definitely feel a small "stuck" or bump there.
While red one is no such feel i suppose.
hmwgbworld
post Oct 27 2013, 07:59 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Oct 27 2013, 07:18 PM)
MX brown stock is 45g spring (bottom is 60g)
MX Clear stock is 80g spring

So you swap to mx clear by default the spring also very heavy already.
I see, thx for clarifying notworthy.gif . Plan to get Poker II and mode it to mx clear, and use small kb for my RT when back to hometown laugh.gif .

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Oct 27 2013, 07:35 PM)
Is not kinda light. I think it's actually perfect for me because I bottom out a lot. Only thing I really wanna change about MKBs is  that the spacebar for most browns still feel a bit wonky and "hollow" sounding. I wanna go for clears because I think it's slightly stiffer, but mostly "feels and sounds" like browns to me.
Yea, now u mention it and i thought only my TK has such brittle sounds on spacebar.
It doesnt gives solid sounds like other keys on same board.
hmwgbworld
post Oct 28 2013, 06:16 PM

3,375 posts

Looks like the cost of changing mx switches are quite expensive.
Surf taobao and found that mx clear cost around rm5 each sweat.gif .

Add on: mx blue is slightly heavier than brown or the difference can't be felt? as i read on 1st page the actuation force of mx blue is 5g more than mx brown hmm.gif . might consider mx blue to save cost and hope i can bear with the clicky sounds or eventually loves it unsure.gif .

This post has been edited by hmwgbworld: Oct 28 2013, 06:24 PM
hmwgbworld
post Oct 28 2013, 09:29 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Oct 28 2013, 06:33 PM)
MX Clear switches.
This one is so much cheaper than taobao link i found to http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a230r...&id=21862859405
Hmm I have tried checkout with paypal and the website cant calculate price for shipping and return to page that indicate errors.

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 28 2013, 07:25 PM)
so far i dont feel any difference yet

just switched from browns to blues today.. but the clicky sounds are awesome biggrin.gif
You replaced all the switches or partially?

0.0489sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:17 PM