Mechanical Keyboard Thread W16, Keyboard race

dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 10:12 AM

Mechanical Kuda Ping Keyboard
1,105 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Oct 22 2013, 09:54 AM)
But, who sells it here??? I dont have experience in buying ship thing  rclxub.gif
Banggood is a good place to start (hah!):
http://www.banggood.com/buy/keycool.html

Other than that, I suggest that you brush up on your Chinese and go taobao.

Local sellers are Robotica toys and heavy-arms.com (they do shipping if I recall) but no Keycool unfortunately.

I didn't follow your earlier posts so IDK what switches you'd want.
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 11:29 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(Nojo @ Oct 22 2013, 11:18 AM)
Bid on what? Linkies so the poor people can be properly jealous.
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 11:40 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(Nojo @ Oct 22 2013, 11:34 AM)
Meh. Not my tastes. Jealousy properly subdued.
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 12:07 PM

1,105 posts

Wondering if double-shot PBTs like this can be seen through on a Ducky Shine Zero LEDs... Been wanting to try out double-shot PBTs but feeling reluctant to pull the trigger.

dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 01:03 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 22 2013, 12:21 PM)
seen through ?

I doubt it, because it's double shot.
exception being the deck legend doubleshot that can show led illumination

For Cherry Corp led, is not double shot. the printed character uses the regular print that normal cheap keyboards use
The best you can expect is maybe led light showing through the gaps around the keycaps. And this is why the camps is separated for those who prefer led lighted keyboards, vs those who prefer doubleshot/dye sublimated
http://www.ducky-nordic.com/sept/kvnc1.jpg
*still drafting...
Also there 2 category of led backlight keyboard. The cheaper ones have leds spaced out around the keyboard. The other type has a led for each and every key. Obviously the later is preferable because it has better lighting uniformity all across the keyboard. Here is a picture as an example:

Some led backlight keyboard may also have a controller to set the illumination brightness, or change the lighting to be permanent or fade in/fade out effect. I think the Razer is able to do that, but they are using spaced out led lighting i believe.

Ducky also has some special lighting modes
http://www.duckychannel.com.tw/en/DK9008_shine2.html
ps: the ducky shine zero uses "Laser printed dual layer ABS Keycaps" by default.
And this is the definitive reason explaining the process behind keycaps that work ideally for led backlight keyboards, versus those that aren't
Yeah, the ori ones pretty sucky in terms of feels. Just black keys. Here's mine in the current blue LED under white PBTs (max illumination in dark room):

QUOTE(justnits @ Oct 22 2013, 12:31 PM)
the white keycaps are the ones exactly on your post.
this is on my ducky shine 2 with max white led brightness
[attachmentid=3686361]
Do you mind taking a pic under darkness/semi-darkness? I mostly play with low-light environment and I use the backlight a lot.

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 22 2013, 12:46 PM)
Ayam got a set left unused. Later after I went home ayam deliver you the drill of it on backlit.

Btw, black one will look better under backlit. White one the light will shine through not only the legend but also the white part, not too good looking IMO.
IDK about that. Black will make the thing look a bit dark-ish which I didn't really like. Take a look at my top pic to see my current arrangement.
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 01:24 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 22 2013, 01:16 PM)
thx for the info :]

guess can have best of both world if pick carefully  nod.gif
That's exactly what I'm gunning for biggrin.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 01:53 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(motel266 @ Oct 22 2013, 01:42 PM)
guys armaggeddon black hornet is it worth buy?
planning to get one but no budget liao.
saw someone offer rm2xx for this one

http://armaggeddon.net/gaming-keyboards/black-hornet-black/
I think I know which thread you talking about... RM240 right? Good news is that they use standard layouts. Bad news is the relatively poorer build quality compared with other brands.

But still, it's a good start since most TKL backlit MKBs cost upwards of RM300+
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 02:01 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Oct 22 2013, 01:51 PM)
i prefer blue switch for gaming. And i love how keycool design with the LED. So nice  drool.gif
Most people won't go for blues when gaming, but to each his own... I personally opted for browns. Still soft and a bit clicky. Blues just too distracting.

QUOTE(motel266 @ Oct 22 2013, 01:54 PM)
that's right bro.
just dig found one review abt this kb :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIwxai1hnd8
The unit is close to a year old by now IIRC. You can get a new one from taobao at pretty much the same price or banggood. Without LEDs of course.

In the end it totally depends on whether you want the LEDs and the macro keys or not, and whether you can live with a slight compromise on build quality.
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 03:22 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(ahmad_muslim91 @ Oct 22 2013, 02:22 PM)
how to buy Keycool 87 LED from tabao???
i was thinking the theme of black layout with white keycaps..
if i change the keycaps the led still function??
I use this guy's help:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...225&hl=keyboard

Pretty decent prices, and item arrived one week after order and payment.

And if you wanna see how white keycaps look on top of LEDs, check out my pictures a few pages earlier. Mine's blue LEDs though.

QUOTE(justnits @ Oct 22 2013, 02:23 PM)
here u go, low light condition
[attachmentid=3686517]
Looks okay...

I might bite since the the blues actually will look purple under low-light and just blue-ish under daylight (far right on the 87-key section): user posted image

This post has been edited by dadudeneverabides: Oct 22 2013, 03:23 PM
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 03:39 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(calkh @ Oct 22 2013, 03:30 PM)
The guys with broken TK is me.....seems this OEM is not super reliable also - especially when it comes to backlight quality. Their QC with Corsair is better. I remembered reading about widespread G710 backlight failures also.

Having said all that - CM is a very experienced mech KB builder (with a guys who is very active on GeekHacks), so I thought maybe that's safe. Seems like they still have QC escapees (I actually worked in production before - something completely different, but QC really depends on culture and discipline. If a company has it - they'll be good, which is why I guess Costar is revered as an OEM. If you don't have it - you end up being iOne).

You're free to spend your RM300 - it's yours anyway. I bought the QF TK after spending 3+ weeks following threads here and Geekhacks building up my knowledge (getting slightly poisoned along the way). The way I see it - I like gaming in the dark, so backlight is necessary (also cool to show off to ppl). You must also accept that the mod row (spacebar etc), cannot be replaced. So if the painting there ever fades - you'll have to buy a new keyboard (or harvest the keycaps from a 2nd hand keyboard).

And...I'm also stuck with having to RMA a spoilt keyboard and now I'll likely spend RM300+ again to buy yet another keyboard unsure.gif

worse is - I really have no time to go shopping around.....so now I'm just lurking around and hoping some forumers here have a MX Brown TKL that they're willing to let go..... brows.gif
Sad case man... I just got my TKL too recently to release it back into the wild.
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 05:18 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Oct 22 2013, 05:10 PM)
now taobao got South East Asia site?

got offer shipping directly?
Bloody site is still in Chinese. I was wishing for an English site but sad.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 05:36 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Oct 22 2013, 05:30 PM)
Yup, mine is brown switch.
From what I know is red is lighter than brown.
Not sure about blue/brown is lighter than each other. Brown is similar feel as Blue, but no clicky sounds.

Local shops in Kuching don't have much choice for mx switches, and I don't have chance to test them out since they dun have demo set for ppl to test before buying, kinda bad imo. So i can only choose mx switch that probably suit me based on reviews, videos to make up my mind.
Like a true internet warrior. I think that blues are just slightly stiffer than browns (not enough to be noticed) but much noisier. I may have bottomed out a lot more than I should when I type, so there's that...

The reds-black dynamics is a different thing altogether because it's non-tactile.

On that note, I bid you all good day as I will be heading home to try out 6.79 for real biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dadudeneverabides: Oct 22 2013, 05:38 PM
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 23 2013, 11:35 AM

1,105 posts

Damnit! Anybody coming for the meetup willing to sell a set of IKBC doubleshot reds?

Diabolique just sold his set... sad.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 23 2013, 12:23 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Oct 23 2013, 11:39 AM)
I got the white on black.
tell me if want.
Bring la. I see if can match or not. I'm just trying to find a good set of double-shots now brows.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 23 2013, 01:02 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 23 2013, 01:01 PM)
Mine is orange...
For sale?
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 23 2013, 01:06 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 23 2013, 01:04 PM)
May be, see the price first.

May be I bring it to this Saturday gathering (if I manage to attend) and let you judge first.
That be good. Wanna see it under blue LED. I suspected the reds will look purple on top of blue LEDs, which was why I wanted to buy sad.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 24 2013, 10:13 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Oct 24 2013, 10:08 AM)
You want a TKL.
You want it LED
You Want it RM300?
Isn't this discussed few pages ago?
Buy from taobao, it is much more convenient than you driving around to find the shop and locate the keyboard.
Damn right. The agent I listed is pretty trustworthy, so no worries there. No reading cinabeng scratches, we can look for you. Delivery takes approx. one week onli.

In taobao we trust.

Btw, even my friend who's selling keyboards recommend that I get keycaps from taobao.

As a side note, please bring all your spare/forsale items to meetup so that I can be properly broke come month end.
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 24 2013, 11:38 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Oct 24 2013, 10:37 AM)
I have few items in my signature for sell, please let me know upfront so that I can decide to bring along if you are serious buyer.
I only want keycaps. Bring all keycaps. ALL OF THEM. I wanna choose...

QUOTE(calkh @ Oct 24 2013, 10:44 AM)
Got it bro - I saw your sig and it's been very tempting......the Filco seller hasn't responded to me yet. If I don't hear anything - I'll let you know which one of your tasty browns I want (tomorrow is the decision time).
Buy from forumers. Let's keep our unused gears in circulation instead of in the drawer somewhere.

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 24 2013, 10:57 AM)
IINM, heavyarm do sell 37keys set, but the price... rolleyes.gif

I suggest you to get a new blue switch board instead of mod your current board. It will be easier, safer and may even be cheaper. Getting 104 new blue switches alone can easily cost over RM150 already. Ppl only mod the switches if the mod is worth it (such as on custom boards or gaming boards which don't have a particular switch type). If you only want to do it on a few key then it do make a little more sense.

P/S: Ahem, take a look at 016xxxxxxx's siggy.
Heavy arms selling 37-keys PBT keycaps for RM65 a set. That's a metric tonne more expensive than taobao. And if the boss is there he'll show you his "friendly" disposition and let his slaves workers entertain you.
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 24 2013, 11:56 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Oct 24 2013, 11:45 AM)
Just let me know. I will only bring along if there are interested party as the box is huge and long for a fullsize keyboard. Thanks!
Sorry for making this thread with sales related comment, but I do not have keycaps to sell separately, the ducky PBT keycaps will be selling as bundled set with the 9008G2Pro keyboard.
It's more about the gathering thing. If just wanna buy I would PM already tongue.gif

QUOTE(kayFX @ Oct 24 2013, 11:47 AM)
The rm 65 set is pbt? I ask they say its abs wor.. I buy the rm 45 one.. laugh.gif
Hmmm.... you're making me doubt my sanity. RM 45 is still kinda steep when you can get it at about RM20 in taobao. I'd rather save that money than go for instant gratification #accountant

On the other hand, will any non-banana help confirm if this TKL is using genuine Cherry MX black switches?

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=35548266683
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 24 2013, 12:52 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Oct 24 2013, 12:45 PM)
It never mention cherry mx.
Kinda dodgy..
Then it must be imitation switches to be so cheap. I might consider it as my FPS keyboard.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0637sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:39 PM