125 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Bottom

Mechanical Keyboard Thread W16, Keyboard race

skye
post Oct 19 2013, 06:16 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 19 2013, 05:45 PM)
topre heaven imported need around RM8xx
I thought Cyntrix will bring in for about rm600? shocking.gif
noobandroid
post Oct 19 2013, 06:17 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(skye @ Oct 19 2013, 06:16 PM)
I thought Cyntrix will bring in for about rm600?  shocking.gif
i think that plan may take a loooong time, since they now have a lot of mech keyboard lined up to come in already

fyi and i might need to edit the post, this topre heaven RM8xx is for personal purchase, and not from cyntrix

This post has been edited by noobandroid: Oct 19 2013, 06:21 PM
skye
post Oct 19 2013, 06:26 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 19 2013, 06:17 PM)
i think that plan may take a loooong time, since they now have a lot of mech keyboard lined up to come in already

fyi and i might need to edit the post, this topre heaven RM8xx is for personal purchase, and not from cyntrix
Ya I know is personal purchase~Just I thought Cyntrix annouce so long liao maybe sudah come in tongue.gif
noobandroid
post Oct 19 2013, 06:29 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(skye @ Oct 19 2013, 06:26 PM)
Ya I know is personal purchase~Just I thought Cyntrix annouce so long liao maybe sudah come in  tongue.gif
they announced "the plan" which in terms = "maybe" IMO
diaBoliQu3
post Oct 19 2013, 07:02 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Oct 19 2013, 02:21 PM)
the white keycaps i bought from kaysa. the keyboard standard keycaps is the black on black one.
If kb only rm850, including keycaps will be over rm1k? And that keycaps how much is it? Oh my...
noobandroid
post Oct 19 2013, 07:04 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Oct 19 2013, 07:02 PM)
If kb only rm850, including keycaps will be over rm1k? And that keycaps how much is it? Oh my...
well Topre keycaps are always expensive, rarity Jacks the price
ainuddin
post Oct 19 2013, 07:47 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Oct 19 2013, 07:02 PM)
from EK website, 4.50 + 78 + 55 = US$137.5

of course from kaysa much cheaper since used but with great condition.
GodJesterZ
post Oct 19 2013, 08:27 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 19 2013, 05:43 PM)
ducky shine 3 TKL is 439 shipped, but no holding of stock, back to back order needed
really 439 ?? I saw at cyntrix fb the price of full size shine 3 and tkl same price.
noobandroid
post Oct 19 2013, 09:13 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(GodJesterZ @ Oct 19 2013, 08:27 PM)
really 439 ?? I saw at cyntrix fb the price of full size shine 3 and tkl same price.
GodJesterZ
post Oct 19 2013, 09:38 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 19 2013, 09:13 PM)
if backorder take how long ?
noobandroid
post Oct 19 2013, 10:04 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(GodJesterZ @ Oct 19 2013, 09:38 PM)
if backorder take how long ?
i havent tried the backorder, but i think is 1-2 weeks
ainuddin
post Oct 19 2013, 10:06 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 19 2013, 10:04 PM)
i havent tried the backorder, but i think is 1-2 weeks
only those 3 standard mx switches?
noobandroid
post Oct 19 2013, 10:36 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Oct 19 2013, 10:06 PM)
only those 3 standard mx switches?
yep
lowyatguy
post Oct 19 2013, 11:42 PM

=Certified Counter-Striker=
3,144 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Oct 19 2013, 07:47 PM)
from EK website, 4.50 + 78 + 55 = US$137.5

of course from kaysa much cheaper since used but with great condition.
Topre bro, the keycaps are ABS?
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Oct 20 2013, 12:20 AM

4,463 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Oct 19 2013, 01:52 AM)
blink.gif  i see... cheap plastic... ? hmm don't feel cheap lolz ah well ur the expert..
hi unseen,

well..... this is what i tried to explain when i created the first malaysian mechanical keyboard club.

It's exactly this awareness i wanted to raise. I was like you once, i had a Logitech G15 V1, and i thought that was the best there was, but actually it was a overpriced pos sweat.gif

Just because a keyboard looks nice and has lights, does not make it a good keyboard, because there are many things people who did not know the difference, did not take into account such as......

1. the keycap quality. the print type, as well as the plastic used.
- the print type effects how easy the printed characters will fade off. also is the contrast of the characters good enough to see clearly ?
- the plastic used. the cheap ones tend to get shiny over time, which is most apparent especially on the spacebar.

2. the actuation force when typing on the keys.
- on a membrane keyboard, this can feel very mushy and unsatisfying, but even worse, when your gaming or even generally typing, when you thought you had clearly pressed the key, but it didn't output the character you typed. This is because it's not as precise/reliable as a mechanical switch.
- for mechanical keyboards there are many switches with actuation forces ranging from black (hard,), brown (medium), blue (slightly lighter than brown), red (lightest)
- there is also linear/non-linear; clicky/non-clicky. For me personally i cannot stand clicky typing, so i stick to non-clicky. If you want the quitest, there is the topre keyboards that use a hybrid mechanical switch.

3. NKRO
- this is another wanted feature. Not all mech keyboards have it, as some have 6kro which for most purposes is fine. NKRO is for people don't want to be limited, which could be good especially for O2jam professional gammers and that sort.

4. durability
- not all mech keyboards are like this, depending on the print type you use for the keycaps anyway. Or the type of plastics use that may cause the shine or discoloration effect. But if you get the better mech keyboards, they can last for quite a while, and is possible to replace the switches years later when they feel worned out. Regular keyboards are pretty much disposable, you just use them until their trashed.

5. extras
- these are the blings like lighting etc..... there are indeed mechanical keyboards with led lighting, but in getting it, you don't get dye sublimated or double shot printed keycaps. So it depends what your tastes are. I personally don't mind the lack of lighting, but not everyone thinks that.

Knowing some of the story, you need to then know what your budget is :/ mech keyboards even the cheapest go into the Rm4xx-5xx range. The higher end is like Rm7xx-RM9xx.

So if you hadn't upgraded your cpu, graphics card, motherboard etc first, then maybe you should wait before spending too much on a keyboard. It's good but to me personally i tend to focus on the other components first :} But having used a Mech keyboard for a few years now, i don't think i can use a regular one anymore rolleyes.gif Besides mech keyboards last for ages, so it's probably a good investment in the long run.

In summary, my advise, maybe go to the mk club meeting this month and try out the keyboards and you decide for yourself whether they are worth the price tags.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2980005

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Oct 20 2013, 12:26 AM
ainuddin
post Oct 20 2013, 12:25 AM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Oct 19 2013, 11:42 PM)
60%bro, they are PBT except the spacebar, ABS.

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 20 2013, 12:20 AM)
hi unseen,

well..... this is what i tried to explain when i created the first malaysian mechanical keyboard club.

It's exactly this awareness i wanted to raise.

Just because a keyboard looks nice and has lights, does not make it a good keyboard, because there are many things people who did not know the difference, did not take into account.

1. the keycap quality. the print type, as well as the plastic used.
- the print type effects how easy the printed characters will fade off. also is the contrast of the characters good enough to see clearly ?
- the plastic used. the cheap ones tend to get shiny over time, which is most apparent especially on the spacebar.

2. the actuation force when typing on the keys.
- on a membrane keyboard, this can feel very mushy and unsatisfying, but even worse, when your gaming or even generally typing, when you thought you had clearly pressed the key, but it didn't output the character you typed. This is because it's not as precise/reliable as a mechanical switch.
- for mechanical keyboards there are many switches with actuation forces ranging from black (hard,), brown (medium), blue (slightly lighter than brown), red (lightest)
- there is also linear/non-linear; clicky/non-clicky. For me personally i cannot stand clicky typing, so i stick to non-clicky. If you want the quitest, there is the topre keyboards that use a hybrid mechanical switch.

3. NKRO
- this is another wanted feature. Not all mech keyboards have it, as some have 6kro which for most purposes is fine. NKRO is for people don't want to be limited, which could be good especially for O2jam professional gammers and that sort.

4. durability
- not all mech keyboards are like this, depending on the print type you use for the keycaps anyway. Or the type of plastics use that may cause the shine or discoloration effect. But if you get the better mech keyboards, they can last for quite a while, and is possible to replace the switches years later when they feel worned out. Regular keyboards are pretty much disposable, you just use them until their trashed.

5. extras
- these are the blings like lighting etc..... there are indeed mechanical keyboards with led lighting, but in getting it, you don't get dye sublimated or double shot printed keycaps. So it depends what your tastes are. I personally don't mind the lack of lighting, but not everyone thinks that.
Knowing some of the story, you need to then know what your budget is :/ mech keyboards even the cheapest go into the Rm4xx-5xx range. The higher end is like Rm7xx-RM9xx.

So if you hadn't upgraded your cpu, graphics card, motherboard etc first, then maybe you should wait before spending too much on a keyboard. It's good but to me personally i tend to focus on the other components first :} But having used a Mech keyboard for a few years now, i don't think i can use a regular one anymore  rolleyes.gif  Besides mech keyboards last for ages, so it's probably a good investment in the long run.
boss, long time no see? smile.gif

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Oct 20 2013, 12:27 AM

4,463 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Oct 20 2013, 12:25 AM)
boss, long time no see?  smile.gif

Been busy playing game, watch anime hehe nod.gif

Not to mention broke (spent at least Rm 1XXX on keyboard so far lulz...) so not trying to get poisoned .... (although i was the first to poison malaysia with it laugh.gif )

cool.gif

I use the pbt spacebar from my Ducky Dk-9008 Tiger limited edition. I really like the feel and the shape.

The other spacebar from my custom made order was too steep and didn't feel comfortable. There is a totally big difference between the 2 doh.gif

PS: no shine even after a few years of usage nod.gif so pbt lives up to it's reputation.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Oct 20 2013, 12:35 AM
SUSHuman10
post Oct 20 2013, 01:24 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Oct 19 2013, 11:42 PM)
Heaven is abs, other all are pbt.

Also, as explained above, the spacebar is still abs.

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 20 2013, 01:28 AM
SUSHuman10
post Oct 20 2013, 01:27 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 20 2013, 12:27 AM)

Been busy playing game, watch anime hehe  nod.gif

Not to mention broke (spent at least Rm 1XXX on keyboard so far lulz...) so not trying to get poisoned .... (although i was the first to poison malaysia with it  laugh.gif )

cool.gif
I use the pbt spacebar from my Ducky Dk-9008 Tiger limited edition. I really like the feel and the shape.

The other spacebar from my custom made order was too steep and didn't feel comfortable. There is a totally big difference between the 2 doh.gif

PS: no shine even after a few years of usage  nod.gif  so pbt lives up to it's reputation.
Nowadays, banyak kaki custom keyboard here, and it start minimumly RM1k, lol...

Btw, long time no see.

Custom order's spacebar? Too sharp? Must be signature plastic.
BlizzardCraft
post Oct 20 2013, 01:28 AM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

why spacebar they choose to be ABS doh.gif

125 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:27 AM