96 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

lily64my
post Feb 13 2014, 12:34 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(femgoo2005 @ Feb 13 2014, 12:11 PM)
Oh ini macam. It takes an experienced one to move them if not they are sensitive creature in my opinion lah hehe. No experience like me sure will cause them k.o  blink.gif . Anyway still new at this, will buy tiny bit of them from sifu Arrow, now still cycling my tank hope thing goes well. Nice knowing you and everyone here  biggrin.gif
You may add bacteria in the water...its sold in a sachet from LFS.
femgoo2005
post Feb 13 2014, 12:55 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Feb 13 2014, 12:34 PM)
You may add bacteria in the water...its sold in a sachet from LFS.
tenkiu for suggesting but I oredi added water from my other tank when started . Will c how it goes first.
byakuya8283
post Feb 13 2014, 04:30 PM

sniper on the roof
post Feb 17 2014, 04:22 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Feb 12 2014, 02:01 PM)
Hi Sifu & Shrimp keeping members,

Here is an update of my blue shrimps tank smile.gif
Wow... they seem to be thriving.
twe
post Feb 17 2014, 05:00 PM

I am looking Opae Ula (Hawaii Red Shrimp). Anyone know where can I get them at Malaysia especially at Selayang/Kepong/Damasara/Kuala Lumpur? Your help is appreciated.
TSarrow
post Feb 17 2014, 06:13 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(twe @ Feb 17 2014, 05:00 PM)
I am looking Opae Ula (Hawaii Red Shrimp). Anyone know where can I get them at Malaysia especially at Selayang/Kepong/Damasara/Kuala Lumpur? Your help is appreciated.
No lfs selling them in kl as far as I know. Most don't know what they are . You best bet is in Singapore and online.
their really beautiful though
twe
post Feb 18 2014, 02:42 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Feb 17 2014, 06:13 PM)
No lfs selling them in kl as far as I know.  Most don't know what  they are . You best bet is in Singapore and online.
their really beautiful though
Thank you for the reply. I have been looking for them for some time now. When I was working at Honolulu, Hawaii few years back, one of my Hawaiian's colleague make an aquarium/tank for me using a plastic cookie jar containing about 10 Hawaii Red Shrimps. My kids love to look at them cause they are small, cute and they swim around doing they own thing. Maintenance was very low too. I changed a bit of the water once a month and feed them a quarter piece of cooked rice once a week. I placed it beside a window so that it could get few hours of morning sun so that some algae could grow. Before we move back to Malaysia, I gave the whole tank to my daughter's teacher as a gift to her. I didn't bring it back to Malaysia cause I scared I will have issue with custom. That is why I am looking for them.
Yozaa
post Feb 18 2014, 03:41 PM

hey guys, interested in a cheap second hand aquarium for shrimps? please pm me, i'll send u the link to my garage sales :-D

This post has been edited by Yozaa: Feb 18 2014, 03:41 PM
femgoo2005
post Feb 18 2014, 04:10 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(twe @ Feb 18 2014, 02:42 PM)
Thank you for the reply. I have been looking for them for some time now. When I was working at Honolulu, Hawaii few years back, one of my Hawaiian's colleague make an aquarium/tank for me using a plastic cookie jar containing about 10 Hawaii Red Shrimps. My kids love to look at them cause they are small, cute and they swim around doing they own thing. Maintenance was very low too. I changed a bit of the water once a month and feed them a quarter piece of cooked rice once a week. I placed it beside a window so that it could get few hours of morning sun so that some algae could grow. Before we move back to Malaysia, I gave the whole tank to my daughter's teacher as a gift to her. I didn't bring it back to Malaysia cause I scared I will have issue with custom. That is why I am looking for them.
I've read that it said to be the smallest shrimp in the world. I think they are salt water shrimp not fresh water , very hardy n easy maintenance. The only site I know selling is petshrimp.com.

TSarrow
post Feb 18 2014, 08:16 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(twe @ Feb 18 2014, 02:42 PM)
i have 8 of them, got them from a friends who smuggle them from Japan in a small bottle.
i transferred them a big 2 gallon tank, one berried, but now they all hide inside the stone cave, with algae around tank, they hardly come out
to feed on the food i give them.

Their previous small home.
TSarrow
post Feb 18 2014, 08:19 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(femgoo2005 @ Feb 18 2014, 04:10 PM)
I've read that it said to be the smallest shrimp in the world. I think they are salt water shrimp not fresh water , very hardy n easy maintenance. The only site I know selling is petshrimp.com.
Not full salt water but brackish water with salinity around 1.016.(like half marine strength)
femgoo2005
post Feb 18 2014, 08:57 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Feb 18 2014, 08:19 PM)
Not full salt water but brackish water with salinity around 1.016.(like half marine strength)
ic sifu.
its really awsome to hv the world tiniest shrimp

This post has been edited by femgoo2005: Feb 18 2014, 09:02 PM
femgoo2005
post Feb 18 2014, 08:59 PM

91 posts

double posted

This post has been edited by femgoo2005: Feb 18 2014, 09:00 PM
lily64my
post Feb 18 2014, 09:08 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Feb 18 2014, 08:16 PM)
i have 8 of them, got them from a friends who smuggle them from Japan in a small bottle.
i transferred them a big 2 gallon tank, one berried, but now they all hide inside the stone cave, with algae around tank, they hardly come out
to feed on the food i give them.

Their previous small home.
Oh wah...u got hidden treasure ehhh!!
sniper on the roof
post Feb 19 2014, 10:56 AM

23,414 posts

arrow

I recall that you've used JBL's novo prawn food before. Do you feed the amount as per instructions ?
TSarrow
post Feb 19 2014, 12:44 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 19 2014, 10:56 AM)
arrow

I recall that you've used JBL's novo prawn food before. Do you feed the amount as per instructions ?
i use base on the number of shrimp in the tank , normally one to two small pellet for each shrimp enough.
sniper on the roof
post Feb 19 2014, 01:52 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Feb 19 2014, 12:44 PM)
i use base on the number of shrimp in the tank , normally one to two small pellet for each shrimp enough.
You feed daily right?

TSarrow
post Feb 19 2014, 05:39 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 19 2014, 01:52 PM)
You feed daily right?
depend , sometime alternate day. it depend on the level of algae and biofilm in the tank, if your tank filter is running, there should be constant supply of biofilm.
sniper on the roof
post Feb 21 2014, 10:52 AM

23,414 posts

Do you guys still do water change when you have berried shrimps?
sniper on the roof
post Feb 21 2014, 01:31 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Feb 13 2014, 12:05 PM)
Thanks!

Other close up picture! hehe

I wonder how is our friend in Taiwan doing!
Some updates.

I re-scaped my tank and more importantly, I changed my previously overkill LED light to one of those RGB type LED's. Really worth the money. It's way dimmer (controllable with the remote control) and at the same time, I can see the shrimps clearly since can tune the color to highlight red. Being dimmer, my shrimps don't hide as much anymore smile.gif

Unfortunately the photos don't show the effect

96 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:26 AM