96 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

qz4eva
post Jan 29 2014, 02:18 PM

743 posts

I bought a colony of Fire Yellow and some food from Arrow and it arrived safely.

All very healthy and beautiful.

Nicely packed too...

Free some extra food too...

I personally recommend this guy. Good service and advice plus honest dealer smile.gif

bluecoat
post Jan 30 2014, 03:13 AM

307 posts

Arrow ,

I already kill number of shrimp as i dont know why they not able adapt in my tank environment. After do some reseach , can you advice for long term is the chiller , bio system , GH , KH and PH control is neccessary. how you contorl for the PH. if got control , can advice what test kit you use for it ?
bluecoat
post Feb 2 2014, 10:43 AM

307 posts

hi all , i plan to put shrimp to my plant tank . i heard some people say anubias nana could harm shrimp . is thatt truth ?

Is that any plant will harm shrimp ?
TSarrow
post Feb 2 2014, 12:29 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Jan 30 2014, 03:13 AM)
Arrow ,

I already kill number of shrimp as i dont know why they not able adapt in my tank environment. After do some reseach , can you advice for long term is the chiller , bio system , GH , KH and PH control is neccessary. how you contorl for the PH. if got control , can advice what test kit you use for it ?
We all kill shrimp before and I lost count how many perish in my hands.
Everyone tank is unique due to different setup.
Generally for newbies start with easy shrimp of the neocaridina type like cherry, fire red first and malaya shrimp.
Just a general guide line for cherry
Ph 6 - 8.2
Gh 4-8
Kh 0-2
Tds 160-240
Temperature 22-30c (optimum not more then 29c)
Ph you can control using soil as buffer or add additives like Benibachi ph up powder will only increase ph.
New soil like Ada amazonia and shrimp soil will buffer water to lower ph like 5.5-6.5.

First thing ahout shrimp tank is tank MUST BE CYCLED.

TSarrow
post Feb 2 2014, 12:40 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Feb 2 2014, 10:43 AM)
hi all , i plan to put shrimp to my plant tank . i heard some people say anubias nana could harm shrimp . is thatt truth ?

Is that any plant will harm shrimp ?
Some claim yes some said no. As I said before every tank is unique due to setup, size etc.
Anubias poison basic is when the stem/leaf is damaged/trimmed the sap that leak is poisonous to shrimps.
So is upto you to decide. For me I don't like anubias and I take safe better then sorry path esp if the tank is full of expensive shrimps.
One things about plants in tank with shrimps is that you must be careful in adding new plants , alot of plants is grow emersed in farm and be spray with pesticides and fertilizers that are fatal to shrimps. Any new plants need to know the source and be quarantine. If buying from direct seller, ask them it is safe for shrimp. If from shop better test the plants in a bucket with one shrimp first before introduce in your tank else you risk wipe your whole colony.
Actived carbon can remove fert and pesticides. Put them in the filter of the quarantine tank.
Fyi. We normally wont add in any new plants in established shrimp tank.

bluecoat
post Feb 8 2014, 10:59 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Feb 2 2014, 12:40 PM)
Some claim yes some said no. As I said before every tank is unique due to setup, size etc.
Anubias poison basic is when the stem/leaf is damaged/trimmed the sap that leak is poisonous to shrimps.
So is upto you to decide. For me I don't like anubias and I take safe better then sorry path esp if the tank is full of expensive shrimps.
One things about plants in tank with shrimps is that you must be careful in adding new plants , alot of plants is grow emersed in farm and be spray with pesticides and fertilizers that are fatal to shrimps.  Any new plants need to know the source and be quarantine.  If buying from direct seller, ask them it is safe for shrimp. If from shop better test the plants in a bucket with one shrimp first before introduce in your tank else you risk wipe your whole colony.
Actived carbon can remove fert and pesticides.  Put them in the filter of the quarantine tank.
Fyi. We normally wont add in any new plants in established shrimp tank.
Hi Arrow

I am wonder for CRS shrimp what is the exact water parameter in term of PH , GH , KH and temperature ?
Do you check GH and KH value to ensure your shrimp healthy ? i dont know how to check GH and KH even i havve sera test kit for KH.
Any best test kit to introduce ?

Do you have any bio filter system for your tank with come with develop bacteria ?
If bio system is need , can you introduce any external bio filter system ?

Please advice
TSarrow
post Feb 10 2014, 02:00 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Feb 8 2014, 10:59 PM)
Hi Arrow

I am wonder for CRS shrimp what is the exact water parameter in term of PH , GH , KH and temperature ?
Do you check GH and KH value to ensure your shrimp healthy ? i dont know how to check GH and KH even i havve sera test kit for KH.
Any best test kit to introduce ?

Do you have any bio filter system for your tank with come with develop bacteria ?
If bio system is need , can you introduce any external bio filter system ?
Please advice
Can just give a basic guideline as parameters vary for different type crystal shrimp.
Ph 6.2 - 6.6
GH 4-6
KH 0-2
Tds 100-150

i check TDS more often, as too high TDS in water if it doesn't come from mineral addtives/rock , it reflect pullution in the water.
Sera test kit is ok , i'm using Sera GH tester , just take sometime to read the instruction manual.

Bacteria need to build up itself in your tank, it take time, to speed it up, you can add bacteria water and additives to promote bacteria growth, ample of oxygen in water during initial cycling will help a lot.

Some filter media like ADA bio rio and Biohome plus come with added bacteria in dormant state.

bluecoat
post Feb 11 2014, 03:20 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Feb 10 2014, 02:00 PM)
Can just give a basic guideline as parameters vary for different type crystal shrimp.
Ph 6.2 - 6.6
GH 4-6
KH 0-2
Tds 100-150

i check TDS more often, as too high TDS in water if it doesn't come from mineral addtives/rock , it reflect pullution in the water.
Sera test kit is ok , i'm using Sera GH tester , just take sometime to read the instruction manual.

Bacteria need to build up itself in your tank, it take time, to speed it up, you can add bacteria water and additives to promote bacteria growth, ample of oxygen in water during initial cycling will help a lot.

Some filter media like ADA bio rio and Biohome plus come with added bacteria in dormant state.
It is new thing for me on the TDS , your test kit for the TDS in the liquid or electrical test pen ?
Grade C , B , A and S CRS is using the same water parameter , is it ?

I am at middle setup CRS tank, plan to get a Chiller . Is it the must ?

What the CRS you having and may be can buy some from you smile.gif
TSarrow
post Feb 11 2014, 07:12 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Feb 11 2014, 03:20 PM)
It is new thing for me on the TDS , your test kit for the TDS in the liquid or electrical test pen ?
Grade C , B , A and S CRS is using the same water parameter , is it ?

I am at middle setup CRS tank, plan to get a Chiller . Is it the must ?

What the CRS you having and may be can buy some from you smile.gif
TDS use test electric test pen.

i'm refering to basic normal grade crs upto grade s, higher grade more fragile.

i have grade A crs.

Cold temperature of at least 25c is a basic must.
lily64my
post Feb 12 2014, 02:01 PM

132 posts

Hi Sifu & Shrimp keeping members,

Here is an update of my blue shrimps tank smile.gif

byakuya8283
post Feb 12 2014, 02:45 PM

hai all members wanna ask anybody from kl or slangor want to sell ur shrimp...any kaki can get cheap like crs and chery...newbie
TSarrow
post Feb 12 2014, 04:01 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(byakuya8283 @ Feb 12 2014, 02:45 PM)
hai all members wanna ask anybody from kl or slangor want to sell ur shrimp...any kaki can get cheap like crs and chery...newbie
newbie better don't try crs first , these are not beginner shrimp to begin with unless you don't mind paying hefty lesson fees, Begineer shrimp like Cherry is a good try , market price is rm1-2 per tails, and you can find them in most lfs that sell shrimp.

lily64my
post Feb 12 2014, 04:56 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Feb 12 2014, 04:01 PM)
newbie better don't try crs first , these are not beginner shrimp to begin with unless you don't mind paying hefty lesson fees,  Begineer shrimp like Cherry is a good try , market price is rm1-2 per tails, and you can find them in most lfs that sell shrimp.
There are some at fish depot...
bluswhitehat
post Feb 12 2014, 10:59 PM

446 posts

Guys, I'm conducting a survey - commonly we buy fish / shrimp from fish shop but would you think it's convenient if there was a way to get high quality fish, same as market rate (or maybe lower), and hand delivered to your house (if within Klang Valley)?

What about aquariums and fish supplies?

Do share your thoughts!
calvinyoon
post Feb 12 2014, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(lily64my @ Feb 12 2014, 02:01 PM)

wahhhhh rclxms.gif
femgoo2005
post Feb 12 2014, 11:10 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Feb 12 2014, 02:01 PM)

Is that in your avatar pic your blue as well?
lily64my
post Feb 13 2014, 12:04 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(femgoo2005 @ Feb 12 2014, 11:10 PM)
Is that in your avatar pic your blue as well?
No Avatar pic is not the same. Found it online as my inspiration.

Moved my blue shrimp to a none clear glass tank (regretted now!). Moved yellow golden shrimp to clear glass tank but quantity still not increasing.

lily64my
post Feb 13 2014, 12:05 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(calvinyoon @ Feb 12 2014, 11:02 PM)
wahhhhh  rclxms.gif
Thanks!

Other close up picture! hehe

I wonder how is our friend in Taiwan doing!

This post has been edited by lily64my: Feb 13 2014, 12:17 PM

femgoo2005
post Feb 13 2014, 12:11 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Feb 13 2014, 12:04 PM)
No Avatar pic is not the same. Found it online as my inspiration.

Moved my blue shrimp to a none clear glass tank (regretted now!). Moved yellow golden shrimp to clear glass tank but quantity still not increasing.
Oh ini macam. It takes an experienced one to move them if not they are sensitive creature in my opinion lah hehe. No experience like me sure will cause them k.o blink.gif . Anyway still new at this, will buy tiny bit of them from sifu Arrow, now still cycling my tank hope thing goes well. Nice knowing you and everyone here biggrin.gif
femgoo2005
post Feb 13 2014, 12:12 PM

91 posts

double posted

This post has been edited by femgoo2005: Feb 13 2014, 12:13 PM

96 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:24 PM