The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

davido
post May 10 2016, 06:06 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ May 10 2016, 04:16 PM)
how much?
Can't really remember how much, but less than RM50. Also try to google Hailea's ACO-660x range.
This 6604 I feel is too powerful and is more suited for 4 feet tanks. I definitely would have gone for the smallest 6600 model if I had known.
Since the flow is too powerful for my liking, I had to use an air choke valve to lessen the flow.
davido
post May 11 2016, 04:15 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ May 11 2016, 08:24 AM)
the reason i wanted a silent one is because my tank is higher than then place i put the air pump (due to socket and plug positions). and because of that, it need to pump very hard to push the air up to the tank and hence the noisy part. if i tune it down too much, the air couldnt reach upwards.

my main concern is the noise lol. its irritating. by the way, there's a control at both outlet right? put minimum also that powderful?
thanks bro. from the look of it, you saying fluval is more silent?
Oh ya, I forgot to mention that you should ask Icedlink too because he carries the Fluval range - its a good brand and it surely have silent pumps too..

About the video - the sound output is about right. Its not silent, but its low noise. I put it in my cabinet - when it runs, you cannot hear the pump unless you have cat ears. But if its exposed, then it may be audible. The flow is too powerful even with the minimum adjustment. And I use the same setup - the pump at floor level, and the tank at chest level.

Price aside - I think its always wise to spend a bit more to get good stuffs. If I knew about the Fluval range, I would have seriously considered it. smile.gif
davido
post May 12 2016, 11:31 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ May 11 2016, 04:33 PM)
hi bro, about the bolded part, you are talking about the eheim or fluval?

price wise, i'm considering anything around rm60 range. a little noise is ok, at least its far better than the current one at my house lol.
Not eheim, neither fluval. But I was referring to the Hailea 6604. The comparison video shows the Hailea 6604 pump with some vibrating sound - yes, the sound level is about correct.

>>You all can always use Air Pump Control Manifold to reduce the flow or expand the outlet.
Yes, I'm using that.
davido
post May 12 2016, 05:22 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ May 12 2016, 11:39 AM)
i see... so the hailea you using now is minimum sound?
Yes laa, I can only tell you from my own experience. Its like this. At night, dead silent. I sit 2 feet in front of my tank. I cannot hear the pump running. But if I really focus, then yes, there is a humming sound, but as soon as I focus on the shrimps, I don't hear it anymore. Actually I never even noticed the sound until yesterday because I made it a point to "listen" for the pump - and then realized, oh yeah, there is an audible sound afterall. But note that its housed in a 3 feet cabinet. The choice is yours and depending how fussy one is. If you don't want to compromise, then Q2 it is smile.gif

davido
post Jun 8 2016, 10:53 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(blizzardcarl92 @ Jun 6 2016, 11:55 AM)
hi guys. i was wondering where can i get shirui sands rather than at lfs?
Can try at FRIM, but I think its not as white/yellow as shirui. For fine white sand, of course Phuket or PhiPhi islands. Not sure about Malaysian islands though.
davido
post Jun 8 2016, 10:57 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(diversenature @ Jun 8 2016, 01:30 AM)
Hi sifus,
Newbie here. Anyone knows what shrimp is this?
Caught from local stream. About twice the size of an adult ghost shrimp(those sold in pet stores as feeders).
But this is already max size as can see it is a berried female.
I cannot be too sure of the species, but any of these big claw ones are macrobrachium shrimp

May I ask which stream? I also caught a similar one in FRIM, looks about the same size, but the claw is longer. Its territorial and chases eveyrthing else away, including the Yamatos.

davido
post Jun 9 2016, 11:11 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(diversenature @ Jun 9 2016, 01:32 AM)
I see. Thanks.
I found mine at a ulu langat stream. Maybe because this is a female thats why the claw not so long.

I remember when i was small i caught shrimps in a ulu yam river, the claws of the males really long. That time all shrimps caught got fed to my big oscar.

I caught a few and kept them in a four feet tank with ghost shrimp. Compared to ghost shrimp, this macrobrachium seems more shy, and usually only move along the ground. Whereas ghost shrimp will swim actively at night.
Ok, nice. I was also at Hulu Langat - caught some shrimps there too, but I released it back since I didn't want to rear them. Similar looking, but slimmer body, and not long claw.
davido
post Jun 9 2016, 11:17 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Jun 8 2016, 01:11 PM)
brown diatoms ? - I dont know too  confused.gif
icedlink, I don't know about marine. But in freshwater, diatoms should not happen if your tank is cycled.
They appear during cycling, around day 10. I used SAE and Yamatos, but by the 3rd week - no more diatoms. Never to be seen again.
Diatoms are like that - they will disappear by themself once the tank is cycled. The fact that you still have it after so many months is quite puzzling. But I would look at insufficient bio media as a suspect.
But maybe marine tanks are different - that I can't comment.

davido
post Dec 14 2016, 01:25 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Nov 29 2016, 11:20 AM)
Anyone has got some cheap CRS to sell or giveaway tongue.gif? I have a community planted tank with tetras and cherries, so far cherries breeds and live well, so wanna upgrade a bit to CRS to test water smile.gif water temperature is around 26 with fan on during day time.
I would be interested in CRS too - although all my CRS died, but I just can't resist trying another batch..

davido
post Jan 11 2017, 03:45 PM

36 posts

Any idea where to get ketapang leaves (Almond)? Or what other leaves are good to place in a shrimp tank?
davido
post Jan 11 2017, 05:27 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Jan 11 2017, 04:44 PM)
if you can recognize the tree, it will be easier as i saw plenty of the tree were planted on the roadside..in skudai..not sure about your place..sometimes in public playground also got the tree planted for shade..
Thank you all. I'm hopelessly hopeless at recognizing trees.. sad.gif
So I will try ebay as suggested by Vio.

Setting up a new tank - shrimp only. 50 liters. Got my chiller, so temp problem is solved. Using the built in LED light, which is very basic but shouldn't matter since I'm not planting anything.

Planning to use a sponge filter as well. I bought Benibachi soil which is specific for shrimps and also free beach sand that I scooped up from the beach in Phuket duing the Xmas holidays. Haha, couldn't resist.

I'm actually thinking of using the beach sand. After testing it, I found that it is quite inert. It didn't affect PH, or GH. It raised TDS a little bit from 65 to 85. And KH from 0/1 to 2. I think those parameters should be okay, as any soil will leech out something anyway.

Why I want to use beach sand? To get some experience and see whether it workable or not? If it does not, then thrash it and replace with shrimp soil...

davido
post Jan 11 2017, 09:50 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Jan 11 2017, 05:51 PM)
i think i saw ketapang leaves sold in mudah.my..but not recently..not sure about the price compare to ebay..even some LFS did sell the leaves in plastic packet..where ur loc?
My location is in PJ. Do you know are there shops around KL/PJ area that sells it?
davido
post Jan 23 2017, 01:41 PM

36 posts

Hi all,
Would like to ask, is this Ketapang leaf? It measures six inches. Got it from a taman in TTDI.
All the leaves look similar, and I have a hard time telling..

davido
post Jan 24 2017, 11:01 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(Punanister @ Jan 23 2017, 09:48 PM)
Thank you all.

Usman, is that your basket of Ketapang? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
davido
post Mar 7 2017, 11:40 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(kazarboys @ Mar 6 2017, 10:21 PM)
Anybody interested to purchase my shirmp tank [shrimp (15 healthy) + guppy(2 guppy and 3baby guppy)]

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4180329
Good luck with your sale.
Suggest to keep your tank as spare because when you aquascape, a spare tank comes in really handy at some time. But maybe you already have a spare, so good luck anyway.

Anyone knows where to buy PRL shrimp? Other than Shrimpoly as I need more females.

I see SSS grade for sale but are they different from PRL?

davido
post Apr 2 2017, 10:34 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(blizzardcarl92 @ Mar 29 2017, 01:55 PM)
hi guys, wanna ask you guys which are the best or prefered additive/bacteria that you guys would choose. i plan to start a 39L shrimp tank. for now just neos. i can't afford a chiller T.T
Benibachi Bee Max.
davido
post Apr 6 2017, 11:07 PM

36 posts

Hi arrow,

Can I ask how do you control pests in a shrimp only tank? I have 8 PRL in a 1.5 feet shrimp only, low planted tank. They are doing great, but I have several pests that I wish to control.

Detritus worm. Still under tolerable levels, but better if not visible.
Insect larva - some kind of very tiny cacing in the water column.
Planaria - I saw a few. Still under control, but worried whether will get worse.
Snails - also currently under control, but saw a lot of babies and making me alarmed.

I have tiny baby shrimps, so its difficult to vacuum the substrate. And I can't add fishes like the Chilli Rasbora because this is shrimp only tank.
I'm not overfeeding. The issue happens because there aren't any population control to eat these worms.

I was wondering do you have such pests in a shrimp only tank, and do you control it? And how?

Many thanks.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0548sec    0.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:08 AM