17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

TSarrow
post Oct 11 2013, 06:38 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 11 2013, 04:05 PM)
Inserted the elite commandos. See how it does over the weekends.

using azoo filter media, i'm using that in 2 of my tank as well., so you know where the planaria come from?
TSarrow
post Oct 12 2013, 12:13 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 11 2013, 07:12 PM)
Planaria can come from new filter media?
probably from your new moss, plant , wood or shrimp. Nuke them before they take over your tank.
To cycle faster , add in air pump, provide more oxygen, bacteria need to utilize o2 to grow.
TSarrow
post Oct 12 2013, 02:40 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(raytung @ Oct 12 2013, 06:48 AM)
Im new beginner here. Using resun dms 400 can keep shrimps. I know this aquarium suitable for seawater
Heat build up maybe a problem cos this tank have cover. If in aircon room or hooked with chiller then no problem. or least put a fan.
Normal shrimp like cherry/malaya can tolerate upto 30'c-31'c but won't be optimum.
TSarrow
post Oct 12 2013, 06:19 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(raytung @ Oct 12 2013, 03:49 PM)
Heat i think not a problem. Under seawater project ago the temp is around 26c. Problem is roller ceramic and carbon ball not necessary right.
roller ceramic and carbon ball ? you mean those filter media ? if so just change/wash it , if it have been used in marine setup, as the BB in marine tank
won't survive when switch to freshwater anyway.
TSarrow
post Oct 15 2013, 11:12 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 15 2013, 09:55 PM)
Today i found some shrimplets in cherry tank are colourless....omg its malaya shrimplets! Fantastic.... those cherry shrimplets got a very light red...but malaya has kinda only stripe on their back...they are grouping together...not like cherry...lol
Shrimplets in the other tank are getting bigger!!! The blue, yellow and fire red..(somehow this batch i got at pets88 was not producing fire red shrimplets instead like cherry)
Maybe will move them into cherry and let my grade S fire red only in the tank and breed.
I cant wait for my other 2 tanks ready rclxub.gif  yawn.gif  sweat.gif
Still trapping planaria 24 7....lol mad.gif
wild neocaridina and male cherry also colorless, have to wait and see.
No matters how you select breed fire red, you will still get cherry like baby, just assign them into reject tank.

This post has been edited by arrow: Oct 15 2013, 11:13 PM
TSarrow
post Oct 17 2013, 11:43 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 17 2013, 10:53 AM)
LOL....u need to have both hands in action and no plants around...but its not easy to catch them...
Sorry. have not post you the no planaria powder. will do so asap. smile.gif
TSarrow
post Oct 18 2013, 12:47 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(youliang @ Oct 17 2013, 05:39 PM)
just came back from holidays and noticed that my pregnant shrimp is dead.. should i remove it? the eggs are still there though sad.gif
yes, should remove unless you wanna try artificial egg hatching
->> http://www.planetinverts.com/Artifically%2...ing%20Eggs.html

TSarrow
post Oct 18 2013, 06:59 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 18 2013, 04:57 PM)
hi guys
(i'm newbie and my 1st attempt to have shrimp) smile.gif
i want to ask about water parameter for Red Cherry Shrimp
i just test water ph in my tank and it show 6
do i need to increase the ph or just ignore
currently there no shrimp yet, and it will arrive on this monday or tuesday
i'm using ADA soil

ph6 still ok, the most important is test whether tank cycled or not.
If tank cycled , this few days before your shrimp arrive , do few large water change about 70% to further remove excess nutrients of the soil.
TSarrow
post Oct 19 2013, 01:17 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 17 2013, 02:00 PM)
Post some updates on my newly started Udang MkII tank.

My view

Straight on view

Visitors view

Up close view

ps: Apologies for the poor quality photos and reflection.
Really like your moss carpet, just don't like the idea of having those stainless steel mesh underneath it.
TSarrow
post Oct 19 2013, 01:18 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 18 2013, 08:23 PM)
thank for the advice mr arrow & lily64my
i will do the wc before the shrimp arrive
You can share your shrimp tank in the making picture now even without shrimp yet.
TSarrow
post Oct 19 2013, 05:57 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 19 2013, 04:00 PM)
this is my tank
sorry for the blur picture because i taking using phone camera

the fish will be remove after the shrimp arrive
the tank almost 2 month after setup
quite ok, lot of space to view the shrimp, for future if you will to add in any new plant, test it a one shrimp in a bucket first before put
into your tank as some plant esp the HC seem to leech with pesticide and ferts that fatal to shrimps, you risk wipe out all the shrimp.
In the future you need to cover those filter intake with steel mesh or sponge to prevent shrimplets to be sucked in and killed.

Those fish if too big will target the shrimplets but will just reduce the breeding rate if you have enough space for some baby shrimp to hide.
else remove is also a good option, however you can keep them with smaller sized fish like dwarf or spotted rasbora.
The rule is if the fish mouth big enough to fit a shrimplet, they will eat them.
Of course aggressive in nature fish is a NO NO in shrimp tank.

Your temperature may on the high side as running two filter will contribute to higher temperature, and you may as well run a bigger filter.
adding a aquarium fan is always an option.

TSarrow
post Oct 19 2013, 07:01 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 19 2013, 06:27 PM)
Risk of rust?

Didn't have much of a choice as I wanted a low tech carpet.
stainless steel mesh won't rust, but the edge are quite sharp to my liking.
TSarrow
post Oct 20 2013, 09:30 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bg2014 @ Oct 20 2013, 05:48 AM)
By HC do you mean Hemianthus Callitrichoides?
Yes. They normally sold tight to green plastic mesh.
TSarrow
post Oct 20 2013, 08:22 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 20 2013, 06:43 PM)
Why?

It's way down there next to gravel where the shrimps can't really get to.
Just myself have phobia about finger getting hurt and shrimp get pierce by those netting.
TSarrow
post Oct 21 2013, 02:18 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 20 2013, 10:16 PM)
I send one commando cherry into my 1st cycled tank day yesterday! Checked today and cherry is still good...tested ph kh n gh...a bit low than the original home tank.
Should i wait longer than transfer the yellow golden back. I thought of moving some mosses too...but afraid the snail and planaria migrate too.
Still traping planaria daily and still found them in the trap..
don't transfer the moss or even the water, planaria and eggs may hitchhiking on it.
you should receive the no-planaria on wed, nuke THEM(planaria) ,trap is useless.
How many Liters of water of your planaria tank ?

This post has been edited by arrow: Oct 21 2013, 02:19 AM
TSarrow
post Oct 21 2013, 12:41 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 21 2013, 10:58 AM)
LOL ~~ Guess they want to bring it back

I wonder how long does it take for my tank water to be clear  sweat.gif
got a front photo shoot of your tank , picture too dark , can't really see how it look like.

TSarrow
post Oct 21 2013, 02:46 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 21 2013, 02:20 PM)
got 2x 2ft tank..one normal size from lfs and one with round sides...a bit taller..
normal 2ft should be around 60L water, you can use formula tank length x tank width x tank height in cm /1000 after minus out substrate and tank top blank space.
That mean if you have 5cm soil thick and 3 cm blank space on tank top, total you minus 8cm from tank height.

1g no-planaria treat 50L water for first dose , then half dose on 2nd day and 1/4 dose on third day. (treatment took 3 days).
Think i give you around 2 to 4g.
TSarrow
post Oct 21 2013, 02:50 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 20 2013, 10:25 PM)
Well folks...been some time since I posted...so a quick update. Decided to take a deep plunge today & increased my tank population. Here's what I got:

6x S grade CRS (+1 existing)
6x SS grade CRS (+1 existing)
2x SSS grade CRS
2x OEBTs (hope it's a pair, hard to see)

Just couldn't resist...hands too itchy...

Current tank population:

8x Malayans
18x S grade Fire Reds
16x mix grades CRS
2x OEBTs
6x horned nerite snails
1x otocinclus
& numerous fire red shrimplets, tonnes of bugs & thin white worms

Here's hoping there'll be no casualties from today's purchase...as there's quite a hole in wallet now... tongue.gif

Tank's recovering from GDA attack...still some left. Not sure if it's the end of its life cycle or the oto/nerites/seed shrimps were clearing it...but am very glad I can see what's in the tank again (albeit not so clear yet).

Pics will be up when I can get some good clear shots wink.gif
all these new purchase will cost you around RM0.4k.
OEBT'S get the pregnant one if any, buy 1 free 20 if survive.

This post has been edited by arrow: Oct 21 2013, 02:50 PM
TSarrow
post Oct 21 2013, 03:19 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 21 2013, 03:07 PM)
Damn stone lah...one by one they went and move it outside.

[/@arrow] No planaria works on nematodes? Kinda regret I didn't opt for the nuke option earlier. Now catching nematodes that's slowly appearing. Today already caught 4.
unfortunately no, Nematodes are immune to most treatment, they exist in all tank anyway. They getting less if you control your feeding and vacuum the substrate but you can't eliminating them.
Some fish may eat them if they float in the water. Be sure to check if it is planaria? planaria got triangle head and normally gliding around.
TSarrow
post Oct 21 2013, 03:25 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 21 2013, 03:16 PM)
Haha... you and your compliments, Sis... thanks much  blush.gif Hope the shrimps feel the same way as you do...  laugh.gif
She's still quite scared to use that bro...needs more guarantee that it doesn't affect her 'babies'  biggrin.gif
Err... thankfully it was lesser than that. OEBTs were the most expensive of the lot per head-wise.

Ahh... if only I could get a berried female but unfortunately couldn't as there were only 2 berried females in the tank and I was not to get it  cry.gif  Anyway, these 2 (as usual) are pioneer commandos deployed. If all goes well *may* just get another pair. Did the same for all the shrimps I have... start with a 'pioneer' batch... all is OK for a week or so... then add more.

Perhaps it's just my luck, but seems each batch of shrimp I got there would be 1 casualty (apart from the Malayan...1 kamikaze case after >1mth)... let's hope this time 'buang suay' already with those 'sacrificial shrimps'...  blush.gif

Can't wait to be home tonight and see how the new 'babies' are doing...  laugh.gif  whistling.gif
Shrimps just too fragile to avoid casualty, at least you able to bring them home alive, i once bought 10 sulawesi shrimp at RM18 each , died in bag halfway home tongue.gif

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0517sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:29 PM