Oct 6 2013, 10:27 PM
23,414 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taipei |
QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 6 2013, 07:44 PM) Eventually gonna retire the office tank and bring it home.QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 6 2013, 08:57 PM) You need to cycle firsr. But there is way to shorten the cycle time by Thanks for the tips as always. U overdose prime before adding shrimps right?- use old filter with media, and or borrow filter floss and media. - use tank water from an established tank. (The above two method will transfer any disease/pest between tank if any) -dose bacteria powder/liquid. In my case. Im rescaping and reuse the old filter and since it is sand only substrate without soil that release ammonia. I can put in shrimp on shrimp day. As a precautions. I do check for ammonia and nitrite after 3 days. Before that dose 5x seachem prime amount for my tank size . Just in case to bind any ammonia or nitrite that exist. Cos there is still risk of old beneficial bacteria can establish back in new parameters. |
Oct 6 2013, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 6 2013, 11:01 PM) Seachem Prime more expensive for a reason, it can act as an emergency solution to counter ammonia and nitrite in uncycle tank with shrimp be put in that have no other mean to be transfer out. Instead of waiting for the shrimp to died one by one , we can dose 5x amount of Prime from normal dose My new tank is everything new.. filter media is has pre-packed bacteria and i plan to dose seachem stability. You reckon a week is ok?to bind ammonia and nitrite to non-toxic form, the best part is it won't remove them which are good cos the tank cycle can still continue. It will be effective for one week before re-dose. I have tried with one tank with a nitrite reading of at least 5ppm, with overdose prime, none of the shrimp died or behave unnormal. Of course if possible don't resort to this method as risk is still there. Substrate is shrimp specific non fertilized ones. Also should I add activated carbon? Was in a rush, didn't have time to fully soak the driftwood more than an hour. I suspect its gonna be leeching tannins. This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Oct 6 2013, 11:29 PM |
Oct 7 2013, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 7 2013, 12:49 AM) A week is too early. Maybe 2-3 week if everything new, as bacteria is slow to build up. Of course it help with frequent dosing of stability. Pure ammonia is a bit hard to find. What do you think if I just put a copious amount of fish food in a panty hose and chuck it inside?add in air pump to provide more o2 and temperature of 27-30c will be ideal to accelerate their grow. Light should on at least 8 hrs. I notice any soil based substrate will still leech ammonia no matter what brand. Although at low ph those ammonia are in less toxic form. That why normally with soil . It is more easy to kick start the cycle since ammonia is already present. With sand or stone substrate. You need to add in fish food or pure ammonia liquid to compensate. To remove tannins effectively. Use seachem purigen. Put it inside fikter compartment. Active carbon you may want to give it a skip when tank is still cycling. |
Oct 7 2013, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 7 2013, 05:34 PM) No need , just goto your local fish shop , buy some ADA soil loose pack 250g, 500g or 1 kg , get a filter mesh bag , fill up with the ADA soil , hang it inside your tank 'woop' you got your ammonia source, clean and easy. when tank cycled, just remove it and put it in your house plant pot. ADA soil not that easy to find around my area but fish food got a lot of spare. |
Oct 7 2013, 07:07 PM
Oct 8 2013, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 7 2013, 10:01 PM) Came home saw the tank water is clear....i remember read sumwhere to change 100% for 1st time, so did 100% water change. Now cycling it again. Will change 50% tomorrow till end of week. A bit blur here... why 100% water change? Wouldn't that be the same as starting all over again?Meanwhile, malaya is living in 3ft castle...lol |
Oct 8 2013, 12:06 PM
Oct 8 2013, 02:51 PM
Oct 9 2013, 12:45 AM
Oct 9 2013, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(calvinyoon @ Oct 9 2013, 08:35 AM) Yeah its aquarium soil.Ammonia alert still no detect anything yet. Had a shrimp death today in the old tank arrow First time have molting death. Saw this fella molt in the open (usually they hide around the plants) and just when it jump out of the shell, another shrimp nearby jumped at it. Then I notice it didn't fully molt... the very end of its tail didn't disconnect properly. This morning dead liao. So I'm curious if kena kacau from another shrimp caused this or what. This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Oct 9 2013, 09:53 AM |
Oct 9 2013, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 9 2013, 10:38 AM) I figure its better to see ammonia first and see it being reduced to check if there's sufficient BB in the tank before adding in the commando squad (test shrimps)This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Oct 9 2013, 10:48 AM |
Oct 9 2013, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 9 2013, 10:48 AM) No, ammonia, got nitrite(NO2) detected ? The water seems to be in good shape. No ammonia or nitrite. Normal nitrate. TDS stable for long time at ~183.. same with ph, gh and kh.Yes, they very fragile when/after molt, if get jumped, they probably died. Yamato like to do that on other shrimp. I moved the tank to a corner since I got the new tank and it seems that the shrimps were more active when ignored. It's one of the rare occasion when I look into the tank and saw it happen. |
Oct 9 2013, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 9 2013, 10:53 AM) You using what substrate in the new tank? black pearl? GEX pure soil in the bag, Substrate in the tank is Up Aqua shrimp sand (I read that its polymer coated or something like that.. won't mess up water)Plant like ammonia, those are nutrient to them. The best is ADA soil but you can't find. Gonna wait another day or so.. if still no detect, then will introduce a squad of kamikaze danios into it. This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Oct 9 2013, 11:02 AM |
Oct 9 2013, 12:10 PM
Oct 9 2013, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 9 2013, 12:14 PM) oic, anyway for the new tank, beside checking for ammonia, after 3days can also check for nitrite. Btw.... I'm seeing some tiny bubbles on the water surface now on the new tank. Something is decomposing Some of the tank i setup with old filter, it jump to stage 2 cycle after 2~3days. |
Oct 9 2013, 02:58 PM
Oct 11 2013, 10:02 AM
Oct 11 2013, 10:23 AM
Oct 11 2013, 10:58 AM
Also saw a nematode swimming around. WTF... how come so happening so fast? Not even one week yet.
| Change to: | 0.2273sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:27 PM |