The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

TSarrow
post Oct 6 2013, 01:04 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 6 2013, 12:03 PM)
9L of ADA is at 97RM. I saw shrimp sand at 30RM per small bag. At least needs 4 of those for 2ft tank? My existing tanks are with ADA soil...mosses growing good without co2 (low end tank just dose co2 booster liquid) and shrimps doing ok even when i disturb the soil.
ADA repack Shirui sand 4kg rm25. Need 2 bag for 2ft.
Your current ADA soil already settle. Remember got any casualty when you use it when just started when the soil was new?

TSarrow
post Oct 6 2013, 08:57 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(fr33dom @ Oct 6 2013, 07:15 PM)
I also plan to setup new 1ft tank with only sank, so i wondering i follow ur step using sand, can immediately put in the cherry shrimp? or have to wait for the tank cycle?  wink.gif
You need to cycle first. But there is way to shorten the cycle time by
- use old filter with media, and or borrow filter floss and media.
- use tank water from an established tank.
(The above two method will transfer any disease/pest between tank if any)
-dose bacteria powder/liquid.

In my case. Im rescaping and reuse the old filter and since it is sand only substrate without soil that release ammonia. I can put in same on shrimp day.
As a precautions. I do check for ammonia and nitrite after 3 days. Before that dose 5x seachem prime amount for my tank size . Just in case to bind any ammonia or nitrite that exist.
Cos there is still risk of old beneficial bacteria can't establish back soon enough in new parameters and environment.

This post has been edited by arrow: Oct 6 2013, 10:51 PM
TSarrow
post Oct 6 2013, 11:01 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 6 2013, 10:27 PM)
Eventually gonna retire the office tank and bring it home.
Thanks for the tips as always. U overdose prime before adding shrimps right?
Seachem Prime more expensive for a reason, it can act as an emergency solution to counter ammonia and nitrite in uncycle tank with shrimp be put in that have no other mean to be transfer out. Instead of waiting for the shrimp to died one by one , we can dose 5x amount of Prime from normal dose
to bind ammonia and nitrite to non-toxic form, the best part is it won't remove them which are good cos the tank cycle can still continue.
It will be effective for one week before re-dose.
I have tried with one tank with a nitrite reading of at least 5ppm, with overdose prime, none of the shrimp died or behave unnormal.
Of course if possible don't resort to this method as risk is still there.
TSarrow
post Oct 7 2013, 12:49 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 6 2013, 11:12 PM)
My new tank is everything new.. filter media is has pre-packed bacteria and i plan to dose seachem stability. You reckon a week is ok?

Substrate is shrimp specific non fertilized ones.

Also should I add activated carbon? Was in a rush, didn't have time to fully soak the driftwood more than an hour. I suspect its gonna be leeching tannins.
A week is too early. Maybe 2-3 week if everything new, as bacteria is slow to build up. Of course it help with frequent dosing of stability.
add in air pump to provide more o2 and temperature of 27-30c will be ideal to accelerate their grow. Light should on at least 8 hrs.
I notice any soil based substrate will still leech ammonia no matter what brand. Although at low ph those ammonia are in less toxic form.
That why normally with soil . It is more easy to kick start the cycle since ammonia is already present. With sand or stone substrate. You need to add in fish food or pure ammonia liquid to compensate.

To remove tannins effectively. Use seachem purigen. Put it inside fikter compartment. Active carbon you may want to give it a skip when tank is still cycling.

TSarrow
post Oct 7 2013, 01:04 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 6 2013, 11:15 PM)
Done setup 1x2ft tank with remaining black ADA soil black colour. Now doing cycle with used media but new filter.
2nd tank of 1ft tank needs soil/sand.
3rd tank of 3ft with cycled water is ready for malaya.

Since blue velvet is sensitive, should i move fire red and yellow from this sharing tank to new tanks? Sharing tank is with the ADA amazonia red colour soil. Is it good colour match with blue velvet?

And will black soil be good match colour for fire red?

So yellow golden back should be with what colour soil? Or maybe trying sand.
Arrow pls advise..
Sis. Every shrimp look great on dark background. The only exception maybe black colored shrimp as they may look invisible.
Better don't move them to this new tank even you have used old media in the new filter. Cos beneficial bacteria also quite sensitive to new environment. Like if move from ph 7.6 to ph 6.2 environment they may died off or become less efficient. Some more your new tank is with ADA amazonia soil that have tons of ammonia. It need a very strong BB colony to handle.
And to help reduce excess ammonia from new ADA soil. You need to do few huge water change. This will swing the water parameter so mych that your shrimp may not able to handle.
Also use a small stick. Poke the new ADA soil to release all those vtrapped air bubble. if not in the future those trapped air may pose as ammonia bomb.

This post has been edited by arrow: Oct 7 2013, 01:05 AM
TSarrow
post Oct 7 2013, 05:34 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 7 2013, 03:39 PM)
Pure ammonia is a bit hard to find. What do you think if I just put a copious amount of fish food in a panty hose and chuck it inside?
No need , just goto your local fish shop , buy some ADA soil loose pack 250g, 500g or 1 kg , get a filter mesh bag , fill up with the ADA soil , hang it inside your tank 'woop' you got your ammonia source, clean and easy. when tank cycled, just remove it and put it in your house plant pot.
TSarrow
post Oct 7 2013, 05:35 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 7 2013, 05:43 AM)
Hi dave...welcome to this thread.

Glad to have you here. Am only seeing your nick @ my-mac. Guess you should be the same person smile.gif
Lol of course I would love to...so let's hope my reds go into a breeding frenzy soon...then in no time I'd have such tank too biggrin.gif All I need is patience....since my tank is small. 4 berried females at the moment so let's see what the shrimplets survival rate is... wink.gif
Woot! Congrats on tank no.2!!! Yup just be patient in cycling it. Better be safe than sorry. It was more than a month before I had any shrimps in.
Seachem stability or prodibio digest. I used digest for mine. Used the normal one as I couldn't find the nano/start up version back then.

I have not used activated carbon at all since day 1. Replaced it purigen instead (like what arrow recommended). Besides, activated carbon could only last up to a month...so I didn't want to go thru the hassle. But since I'm having planted tank too activated carbon is not necessary. Purigen really helps to make the water clean & clear.
Gratz on the new tank! Like what arrow said anything looks good on dark background apart from those dark colored shrimps. I'm using ADA soil too...and with those green plants...fire red pops out biggrin.gif good contrast

@arrow: crap I think I have some air pockets still im the soil. Mind telling how it'll post to be a timebomb? If it escapes it disturbs the soil hence ammonia is released with it?

Travelling again this whole week so have fun folks! Will drop in when I'm free smile.gif
Yes. kind of like that especially when you your soil is quite thick.
TSarrow
post Oct 7 2013, 06:44 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 7 2013, 05:49 PM)
ADA soil not that easy to find around my area but fish food got a lot of spare.
any aquarium soil will do, even shrimp soil also leech ammonia. Gex soil should be available in taiwan.
Fish food will pollute your tank if you can't control your hand. smile.gif
TSarrow
post Oct 8 2013, 01:01 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 8 2013, 12:48 AM)
A bit blur here... why 100% water change? Wouldn't that be the same as starting all over again?
normally you only do that for the notorious ammonia bank by the name ADA amazonia. This is the best soil for planted tank cos of huge nutrients it content. But to shrimp tank, those nutrients are to no use but instead pose problem with those tons of ammonia it leech. You should get hold some sample to try.
70% to 100% initial water and subsequent large water change is to help remove/reduce those extra nutrients.
That the reason why ADA soil based tank took longer time to cycle compare with 'chap ayam' soil or sand/gravel.
Even for sole planted tank purpose, initial remove of excess nutrients will also help reduce algae outbreak as during early setup, plants haven't establish to absorb/utilize those nutrients yet.

TSarrow
post Oct 9 2013, 12:34 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(edwinlim82 @ Oct 8 2013, 06:27 PM)

Anyone tried to put galaxy rasbora together with SHrimp?
are they safe with shrimp? sweat.gif

cant resist they are such a gems
Forgot to answer this in previous thread.
Yes and no. This fish is safe if it still small size. Once grow big enough when it mouth fit a shrimplets . It will eat them.
I also notice this fish is more aggressive compare with dwarf and mosquito rasbora which both are shrimp safe.

and i do keep 8 of them (small size) before with shrimp and shrimplets, now all gone cos i think i neglect them as i only feed them shrimp food.

This post has been edited by arrow: Oct 10 2013, 12:14 AM
TSarrow
post Oct 9 2013, 10:48 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 9 2013, 09:49 AM)
Yeah its aquarium soil.

Ammonia alert still no detect anything yet.

Had a shrimp death today in the old tank

arrow First time have molting death. Saw this fella molt in the open (usually they hide around the plants) and just when it jump out of the shell, another shrimp nearby jumped at it. Then I notice it didn't fully molt... the very end of its tail didn't disconnect properly. This morning dead liao.

So I'm curious if kena kacau from another shrimp caused this or what.
No, ammonia, got nitrite(NO2) detected ?
Yes, they very fragile when/after molt, if get jumped, they probably died. Yamato like to do that on other shrimp.
TSarrow
post Oct 9 2013, 10:53 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 9 2013, 12:45 AM)
Arrow's recommendation to add plant friendly substrate to introduce ammonia to the tank.
You using what substrate in the new tank? black pearl?
Plant like ammonia, those are nutrient to them.
The best is ADA soil but you can't find.
TSarrow
post Oct 9 2013, 12:00 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 9 2013, 10:53 AM)
The water seems to be in good shape. No ammonia or nitrite. Normal nitrate. TDS stable for long time at ~183.. same with ph, gh and kh.

I moved the tank to a corner since I got the new tank and it seems that the shrimps were more active when ignored. It's one of the rare occasion when I look into the tank and saw it happen.
got No3 nitrate!!, seem like cycled unless your tap water full of nitrate in the first place, you dose alot of bacteria powder/liquid or
borrow old filter media?
TSarrow
post Oct 9 2013, 12:14 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 9 2013, 12:10 PM)
I meant the old tank lah... new tank still have now fauna.

Growing BB and moss now.
oic, anyway for the new tank, beside checking for ammonia, after 3days can also check for nitrite.
Some of the tank i setup with old filter, it jump to stage 2 cycle after 2~3days.
TSarrow
post Oct 9 2013, 12:21 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 9 2013, 12:13 PM)
ADA Africana. I have one tank with that soil. Oh dear, how to add the soil now to the malaya tank? shrimp already in the tank (cycled tank ex-fish).
Orange soil, i like it initially but stay away after my shrimp show poor color on it, maybe oldman eyes no good.
Add new soil to existing tank, tricky abit, cos it will cloud the water, and if your tank filter is new, more problem cos need long cycle.

TSarrow
post Oct 10 2013, 12:11 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(naoki666 @ Oct 9 2013, 09:30 PM)

A bit off, i'm trying to setup a aquarium for shrimp, does this look strong to you for 10 years? 2x1x1 feet aquarium. The welding looks ok but i'm not sure any one have bad experience with it...
Look ok, if you afraid, don't keep expensive shrimp in it , just normal cherry and some fire red. If not for peace of mind, get a new bigger one eheheh.

This post has been edited by arrow: Oct 10 2013, 12:12 AM
TSarrow
post Oct 10 2013, 12:20 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 9 2013, 02:58 PM)
So far my fire red, yellow and blue velvet shows good colour in this soil colour.

But I have sponge filter in Malaya tank..so how to cycle water? I would need to take out the shrimp 1st, add soil and add on shrimp again later?
aiya, got old filter ? if yes more easy else follow the long journey.
If you put in soil , shrimp must take out. Siphon all water out, put in your sparky orange soil(if you have additives , put some at the bare bottom first)
Slowly fill up with water and start your tank cycle.
Think ADA Africana even induce even low ph then amazonia.

TSarrow
post Oct 10 2013, 01:21 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 10 2013, 11:00 AM)
Oh what happend to your previous 2 batches?
hahah. his tank water set to the top brim, some jumped out for green pastures on the floor.
also cos they nice looking esp in planted tank on green background, their color really stand out.
TSarrow
post Oct 10 2013, 10:46 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(youliang @ Oct 10 2013, 10:37 PM)
what color does the baby fire red have actually? I have one baby shrimp about 5mm long, looks gray in colour to me
Gor picture? 5mm still tiny. Could be a male.
TSarrow
post Oct 11 2013, 10:20 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 11 2013, 10:02 AM)
Got some protein buildup and squashed a planaria and a seed shrimp on a cycling tank. Is that a good or bad sign?

Planaria is bad , many more must be inside.

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0500sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:32 PM