96 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

TSarrow
post Oct 9 2013, 12:00 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 9 2013, 10:53 AM)
The water seems to be in good shape. No ammonia or nitrite. Normal nitrate. TDS stable for long time at ~183.. same with ph, gh and kh.

I moved the tank to a corner since I got the new tank and it seems that the shrimps were more active when ignored. It's one of the rare occasion when I look into the tank and saw it happen.
got No3 nitrate!!, seem like cycled unless your tap water full of nitrate in the first place, you dose alot of bacteria powder/liquid or
borrow old filter media?
sniper on the roof
post Oct 9 2013, 12:10 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 9 2013, 12:00 PM)
got No3 nitrate!!, seem like cycled unless your tap water full of nitrate in the first place, you dose alot of bacteria powder/liquid or
borrow old filter media?
I meant the old tank lah... new tank still have now fauna.

Growing BB and moss now.
lily64my
post Oct 9 2013, 12:13 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 9 2013, 12:30 AM)
Agreed. A lesson learnt for me back then as I didn't do that much wc...hence algae attack was crazy. Well, guess sometimes we just have to learn it the hard way sad.gif

Just thankful it turn out for the better now...that both plants and shrimps are doing ok. Although hoping no time bomb since I've got some air pockets in the soil.
My Malayans are diggers...they really know how to dig around searching for food. So perhaps it's good to have soil for them to dig around. A more natural environment for them I guess.

By the way...what's the orange soil you're referring to?
Nice tank you got there bro. What's that black bag hanging at the back of the tank?
ADA Africana. I have one tank with that soil. Oh dear, how to add the soil now to the malaya tank? shrimp already in the tank (cycled tank ex-fish).

This post has been edited by lily64my: Oct 9 2013, 12:13 PM
TSarrow
post Oct 9 2013, 12:14 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 9 2013, 12:10 PM)
I meant the old tank lah... new tank still have now fauna.

Growing BB and moss now.
oic, anyway for the new tank, beside checking for ammonia, after 3days can also check for nitrite.
Some of the tank i setup with old filter, it jump to stage 2 cycle after 2~3days.
TSarrow
post Oct 9 2013, 12:21 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 9 2013, 12:13 PM)
ADA Africana. I have one tank with that soil. Oh dear, how to add the soil now to the malaya tank? shrimp already in the tank (cycled tank ex-fish).
Orange soil, i like it initially but stay away after my shrimp show poor color on it, maybe oldman eyes no good.
Add new soil to existing tank, tricky abit, cos it will cloud the water, and if your tank filter is new, more problem cos need long cycle.

sniper on the roof
post Oct 9 2013, 01:18 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 9 2013, 12:14 PM)
oic, anyway for the new tank, beside checking for ammonia, after 3days can also check for nitrite.
Some of the tank i setup with old filter, it jump to stage 2 cycle after 2~3days.
Btw.... I'm seeing some tiny bubbles on the water surface now on the new tank. Something is decomposing smile.gif

lily64my
post Oct 9 2013, 02:32 PM

132 posts

I would like to share picture here but somehow cannot download using normal practise.
lily64my
post Oct 9 2013, 02:58 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 9 2013, 12:21 PM)
Orange soil, i like it initially but stay away after my shrimp show poor color on it, maybe oldman eyes no good.
Add new soil to existing tank, tricky abit, cos it will cloud the water, and if your tank filter is new, more problem cos need long cycle.
So far my fire red, yellow and blue velvet shows good colour in this soil colour.

But I have sponge filter in Malaya tank..so how to cycle water? I would need to take out the shrimp 1st, add soil and add on shrimp again later?
sniper on the roof
post Oct 9 2013, 02:58 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 9 2013, 02:32 PM)
I would like to share picture here but somehow cannot download using normal practise.
Just open a free flickr account... www.flickr.com

Upload your photos

Copy and paste into the forum as per pic below. You get much better quality photos, don't load the lowyat servers and don't even need to resize.

naoki666
post Oct 9 2013, 09:30 PM

52 posts

A bit off, i'm trying to setup a aquarium for shrimp, does this look strong to you for 10 years? 2x1x1 feet aquarium. The welding looks ok but i'm not sure any one have bad experience with it...

This post has been edited by naoki666: Oct 9 2013, 09:32 PM
khfoong81
post Oct 9 2013, 11:36 PM

66 posts

Just got my Malaya shrimps today from arrow. Very nice guy and guide me from A-Z.
All the shrimps changed colour within 5 minutes inside my new setup tank. Seems look healthy rclxms.gif

-kytz-
post Oct 9 2013, 11:42 PM

12,573 posts

I got my 3rd batch of Malayan shrimps from arrow too! This time it's 20 smile.gif
khfoong81
post Oct 9 2013, 11:48 PM

66 posts

Wow, then you tank full of Malaya shrimps then. I got 20 tails too. They like my Java Moss, feed them with ketapang leaf also "not layan"
TSarrow
post Oct 10 2013, 12:11 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(naoki666 @ Oct 9 2013, 09:30 PM)

A bit off, i'm trying to setup a aquarium for shrimp, does this look strong to you for 10 years? 2x1x1 feet aquarium. The welding looks ok but i'm not sure any one have bad experience with it...
Look ok, if you afraid, don't keep expensive shrimp in it , just normal cherry and some fire red. If not for peace of mind, get a new bigger one eheheh.

This post has been edited by arrow: Oct 10 2013, 12:12 AM
TSarrow
post Oct 10 2013, 12:20 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 9 2013, 02:58 PM)
So far my fire red, yellow and blue velvet shows good colour in this soil colour.

But I have sponge filter in Malaya tank..so how to cycle water? I would need to take out the shrimp 1st, add soil and add on shrimp again later?
aiya, got old filter ? if yes more easy else follow the long journey.
If you put in soil , shrimp must take out. Siphon all water out, put in your sparky orange soil(if you have additives , put some at the bare bottom first)
Slowly fill up with water and start your tank cycle.
Think ADA Africana even induce even low ph then amazonia.

lily64my
post Oct 10 2013, 11:00 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 9 2013, 11:42 PM)
I got my 3rd batch of Malayan shrimps from arrow too! This time it's 20 smile.gif
Oh what happend to your previous 2 batches?
TSarrow
post Oct 10 2013, 01:21 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 10 2013, 11:00 AM)
Oh what happend to your previous 2 batches?
hahah. his tank water set to the top brim, some jumped out for green pastures on the floor.
also cos they nice looking esp in planted tank on green background, their color really stand out.
lily64my
post Oct 10 2013, 03:37 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 9 2013, 02:58 PM)
Just open a free flickr account... www.flickr.com

Upload your photos

Copy and paste into the forum as per pic below. You get much better quality photos, don't load the lowyat servers and don't even need to resize.

Not successful...
naoki666
post Oct 10 2013, 08:25 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 10 2013, 12:11 AM)
Look ok, if you afraid, don't keep expensive shrimp in it , just normal cherry and some fire red. If not for peace of mind, get a new bigger one eheheh.
Thanks for the info
youliang
post Oct 10 2013, 10:37 PM

Aficionado
1,178 posts

what color does the baby fire red have actually? I have one baby shrimp about 5mm long, looks gray in colour to me

96 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:01 PM