The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

lily64my
post Oct 7 2014, 02:14 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Oct 3 2014, 09:51 AM)
Hi eolith,
Welcome. I'm also looking for CRS SS grade. I know that Aquatics International is in stock for CRS Grade B now. So if you're okay with that, you can try to pay them a visit.
For online, I managed to find on lelong http://www.lelong.com.my/merchant/Aquashop.htm
If anyone knows where to Grade SS CRS is in stock now, please do respond too. I'm in PJ area.
Much appreciated.

Try Mr Park at here https://www.facebook.com/ShrimpFriendsMalaysian. U can contact him at 013 6168189. He is very helpful.
lily64my
post Oct 7 2014, 02:15 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(calvinyoon @ Oct 7 2014, 09:29 AM)
they do retail sale too?
Yes they do.
lily64my
post Oct 7 2014, 02:16 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(davido @ Oct 1 2014, 02:51 PM)
You can check out lelong. There is a shop that provides the stuffs that you need for a shrimp tank. Look under Package.
http://aquashop.lelong.my/

It does not include the tank, pump, lights, or plants or shrimp. But it does tell you what kind of price to expect for the substrate and how to start.
Try this https://www.facebook.com/ShrimpFriendsMalaysian
lily64my
post Oct 7 2014, 02:17 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(iOnine @ Sep 30 2014, 05:20 PM)
where can i get a full complete small/medium aquarium with shrimps in it?
estimate price range?
Should try this https://www.facebook.com/ShrimpFriendsMalaysian
eolith
post Oct 8 2014, 01:41 AM

Any advise to quickly turn down NO3 in tank? I'm hitting NO3 in high ppm recently... need advise.
jirochl
post Oct 8 2014, 01:50 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(eolith @ Oct 8 2014, 01:41 AM)
Any advise to quickly turn down NO3 in tank? I'm hitting NO3 in high ppm recently... need advise.
What's your nitrate level? Can do water change until desirable level.. Or use products like Mosura Denitro.. More plants and less feeding will help.. Try putting some floating plants like frogbits or salvinia minima to absorb the nitrates.

This post has been edited by jirochl: Oct 8 2014, 01:53 AM
TSarrow
post Oct 8 2014, 10:44 AM

53 posts

No3 is normal for new tank, as jiro said, water change is proven way to reduce, how high the no3? More than 40ppm?
Else encourage more hair algae , my 3ft sulawesi tank full of hair algae no3 around 5ppm.but I never feed them only dose Bacter ae.
davido
post Oct 8 2014, 11:43 AM

36 posts

You didn't mention whether new or established tank. If new tank, water changes to reduce NO3.
If old tank, the usual WC and you might want to check/wash your filter for decaying matter.

eolith
post Oct 8 2014, 01:26 PM

Thanks for all the guidance... Just had my tank cycled about 2 months and now with live stock crs and cbs... However cbs is carrying eggs... Just notice nitrate in pass few days, a very high ppm. Shall I proceed with daily water change?

This post has been edited by eolith: Oct 8 2014, 03:06 PM
davido
post Oct 8 2014, 05:18 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(eolith @ Oct 8 2014, 01:26 PM)
Thanks for all the guidance... Just had my tank cycled about 2 months and now with live stock crs and cbs... However cbs is carrying eggs... Just notice nitrate in pass few days, a very high ppm. Shall I proceed  with daily water change?
2 months should be okay. I would wash the filter and do a WC to bring down nitrates to below 20ppm.

Careful when washing the filter - use treated water so you don't kill the good bacteria.

This post has been edited by davido: Oct 8 2014, 05:19 PM
bluecoat
post Oct 19 2014, 12:20 AM

307 posts

is shrimp tank recommend put salt for every water change ?
bluecoat
post Oct 19 2014, 12:21 AM

307 posts

TSarrow
post Oct 19 2014, 01:00 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(bluecoat @ Oct 19 2014, 12:21 AM)
No, what kind of salt ? We don't put any.
bluecoat
post Oct 19 2014, 01:34 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 19 2014, 01:00 AM)
No, what kind of salt ? We don't put any.
it just a normal salt see at fish shop. it is rm3 . I also didn't use. but I just aware salt is use to increase tds. after I put salt to my fish tank. it really increase from 60 to 200
falxon88
post Nov 3 2014, 10:23 PM

45 posts

Hello sifus! I just checked my tank water parameter and the readings are as below:

Ammonia = 0
Nitrite = 0
Nitrate = 5
PH = seems to be in between 6.0~6.5 (JBL liquid)
GH = 6
TDS = 180

I have some crushed coral in filter. Do I need to worry about the low PH? I had few cherry shrimps dead earlier, nto sure what was the cause though..
whitehawk
post Nov 4 2014, 11:09 AM

QUOTE(falxon88 @ Nov 3 2014, 10:23 PM)
Hello sifus! I just checked my tank water parameter and the readings are as below:

Ammonia = 0
Nitrite      = 0
Nitrate    = 5
PH          = seems to be in between 6.0~6.5 (JBL liquid)
GH          = 6
TDS        = 180

I have some crushed coral in filter. Do I need to worry about the low PH? I had few cherry shrimps dead earlier, nto sure what was the cause though..
i also have problem like mr falxon. my ph too low. if i add crush coral the tds will increase too high. any other method we can use to increse the ph to 7...
jirochl
post Nov 4 2014, 12:45 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(falxon88 @ Nov 3 2014, 10:23 PM)

Ammonia = 0
Nitrite      = 0
Nitrate    = 5
PH          = seems to be in between 6.0~6.5 (JBL liquid)
GH          = 6
TDS        = 180

Hi bro, if I were you I would get a PH test pen to verify the PH first. If you're using liquid tester like API, it may not be able to detect anything less than 6. Although cherry is quite hardy, they don't really do well in low PH. Just my 2 cents.

Of course, it could be many other reasons though.
falxon88
post Nov 4 2014, 01:50 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(jirochl @ Nov 4 2014, 12:45 PM)
Hi bro, if I were you I would get a PH test pen to verify the PH first. If you're using liquid tester like API, it may not be able to detect anything less than 6. Although cherry is quite hardy, they don't really do well in low PH. Just my 2 cents.

Of course, it could be many other reasons though.
I do have a PH pen but the reading is diff than the liquid one haha! Any idea where can I get the calibration powder for PH pen? I used up the original one that comes with it.

I am trying to keep PH 6.8~7.0 but can't add more corals as I don't want to increase GH anymore... Hmm, guess I'll do small wc daily with RO water and see how it goes. hmm.gif
jirochl
post Nov 4 2014, 02:13 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(falxon88 @ Nov 4 2014, 01:50 PM)
I do have a PH pen but the reading is diff than the liquid one haha! Any idea where can I get the calibration powder for PH pen? I used up the original one that comes with it.

I am trying to keep PH 6.8~7.0 but can't add more corals as I don't want to increase GH anymore... Hmm, guess I'll do small wc daily with RO water and see how it goes.  hmm.gif
You can get the calibration solution ph7 (liquid) from 88petsmart or some fish shop may help you order them if you ask. If you're using RO, use inert substrates and remineralize with salty shrimp gh/kh + and save you all your trouble.
falxon88
post Nov 4 2014, 02:33 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(jirochl @ Nov 4 2014, 02:13 PM)
You can get the calibration solution ph7 (liquid) from 88petsmart or some fish shop may help you order them if you ask. If you're using RO, use inert substrates and remineralize with salty shrimp gh/kh + and save you all your trouble.
Roger that. Thanks for sharing!

96 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:07 PM