Recommendation for Credit Cards V2, Please post according to Format stated.

kelvinlzy
post May 17 2014, 09:26 AM

2,493 posts

QUOTE(rockstar81 @ May 14 2014, 02:07 PM)
Thanks for the link sifu. Didnt notice it earlier...

I thought since this is a recommendation thread I would share what I read on iMoney today. May consider applying this one for points and petrol rebate.

However, if SCB continues with the travel promo, I'm more inclined to collect BIG points with SCB. More likely I will get back more value in the long run. I saved almost 1.5k on my tix to melbourne. I shared my redemption in this link https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2991135/

If SCB stops the promo, I can change the points to enrich and start using the RHB  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Please note that there is hidden TnC of petrol rebate for the RHB Travel Money as it is not calculated directly from your petrol spending. It also depends on your overall spending. http://www.rhb.com.my/cards/credit-card/pd...C-Insurance.pdf
kelvinlzy
post May 19 2014, 08:05 PM

2,493 posts

QUOTE(rockstar81 @ May 19 2014, 06:23 PM)
Let me get this straight cos it's a bit tricky.

Maximum cashback is RM60 and should only be 20% of my RETAIL spend amount. Which means minimum i need to spend is RM300 on RETAIL items for a possibility of getting any cashback.

Then, i will get 5% cashback on first weekend of month, subsequently 2% on all other days. So if I spend 60 per week on petrol, i potentially get back is about RM6.60 a month.

I have a few question:-
- what is retail spend? If i put monthly insurance payment on card does it count? what about my astro, tnb, water bill?
- do i still get points on petrol AND cashback at the same time?

If they allow all my usual monthly bills and insurance to be counted in card spend, then i guess no issue to hit the minimum spend amount to qualify for petrol cashback

If they give points and petrol cashback, it wont be much but it's still better than nothing. More like bonus.

Then the other concern is the miles conversion to flights. I wonder if enrich is competitive like airasia. Maybe some sifu here can share...
Nope. The calculation for cashback is like this:

Assuming X = Total monthly spend including petrol
Y = 20% of X
P = Total monthly spend for petrol ONLY

For example, if your total monthly spend is RM500 including petrol, Y would be RM100. Let's say you pump petrol at first weekend at RM50 and second weekend RM60, therefore to calculate your cashback:

Cashback = Y/P x [(RM50 x 5%) + (RM60 x 2%)]
= [RM100 x / (RM50+RM60)] x (RM2.50+RM1.20)
= RM3.36 ONLY!

If you think your cashback would be RM3.70, think again. So in conclusion, always make sure that your petrol spending is exactly 20% of your total montly spend or less, so you will get the full amount of cashback. In case you are wondering, if Y/P is more than 1, it is still considered as 1. So it is indeed a very tricky card to use.

As for your questions, yes all the above you have mentioned are retail transactions whereby you swipe the card whether through the merchants' terminal or online terminal. Secondly, no reward points will be given for petrol transaction, only cashback. For miles conversion I am not that sure though. But for RHB Travel Money, 3.5 points can convert to 1 Enrich mile, which is not the best rate, but still a good one though.

This post has been edited by kelvinlzy: May 19 2014, 08:11 PM
kelvinlzy
post May 20 2014, 12:25 PM

2,493 posts

QUOTE(rockstar81 @ May 20 2014, 12:10 PM)
Thanks Kelvin. Their promise isnt exactly misleading - just difficult to 'manage'. Have to be wise to make full use of cards cashback and points.

I guess I'll just stick with my SCB worldmiles and accumulate points there. Simpler to just collect points and blow it all on a trip.

Or maybe i just apply one spare RHB card. Just in case. Hehehe...  tongue.gif
I guess what you said is true. Speaking of which, my gf's cashback for RHB Travel Money was credited just now. For the first time in 6 month she finally gotten her supposed cashback doh.gif

RHB CC is also good for balance transfer as they always have 0% bt promotion, which you can consider as well.
kelvinlzy
post Mar 19 2015, 12:28 PM

2,493 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 16 2015, 04:14 PM)
I believe you were rejected on other grounds. You may google but the actual BNM ruling is as below.
note the sentence mentions CC issuers NOT credit cards. Maybank2Card IS 2 credit cards. the word 'considered' is not necessary.

PS: HLB Essential actually requires 30k min income.

PPS: Also given how HLB Wise card and Aeon Watami card works, it's actually not meant for those lower wage earners like me tongue.gif and probably the other person too.
OT: I refer to HLB website that Essential requires only RM24k annual income?
https://www.hlb.com.my/main/personal/compare-cards
kelvinlzy
post May 19 2015, 11:27 AM

2,493 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ May 19 2015, 10:27 AM)
Sorry. Income about 36k to around 60k. Only want to use for travel or weekday spend or merchant not accept Amex. Main is holiday travel once or twice a year la cos maybank2 card not have the benefit.

Oh haha the ic no can't change liao right? No choice
First time saw IC number with 1234 as last 4 digit tongue.gif
kelvinlzy
post Jun 2 2015, 12:19 PM

2,493 posts

Just to point out that all my transactions at restaurants/dining outlets are considered as DINING.
kelvinlzy
post Jun 2 2015, 01:21 PM

2,493 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jun 2 2015, 12:56 PM)
which card is this ?
Oops, have been browsing through too many threads rclxub.gif , this is HLB Mach btw..
kelvinlzy
post Jun 2 2015, 03:03 PM

2,493 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Jun 2 2015, 02:43 PM)
wah, kfc tesco kepong accept cc payment!  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(kelvinlzy @ May 29 2015, 03:50 PM)
KFC inside Kepong Village Mall still accepts CC. I tried today, but need manager swipe her security card on the machine first only can proceed, I wonder why hmm.gif
QUOTE(victorywp @ May 29 2015, 05:56 PM)
yeah, i went to one kfc at shah alam also the same. the staff need to get her manager to swipe the card first to proceed. but the second time i went, another staff just said cannot use cc.
Uncle Victor you replied to me already wo...haha laugh.gif
kelvinlzy
post Jun 2 2015, 03:03 PM

2,493 posts

double post~

This post has been edited by kelvinlzy: Jun 2 2015, 03:15 PM
kelvinlzy
post Jun 2 2015, 03:16 PM

2,493 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Jun 2 2015, 03:06 PM)
eh, i replied you that one is at tesco kepong??? how come i don't remember???  doh.gif

ok, i also want to say this... you also replied me already wor (but both at 3:03pm). lol...
Dang it. Looks like this curse is revolving around both of us..the same thing happened to us before lol..

0.0452sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:47 AM