Tyre Price List and Discussion [V4]

6UE5T
post Jun 3 2015, 11:37 PM

1,704 posts

Anyone knows where/who sells complete Japan imported Dunlop Sport Maxx RT around Klang Valley?
6UE5T
post Jun 9 2015, 12:05 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(sw1314 @ Apr 24 2015, 12:38 AM)
Hi all.. Can share the feedback between gt radial hpy and goodyear f1 a5?
http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Article/2013-...r-Tyre-Test.htm

QUOTE(senscents @ Apr 24 2015, 06:28 PM)
Any recommendations for Tyre Size size215/50/17.
Require Good handling/performance in both dry & wet, comfort/ nvh to be good in a long run.
Driving style, 70%Normal Driving (City70%, Highway 30%), 30% occasional fast driving & cornering on highway(10%).
Which is the best of thiese two Advan sport v105 vs Goodyear Assy 2, in terms of Preformance/handling and comfort/noise?
Both v105 & F1A2 do not have size 215/50/R17. For Yokohama you can only have S.Drive while for GY you can have F1D5 which I'm using now. The F1D5 is pretty good in the dry & wet but a bit noisy. Better option might be the Michelin PS3.

QUOTE(BlackForce @ Apr 28 2015, 02:34 AM)
Hi sifus, im planning to change my tyres soon.
My budget around 1.3k to 1.6k
Aggressive driver, must be quiet tyre (currently using CC5 and it sucks), high speed driver (140-200km/h)
the size is 205/55/r16
Michelin PS3.
6UE5T
post Aug 11 2015, 09:04 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kllee1983 @ Aug 10 2015, 04:26 PM)
Hi Sifus,

I just bought a tyre HANKOOK H308 KINERGY EX, but cannot see the Manufacturing Date/DOT information.. is it because the tyre installed wrong side that the side display DOT information is facing inside?

Does it affects anything if installed wrong side?

Your tire is symmetrical pattern so there's no inside/outside/wrong side installation. If you buy asymmetrical tire pattern then it has to be installed as per the proper outside/inside orientation (for example Michelin PS3 or Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 2)
6UE5T
post Aug 14 2015, 01:36 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kllee1983 @ Aug 13 2015, 01:40 PM)
Thanks 6UE5T. Because i can't tell if the tyre is asymmetrical or symmetrical so i ask.

Btw, is it true DOT is printed on 1 side of the tyre only?
Just look at the tire pattern and you can see it's the same between left and right side so it's symmetrical. Compared that to the F1 Asymmetric 2 and you'll notice the difference easily.

Yes often like that.
6UE5T
post Oct 29 2015, 10:26 PM

1,704 posts

225/50R17
Continental MC5- RM445 Soon Heng Tyre & Car Services, Tanjung Malim (Oct 15)
Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin RE003 - RM512 (GST+B Inclusive) online store - mytayar.com @ Klang Valley (Oct 15)
Falken FK453(MADE IN JPN) - RM445 Excellent Speed Sdn Bhd (Kepong) (Apr-14)
Falken PT722 - RM340 Excellent Speed Sdn Bhd (Kepong) (Apr-14)
Goodyear Excellence - RM422.94 (GST+V+B+A inclusive) online store - mytayar.com @ Klang Valley (Oct 15)
Nexen N8000 - RM430 Quicksave USJ (Sep-13)
Yokohama Advan dB V551 - RM550 Top Hill Auto Service Setia Alam (Apr-14)
Yokohama C-Drive 2 - RM390 Top Hill Auto Service Setia Alam (Apr-14)
Continental CSC5 - rm500 all inclusive (GST, Balancing, Alignment), Top Hill Auto Setia Alam. (Oct 15).

245/45/17
Continental CSC3 - rm600 all inclusive (GST, Balancing, Alignment), Top Hill Auto Setia Alam. (Oct 15).

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Oct 29 2015, 10:27 PM
6UE5T
post Nov 18 2015, 03:50 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Nov 11 2015, 01:26 PM)
can i know where is top hill tyre shop?
Top Hill Auto Setia Alam.
6UE5T
post Nov 18 2015, 06:04 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Nov 18 2015, 05:50 PM)
does anyone know where can i find the 225/45/17 rm 400? i have been searching everywhere for this tyre and i couldnt find any stock. thank you if anyone can help.
Which tyre exactly? RE003?
6UE5T
post Dec 1 2015, 01:14 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Dec 1 2015, 12:20 AM)
Sudah highlight no my size ( 195/55/15 )

sweat.gif
PS3, RE003, F1-D5, Hankook V12 Evo2, all much better than T1R.
6UE5T
post Dec 9 2015, 08:34 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(spadecrew @ Dec 9 2015, 08:16 PM)
Anybody know the price for 205/45/17 Bridgestone re003 and falken ze914....which one better?
Not sure of exact price but should be less than rm400. No doubt RE003 is much better than ZE914 as it's higher performance category while ZE914 is low-mid range tire only. The only positive of the ZE914 against RE003 are the ZE914 should last longer and price much cheaper.
6UE5T
post Dec 10 2015, 10:30 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(BestWorker8-5pm @ Dec 9 2015, 07:02 AM)
How much for the 225/45/17 good year F1 A2? Any idea & user experience? I use to used PS3, wanna try smthg new..
QUOTE(leehernandez @ Dec 9 2015, 01:12 PM)
rm 530 in puchong.
grippy tyres but wear quite fast.comfort too.
F1A2 is a very good tire, comparable or might be even better than PS3 when new.
It should last at least 40-50k km with normal driving and regular tire rotation (say 10-20k km per rotation).
6UE5T
post Dec 17 2015, 01:20 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ZeroHavoc @ Dec 17 2015, 01:04 AM)
hye guys quick question here

currently im using 215/45 r17 size tyre, can i use 225/45(wider) size instead?

will it affect my speedo reading/mpg

thanks  icon_rolleyes.gif
Well what's your car in the first place, and what's the original tire size? Or is 215/45/R17 the original standard size for that car?
Btw 225/45 is not just wider by 1 cm but also about 0.8 cm bigger in diameter coz the sidewall is about 0.4 cm thicker/taller too (215/45 = 9.7cm sidewall vs 225/45 = 10.1 cm sidewall). So your speed will be higher by 1.26% for the same engine rpm. Fuel consumption will be impacted as well but pretty negligible.

You can use tire calculator/conversion such as this to compare:
http://www.sizemytires.com/calculators/com...CFawB4godjEMAuw
6UE5T
post Dec 17 2015, 08:42 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ZeroHavoc @ Dec 17 2015, 10:34 AM)
im using preve, standard tyre size was 205/55 16. The shop recommend 215/45 when i upgrade to 17inch.

Thanks for the link really useful  thumbup.gif
Then by using that calculator link, you can see that both 215/45/17 and 225/45/17 are still fine to replace your original 205/55/16. Between the 2, 225/45/17 is better coz more comfort and wider footprint for better grip, so I suggest you to change to 225/45/17 instead.

QUOTE(petra34 @ Dec 17 2015, 11:49 AM)
Guys,

need some advice on  the tyre life span . i am toyota camry 2.0G (2012) owner. Purchased car on the Jan/13. My tyre change as below.Car is being usage in everyday basis of 30km perday. In average my tyre lifespan that i am getting is around 1 1/2 years. could it be because camry is heavy?
Stock Brdgestone Turanza<215/60R >  -  Jan/2013 - August/2014  - <1 year 7 mths>
1st set Brdgestone Turanza<215/60R > -  August/2014 - till current - <1yr 4 mths>
Do you drive very aggressively? Coz I'm driving the same size but a much more powerful car than yours without any TRC/VSC, drive about 40km a day (which is 10km more than you), often corner a bit fast, using softer high performance tires than the Turanza (I was using Goodyear F1), and yet my tires can last over 50k km (3.5yrs)!

QUOTE(arcdex @ Dec 17 2015, 12:41 PM)
Michelin PS3 195/55/15  quoted RM235 including balancing
Is it reasonable ? or any other shop to recommend?
Seems ok, some places might be cheaper by rm10-20 but not much.
Maybe try call OS Autocare in Subang if you live around Klang Valley.
6UE5T
post Dec 18 2015, 02:09 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(petra34 @ Dec 18 2015, 10:04 AM)
No chief, I am not a very aggressive driver actually, i dont know if any other Camry 2012 users facing the same, but I have heard that one of my friend who is driving toyota altis 2012 has been having fast thread wear issue, and when, not sure if this is gotto do with the new toyota wheel issue.
Should not be. I know many people who own Camry and their tires last much longer/more normal. I'm actually also driving a Toyota D-Segment sedan even though not a Camry. I suspect either:
1. You drive very aggressively and/or
2. Wheels not properly aligned and/or
3. You never checked your tire pressures regularly and/or
4. You never rotate your tires regularly (at least every 20k km) and/or
5. Something wrong with your suspension which eats up your tires fast (maybe broken absorbers, worn out joints/links/bushings/bend arms etc2).

BS Turanza normally should last at least 40-50k km.

6UE5T
post Jan 5 2016, 07:32 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ Jan 5 2016, 07:22 PM)
Any one use Commax tyre before? Asking the shop nearby my house no long selling Continental, only selling Commax or Toyo.
Never heard before. Then just find other shops.
6UE5T
post Jan 5 2016, 07:45 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(vanguard @ Jan 4 2016, 11:22 AM)
Just sharing my experience with Silverstone Synergy M5 215/45/R17. Came with my car when I bought it from previous owner, had changed just 4 months before, so I stuck with it.

Previous owner changed in Dec 2013, tyre mfg date is Mar2013. 1 cracked side wall, 1 bubble tyre, 1 puncture, 1 almost cracked side wall. Here are the pics:
http://pho.to/9y3Qj

yesterday changed to Hankook Ventus2 Concept2. RM250 each at Eneos, compared to 300+ at tyre shops. Was choice between that and Dunlop Formula D05 at same price, but Dunlop no stock so went for Kooks as I dont wanna wait until all my Sh*tstone Synergy letup.

Info:
www.autoexpress.co.uk/accessories-tyres/91870/tyre-test-2015-results-by-category

www.autoexpress.co.uk/accessories-tyres/91862/hankook-ventus-evo-2-review

www.hankooktire.com/global/tires-services/passenger-cars-tires/hankook-ventus-v2-concept-2-h457.html

Obviously no comment as yet on the kooks, a wee bit noisy, but to go from ultra-crap Sstone to this is like moving light years!

TL;DR: I don't know why Silverstone is allowed to be in the market. They literally endangered my life. All the reviews I've read are crap.

Specs for kooks V2C2: 215/45/R17 87 V.

Another interesting read:http://www.tyrepress.com/2015/03/tyre-test-results-mock-european-label-ratings/
Seems like no one can come up with proper methodology for tyre ratings. Always anecdotal; yea seems quieter, yea seems faster, yea cornering seems better. Give me data or nothing, bro. The above AutoExpress review was reasonable, I see its well quoted here. Conti still wins, but Kooks not bad price to performance value.
Yup, Hankook has been getting good reviews and seem to be the best value for money. I was looking for those as well few months back (particularly the V12 Evo 2 & S1 Evo 2) but did not have my sizes hence bought the CSC5.
6UE5T
post Jan 21 2016, 04:50 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(richbottles @ Jan 13 2016, 10:01 AM)
Hello sifus sifus here, may I ask which workshops provides reliable and reasonable price in klang valley?

Tyre size 225/50/R17 (might op change to non-rft, after some research)
This is my first time to change tyre for my BMW F30.

hope someone kind enough to share some contact or experience with me.

Thanks in advance.
Few choices:
1. Continental CSC5 imported from Europe (can be from a few countries, not the local MC5). About 4-5mths ago I bought exactly this same tire and size for rm500 all inclusive at Top Hill Auto, Setia Alam. This is Continental top line high performance tire, excellent grip in the dry and wet, good aquaplanning resistance (even though maybe not as good as Michelin PS3), good comfort and reasonable noise level.
2. Michelin PS3, last time I was quoted rm500 plus GST 6% from OS Autocare in Shah Alam. One of the best all rounder tire, probably just a tad below the CSC5 overall performance but the best in aquaplanning.
3. Bridgestone RE003, last time should be around rm450 plus 6% GST for this size but it was out of stock, not sure now. New tire, only introduced in the early 2015, seems to have very good reviews from many users already and good value for money for the price (if it's still not yet increased).
4. Hankook V12 Evo2, but not sure if already available in Malaysia market for this size. If available should also be very good value for money as this is also an excellent tire based on many reviews competing against the likes of CSC5 & PS3 but cheaper.

QUOTE(EurowayTyre @ Jan 20 2016, 12:43 PM)
225/50 R17 Continental RM 420 including balancing and tube. Alignment Free when change 4 pcs. Price subjected to 6% GST.
Located at Puchong
Check out www.facebook.com/EurowayTyre
I assume this is the MC5, right?e
6UE5T
post Jan 21 2016, 04:53 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(azriruslan @ Jan 21 2016, 04:17 PM)
Guys, got any recommendation for 195/55/R15? Need to change them tomorrow.
Michelin PS3
Bridgestone RE003
Goodyear F1-D5
Hankook V12 Evo2
6UE5T
post Jan 25 2016, 02:11 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Jan 23 2016, 10:23 PM)
Any price for this size for the above brands?
For 195/55/15? You need to check with tire shops but the most expensive is the PS3 and it's around rm230-250/tire. The rest are cheaper, maybe around rm200/tire.

QUOTE(Jimmy331986 @ Jan 23 2016, 11:36 PM)
Guys. Im currently using goodyear eagle f1 205 50 16. Going to change in few days time. Any recommendation? Xm2 mc5 or which u think can go for comfortable and reasonable price. Tq
Stay with the F1 again as it's much better than XM2 or MC5, or go for PS3 instead.

QUOTE(smartly @ Jan 24 2016, 10:08 PM)
215/45R17 Continental i got it for RM180 !!!

Is this brand okay ?
The brand is ok as it's a popular premium tire brand but still depends on the type/model. If the lower end range (which I suspect it is based on such low price) then not good also. Which model is it btw?
6UE5T
post Jan 25 2016, 03:20 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(smartly @ Jan 25 2016, 01:53 PM)
Radar Verenti R6 - P215/45R17XL 91W BW - All Season Tire

this is exactly what i have after checking the tire profile.
what is yr review on this ?
btw it is made in Indonesia.
Never heard of it, must be some cheapo crappy tire then, better avoid.
6UE5T
post Jan 30 2016, 11:58 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Partyban @ Jan 29 2016, 07:01 PM)
Hi guys,

Appreciate any recommendation for the following tyres sizes:

1. 225/45/17
2. 255/45/17

Currently on Archilles ATR Sport recommended by a friend. It isn't too bad but just after a year now the insides of the tyre are badly worned out.

Previously was on Continental CS3..
Are you using staggered sizes? If so your rear is a bit too tall compared to the front, should be 255/40/17. Then you can use GT Radial HPY if you want budget tire but still good. Or you can go back to using Continental CSC5 or CSC3, which ever has that rear size (coz 255 width is not that common for 17' rims).

QUOTE(choti @ Jan 30 2016, 11:20 AM)
Unfortunately goodyear eagle f1 is not available for 16" or else i would have replaced mine with the same. Really miss the grip and consistent turning in.

Replaced with dunlop d05. Wondering if other users could update on what to look out for as i have yet to test it in the wet.
The F1-D5 actually has some sizes in 16' even 15'. Only the F1A2 starts from 17' upwards.

0.0273sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:56 PM