Proton PrevĂ© V19, Welcome our brother Suprima S

preveverp
post Oct 2 2013, 01:06 PM

QUOTE(spiritbreaker_33 @ Oct 1 2013, 02:28 PM)
bought my CFE oct 2012, lately i feel vibration (shakey) on handle whenever i take to 120km above. Some frens advise to do high speed balancing. anyone have done this? any recommendation?

Just did on-wheel (high speed) balancing 2 days ago. No problem. I also was having the same issue as you, steering vibration whenever hit exactly 120kmh and above.

Go to those shop that have the machine to spin your tire with your engine off. And gear in Neutral. (Front tires)
For Rear tires, engine off. Gear in (P). Handbrake engage.

** Don't do if they want to on your engine, jack/lift up, and use engine power to spin tire. Harmful to engine/gearbox.
preveverp
post Oct 3 2013, 12:43 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 2 2013, 06:54 PM)
For torque converters and wet-clutch, keep your engine running but in keep the gear in N, then use an external spinner to spin the tires.

If you switch of your engine, the oil in the wet clutch is not being cooled as you spin your wheels at high speed (The engine runs the CVTF pump, which cycles the CVTF and cools them). This is the very same reason why you should NEVER tow your car with the front wheels on the ground.

But, if they do try using the engine power to spin the wheels, the wheels will not spin fast enough anyway. Don't ask me why or how, according to Kristoff there seems to be some safety mechanism that prevents the engine from spinning the wheels too fast if the car is jacked up.
Sorry, abit too technical so I don't know what exactly you're trying to tell. tongue.gif

- For our simple confirmation, for Preve , does the engine need to be ON or OFF during on-wheel (high speed) balancing? -

Cause that shop did for me with engine off, and so far still ok, no problem at all.
preveverp
post Oct 6 2013, 10:59 PM

QUOTE(PrinceDongmin @ Oct 6 2013, 12:58 PM)
[attachmentid=3662524]

calling for all sifus  notworthy.gif

i am in serious dillema now whether to get a MYVI 1.3 SE or PREVE 1.6 EXECUTIVE CVT
i wont go for cfe version as it is really exceed my budget.
follow my heart  i wanted the preve because of the looks, superb handling and very spacious.
yet, by doing some research on internet many people complaining about the problem and fc.
myvi i really dont like the handling, as i drive my friend's before really felt unstable and want terbalik one, especially in corners and roundabout.
but some says u can save a lot in terms of fuel and free 3 yrs services.

as attached above, this will be my daily route to and from work, 8 to 5 or even more, cyberjaya to putrajaya(not inside putrajaya)
ppl say myvi will jimat in city driving, preve jimat in highway driving.. i dont know whether this route consider city or highway oo  cry.gif
route one way around 10km, and mostly using highway. traffic condition i could say not really as jam as kl.

my main concern is fuel and repairing cost. one full tank if can last for one week still ok for me. just tht i scare isi one full tank then thursday already zero  rclxub.gif  this is my first car so most of myauto knowledge i got from internet only.

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
QUOTE(sanadi @ Oct 6 2013, 07:08 PM)
If you are worried about FC, get Myvi. If you want driving enjoyment, don't care too much about FC and get the Preve. You can't have your cake and eat it too.

Pick which one you'd rather sacrifice. FC or driving enjoyment?
Sanadi said it.

I got the new myvi LB 1.3 in the house, bought for my family, before I sold my previous car and got Preve Exec.

If you want to zip around town fast, the myvi is a joy, and it's definitely much more fuel saving. I know cause I drive it sometimes. The feeling of driving the myvi right after the Preve exec is almost like driving a car with supercharger. Hahaha.. That's how slow BUT comfortable the Preve Exec feels.

But drive on the highway, you will hate the Myvi. I do. It's scary when u reach 120kmh. Preve Exec, you will hate start-stop driving cause u really need to be laid-back kind of person to enjoy it. For me, still ok.

In fact, I get less agitated on the road and more calm in my driving style nowadays after driving Preve.. Last time turbo car always want to race and road rage.. Probably getting old hahaha.. Good luck in making the right decision.
preveverp
post Oct 26 2013, 12:53 AM

Wondering why even when I press full throttle , the Preve just won't rev or hold the gear higher than 4000rpm? It's like, stuck at 4000rpm or something. Annoying. Feels like maximum power isn't being utilized.
preveverp
post Oct 26 2013, 11:02 PM

So means there is nothing wrong with the CVT holding the revs at 4000rpm ? Is 4000rpm the best max power/torque output already? I still finding it hard to believe.. Cause throughout all gears it holds at around 4000rpm only. I thought different gear ratios should be different shifting point?

QUOTE(ropaisoft @ Oct 26 2013, 07:55 AM)
CVT gearbox characteristic. read more on how CVT works.

switch to full manual mode if you're using CFE (slide the gear lever to the left), then you'll see it rev to 5k++.
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Oct 26 2013, 10:00 AM)
Yes... it used to protect your gearbox and engine...
what the reasons what you to maintain at 5000-6000rpm on the same speed?

the CVT allowed to rev till 5500-6000rpm before shifting considered very good enough...
unless u intentionally want to blow the engine at 8000rpm then nothing we can help...

we dont talk about the CVT issues here... NONE of modern car allowed you to rev till red line as most of ECU with rev-cut features even though you driving manual car... i guess my responds clarified your doubts...
preveverp
post Oct 27 2013, 06:16 PM

Ahh... So it peaks around 4-5k ? Ok k .. No i didn't mean i want to rev high or redline.. I just wondered if 4k rpm was the best shift point. Cause noticed the CVT held it around there whenever full throttle. Thanks for clarifying smile.gif
preveverp
post Nov 1 2013, 11:22 AM

To be honest I think DRL on Preve/Suprima is kinda tacky. Even seeing it ON all the time whenever I see a Suprima on the road just make we want to get as far away from it as fast as I can... Yeurgh. We all know the DRL's not supposed to be there, so why be a 'wannabe'?

Even the slow honda CRZ also has DRL now and it looks... Wrong.
preveverp
post Nov 2 2013, 07:48 AM

QUOTE(Strike @ Nov 1 2013, 06:17 PM)
i hate even more mercs with aftermarket LEDs. it really looks tacky laugh.gif
Exactly my point. wink.gif So many ahbengs out there with aftermarket DRL LEDs on their rides make DRL look cheap nowadays, I'll usually just turn my car away quick or look away as fast as I can. Especially the Honda CRZ which totally oozes Ahbeng Ricer-ness, even worse couple with the DRL now.
preveverp
post Nov 3 2013, 09:09 PM

QUOTE(sw1314 @ Nov 3 2013, 02:24 AM)
Hi all.. Can i ask preve exe will underpower? Is it same engine with persona or what? Hope can get answer here smile.gif
Hey sw, it's not that underpowered. smile.gif Last time I said it felt slow is because I did something wrong with a modification. After removing that mod, original power feels good enough. Personal opinion. It's comfortable enough to drive but don't expect powerful pull during spirited drive.
preveverp
post Nov 3 2013, 11:52 PM

QUOTE(sw1314 @ Nov 3 2013, 09:35 PM)
ic.. because the new preve ancap feature for exe really worth for me..

i just don't want the feeling when i press pedal but the car like cannot go..
Haha don't worry, you won't get that feeling..

0.0221sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:33 AM