Proton Prevé V19, Welcome our brother Suprima S

matS
post Oct 4 2013, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Oct 3 2013, 10:48 AM)
Any Preve Turbo owners who experience slight metal grinding sound when accelerating up a slightly inclined slope or from a toll plaza at speeds of say 20km/h to 100km/h. The sound is not really loud so if you don't pay attention you will not hear it. I"m not referring to the sound of the Turbo engine.

I don't know if this is a defect or unrefinement of the Turbo engine. Since it is a minor issue, I will only bring up this issue in the next service. Just curious if any other Preve owners experience this metal grinding sound when accelerating from standstill to about 80-100km/h.

If anyone drives a manual car before, the "metal grinding" sound is like the sound you hear when you accelerate the vehicle using 4th gear when the right gear to use is 2nd or 3rd gear.
metal grinding is not accurate.. maybe you should call it metal knocking or skrew longgar.. haha..
and yes my CFE also have this sound ..
i rather said this sound will easier to hear when mid accelarating...
your last description is very useful and understanding...
have you ask SA abut this issue??
matS
post Oct 5 2013, 10:28 AM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Oct 5 2013, 08:44 AM)
THanks for the information. Certainly useful. Yes, you are correct metal grinding sound may not be so accurate. The sound is metal/engine knocking or loose screws knocking against each other kind of sound.

May I ask how old is your Preve Turbo? Yes, it I get this sound in mid-speed acceleration anywhere from 10km/h to 100km/h. It happens around 20km/h to 90km/h at low rpms below 2000.

I have been using Petronas petrol all this while and just changed to Caltex yesterday. Looks like the sound is even louder now but will keep monitoring. Will try BHP next.
1 year ol already
last month pump up ron 97.. forget to look for this screws sound thingy..

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Oct 5 2013, 09:27 AM)
Forgot to ask. Have you brought up this matter to the guys at the service centre, particularly the large one along Kesas highway Centre of Service Excellence? I did not ask the SA (doubt he could help) but will ask the guys at the service centre to check it for me when I send the car for the next 10,000km service. I wouldn't want to waste my time going there now as this issue is a minor one. Having said that, I would be slightly disappointed if it is something that is inherent in the vehicle and cannot be rectified.
not yet.. maybe it was a small issue.. maybe next time i try to ask them
matS
post Oct 16 2013, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Oct 16 2013, 09:50 AM)
Early in the morning today finally managed to hit 180km/h on the PReve Turbo just for a short while before a vehicle in front foiled the attempt to go any faster. THe pickup from 120km/h to 180km/h seems to be quite effortless with the Turbo engine. It doesn't take long for the vehicle to climb up to 180km/h.

Anybody managed to hit 200km/h?
preve early day got no problem with that.. now, soo damn berat want to touch 200.. ecu maybe.. nobody knowssss
matS
post Oct 26 2013, 09:22 AM

QUOTE(ropaisoft @ Oct 26 2013, 07:55 AM)
CVT gearbox characteristic. read more on how CVT works.

switch to full manual mode if you're using CFE (slide the gear lever to the left), then you'll see it rev to 5k++.
yes.. and dont use paddle shifter for shifting, let the cvt change the gear for u automatically..
matS
post Oct 28 2013, 07:35 PM

QUOTE(sanadi @ Oct 27 2013, 08:30 PM)
If you press the pedal to the floor, with the updated ECU/TCU settings, the engine will rev to 5500 - 6000 rpm. You will find that you have trouble going past 180 kph.

Relax your pedal pressure and allow the engine to rev ~4500 rpm and you will find that the car speed picks up considerably. You can get 200 kph quite easily. The trick is *relaxing* pedal pressure to go faster. Counter intuitive but it works.

In the original ECU/TCU mapping where the engine will not go past 4000 rpm easily, the trick was to use S mode to accelerate to 180 kph and change to D mode to accelerate to 200 kph. Now you just control pedal pressure.
relex pedal... hmm will try this after change moneyflies.gif tyre...
currently car vibrate at 115kmh++

matS
post Nov 23 2013, 11:17 PM

QUOTE(Arndt @ Nov 22 2013, 10:09 PM)
ok now, for the 2nd time, my CVT3 went error during gear change to D at a stop. Had to restart the engine.

This is a bad sign already. Anybody faced the same issue? Just so that I am aware of what the SC should be checking.
error during gear change??
does the cvt warning light lit up or the engine dead, or the gearbox seems to feel weird?
matS
post Nov 25 2013, 02:38 PM

QUOTE(Arndt @ Nov 24 2013, 08:34 PM)
the 2nd time it happened:

1. Stop at a drive thru
2. Shift gear to N
3. Finish ordering, change to D
4. CVT warning error symbol lights up. Engine still on, car isnt movable
5. Manually turn off engine and start again

just a simple stop-start step on a very even surface and such issue happened.
better send to sc..
long time ago mine was like engine dead when change gear P to D and slowing down car to stop..
cvt warning lit up and feels extra jerkkiking..
and all problem send to sc to rectify..
now a just little problem, sometimes rpm drop super low when change gear from P to D but engine not dead. for now think its ok la
matS
post Dec 18 2013, 07:39 PM

QUOTE(nazisson @ Dec 18 2013, 04:30 PM)
better wait 2014 batch.. new batch mean there always improvements. new batch have 6 airbag rite? and many small2 improvement  sure.
maybe less percentage to face problem. and RV oso. acc not much prob, i use preve cfe for 47000km and 17months now, nor major prob, sometime gearbox sluggish/jerking when start moving. sometime overcrank after RnR when long journey thru grik-Jeli, and small prob such as steering buttons sometimes crazy, u push volume button...but fm channel change,sometime oni. some rattle sound from front door,myb something loose inside bcoz 2/3 time open doorcard panel for extra tinted and proton recall to change better power window coil spring.

thing i like about preve, u dont have to rev too high when tackle uphill thru gerik-Jeli road...bcoz torque is there. i mean normal speed for family man like me, 90-130km/h?
thing i hate, city driving..jam morning traffic. pickup is there,but come late. for me, use paddle shift put to 2nd gear,then its better during heavy traffic,start stop situation.
wah.. problem also same with me..
but here i want to give one tip for ovecranckiing...
when you notice that the car will overcrank, release brake.. then the car stop crancking..
then try start again..
usually mine take 3 times to start when overcranking occur..
and after start immediately release brake, than issue for 'push start button' appear on dashboard will not happen (maybe)..

This post has been edited by matS: Dec 18 2013, 07:42 PM
matS
post Dec 28 2013, 09:31 AM

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Dec 27 2013, 12:15 PM)
I think Executive CVT version (CamPro IAFM+) is a good deal compare to the Premium CVT version (CamPro CFE) with the recent feature upgrade??

The premium version has the turbo engine with Paddle Shifters, Build in Navigation, auto air cond, push start, auto cruise, auto wipers and tinted film… But only the auto cruise is useful, others are not so important.

The engine for CVT will be underpowered? Or engine produces more noise? Any drawback if buy Exec instead of Premium? Any idea all the sifu?
Exec CVT will underpowered, and engine need to pull more power and thus more noisy engine.. but

in my opinion of driving both type of model, (1st batch CFE model and 6 airbag Exec CVT)
at low speed in heavy traffic jam both almost feel the same, not much different, i can say here exec cvt a little bit better, maybe the acceleration responsiveness.
but accelerating above 60kph, you can start feel the different between CFE and Exec CVT (applicable for normal driving style), the CFE feel more relexing when pulling the car.
but accelerating 80kph and above, there is a wide margin between both of the car (applicable for normal driving style).
When highway driving at constant speed there is not much different (applicable for normal driving style)

but where is the function of actual CFE,
obviously when hill climb naik genting..
and one other thing when you need something
the need for speed.. cool2.gif
matS
post Dec 31 2013, 01:38 PM

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Dec 30 2013, 12:55 PM)
anyone preve experience this? suddenly the car audio, aircon suddenly stop for like split second, then turn back on. include the display at instrument panel also suddenly blink.. is it becos of voltage drop?
yes, but only radio button turn off and radio display only blinking due to the brightness for a split second .. aircond and everything else, ok...

matS
post Jan 14 2014, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(Kiffer @ Jan 14 2014, 04:00 PM)
They would have taken about an hour or so for a normal 1000km service, they said, but as they were also addressing my other concerns, it all took about 6 hours.

Btw, does anyone know what the ACTUAL pressure for the tyres should be? I've not filled up the tires ever since I got the car a few weeks ago. I know the recommended says about 220 for front tires, but when I went to fill up earlier today, I noticed that the pressure currently in the the tire was closer to 280 for the front. Means it was like this since I got the car. Anyone know?
yes, mine also the same...
maybe they do that for storage purpose only...
matS
post Jan 15 2014, 10:00 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jan 15 2014, 03:42 PM)
It's a bad move. They should keep the CFE brand and make it their own.

Few know what TSI or TFSI stands for, but nobody cares. They only know it is associated with fast Germans.

Proton should persevere with the CFE branding.
rolleyes.gif
agree..
matS
post Jan 19 2014, 09:01 PM

QUOTE(terryble @ Jan 18 2014, 11:41 AM)
u will like the car more later biggrin.gif
anyway....the engine brake is most obvious when u shift down from gear 5 to gear 4~~powerful engine brake and feel...or try S Mode's engine brake...quite exciting~~ smile.gif
Just for your info guys~~i think you guys experienced some bit of vibration of the car (gearbox) during 500 RPM to 1000 RPM when the car pick up from 0 KM/h~~i find it a bit annoying~~

So I have installed stiff ring (Front kit only) for preve....and the vibration of the gearbox reduced noticeably...quieter and more comfortable..it still vibrates....but "noticeably" weaker..instead now stronger vibration sound comes from the back... overall i am satisfy...except for the hefty price tag for the few piece of aluminium washer...will try the rear kit soon and feedback~

more info here http://www.stiffring.com/
QUOTE(terryble @ Jan 18 2014, 11:59 PM)
the pain is serious..RM240 for the rings and RM50 for the installation...only took about 30 minutes to install....4 pcs for the front and 2 pcs for the middle~~

one thing for sure...when they unscrew one of the subframe nut...it is VERY obvious that my car's subframe were shifted badly~~

anyway today i went for a long drive..i believe i will go for the rear kit~~i can feel the difference for my car~~sharpen the already sharp lotus tuned steering~~~and a lot more comfortable
damn.. looks fun.. should i try or not.. damn
current condition, when hit small speed bump, feels and sound like front absorber loosen..
current in mind want to change absorber, but maybe should try stiffring first??
preverians, what will you do in this my current condition?
matS
post Jan 20 2014, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(terryble @ Jan 19 2014, 11:19 PM)
hahahaha u feel the itch i have for that...i did quite a lot of research and read most of the stiff ring review before i decided to try this .....even the BMW forum fellars and civic forum kaki said they feel the difference...

oh ya if u go install, when they unscrew the bolt...go there and have a look...mine the driver side screw obviously shifted...for me no regrets i would say..third day today after installing...and i still have the weird feeling that the front of my car is stiffer than before...hopefully it is not my butt feeling.......

by the way~~not sure u guys have this problem...when u accelerate u felt that the rear mirrors or the speakers are vibrating the same time...i want to get rid of that....and i am eager to try install the rear kit and see if this problem is reduced or permanently solved~~

Link for your reference:
http://eightgc2.forumup.com/post-300513-eightgc2.html
http://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/forums/foru...7307-stiff-ring
http://wirahybrid.blogspot.com/2012/06/sti...ally-works.html

youtube link (it was called rigid collar by Spoon and it cost USD250 for a set, stiff ring is improved product by customizing the ring according to each car and lengthened the neck for maximum rigidity)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L_h-2X6FWcw
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOT3MwBw4Ek

matS now u convinced?
Damn i should go and be their salesman  tongue.gif
already done it, both front and rear...
im gonna say.... hmmmmm..
give me some time to test it.. when done i will tell here..

matS
post Jan 24 2014, 05:24 PM

guys, what happen to first page part list..
100 item only, if im not mistaken there should be around 1000+ more part.. shocking.gif
anyone have the full list? icon_question.gif
matS
post Jan 25 2014, 10:16 AM

after few days installing the stiffring (front and rear),
pro
i might say there are some improvement to the car
1. the most noticeable is the reduction of vibration during accelerating..
but it not eliminate all the vibration, just reduce it..
2. it reduce the car swaying a little during cornering,
eg. basic car take the corner at 85kph you go for 100kph (the different is before and after the installation (better))
3. might say a little improvement in vibration when the car absorb the road irregularities or rough road surface and not pothole

for tyre noise, hmmmm there might be no reduction.. im using champiro bax 2 new second hand tyre..

con
1. early morning when hit speed bump, usually there is vibration after hit the speed bump, but now there is vibration before, after hit the speed bump and when also on wavy road, very noticeable (really hard to explain), but it go back to usual behavior after around 20 minutes driving where the vibration feel only after hit the speed bump..(anyone know what this problem please let me know)

here i will say this installation is not value for money, but if the morning vibration is not there, might say it is a good additional item for the car..
for 1st day installation you may feel only reduce in acceleration reduction.. and day after day it improving other item that i tell above..

matS
post Jan 25 2014, 09:07 PM

QUOTE(terryble @ Jan 25 2014, 02:48 PM)
Thanks for the review~~but i really dun get what you mean by the Con  hmm.gif 

i only installed the front~~but the stiff ring guy advise to go for realignment after full set of stiff ring installed~~

anyway its more than 2 weeks now.....and i am certain that there is vibration reduction during pick up (for the front)~~but seems like now the back vibrates harder~~
the car really does felt stiffer than before~~and steering response improved..
there is vibration when hit speed bump.. dont know where it come from, maybe from engine.. before install have this vibration, but after install it became more obvious in early morning... after few minutes drive the vibration lesser, and came back to normal..
you dont have this problem?

matS
post Jan 28 2014, 10:37 AM

QUOTE(rafaiz24 @ Jan 28 2014, 10:08 AM)
i want to ask about Preve fuel consumption..
can anyone tell me about the negative and positive of preve's fuel consumption..apa untung apa rugi and full tank how much RM??
and the distance can go with full tank..
you are lucky.. yesterday just test my full tank petrol ron 95..
manage to run 445.8 km in 13:03 hours of driving for RM80.50 equivalent to 38.333L
average in panel 34 km/h, 8.8 l/100km
in calculation 11.63 km/L
or 8.6L/100km
saturday and monday go jalan-jalan in KL... light traffic with few stop and go jammed
and with morning monday jammed and afternoon....
CFE
matS
post Jan 28 2014, 11:14 AM

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Jan 28 2014, 10:48 AM)
I'll say not bad for a big car...

Thanks for sharing
it is very bad in heavy traffic... mine usually RM50 around 200km to 240km..
matS
post Jan 28 2014, 11:39 AM

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jan 28 2014, 11:25 AM)
That's not bad. RM50 gives you less than half a tank @ 23.8L. Full tank is 50L. So a full tank gives you about 400KM to 480KM or more?

If RM 50 gives 200KM, then you have 11.9L/100KM. Not too bad for traffic if do not drive with economic practice.
If RM 50 gives 240KM, then you have 9.9L/100KM. Not bad for traffic at all!

I had Wira 4G15 carburettor with 3 speed auto gearbox, Persona and then Preve. Maybe I set my expectation low. But guess which uses least fuel; it's the old technology Wira, probably because of its light weight compared to others.
yup you are right..
this car is heavy, so maybe compare to other similar condition car its quite good fc..

0.0259sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:37 PM