Proton PrevĂ© V19, Welcome our brother Suprima S

lunacy
post Oct 20 2013, 09:21 PM

495 posts

To preve owners. Do you guys worried after warranty period end ? Do you still go back to sc for service ? At norm, ppl believe it would be cheaper to service outside. But do they have the expertise to fix issues like the engine or punch cvt ?

How many years do u think to change the car ? i been thinking next car currenty with discount. almera seems a nice pick but i do see preve have better safety equipment. As this is one of the reason to change new car.

im aso worried tat if both car can be easily service outside ? can preve service at 10k interval n cost ?
lunacy
post Oct 21 2013, 12:17 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Oct 21 2013, 07:07 AM)
For the low spec Preve, almost any workshop will be able to service or fix the vehicle since it comes with the conventional engine. With the high spec Preve which comes with the Turbo engine, that depends. Usually after the warranty period ends, most people would choose to service the vehicle outside of Proton SCs due to cheaper servicing cost. When independent workshops couldn't fix the problem or do not have the necessary replacement parts then only people would send the vehicle in to the Proton service centres.

The question of when to change vehicle is dependent on the priorities and financial capacity of the individual. Ideally it's after the loan has been fully settled, after the vehicle warranty has expired or anywhere between 5 to 10 years. Between Preve and Almera, both have their pros and cons. Pick the one that ticks more of the boxes for you.
QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Oct 21 2013, 07:31 AM)
Almost all modern cars now recommend 10k interval. Service cost (including fully syn oil) is around RM400 for 6+- months, which is not bad. Not worried at all after warranty period ends, Preve was just launched around 18 months ago, that means even the first batch buyers still have 42 months of warranty period (if goes by period, not mileage). By that time, many service centers should have bee familiar with Preve engine and transmission.

You shouldn't compare with Almera, City, Vios, Fiesta, Accent or the likes, totally different segments.
see the price range of 70k plus for sedan with discount, only preve turbo n almera v specs. reason to change car is for safety purpose. this car will be daily use from kepong to kelana jaya or kl. Weekend with a kid aso for makan angin. Also will be use to go back to johor maybe once in two month with a kid. so with safety in consideration, i think preve should be a favor but thinking of daily use, reliability. Maybe Almera wins. I own a viva n saga fl at the moment. Saga parent is using. Viva as current ride.

Question is how much safety preve has to demised its downside like higher fc, higher maintenence? So that i can convince myself to get Preve over Almera ?
lunacy
post Oct 21 2013, 12:24 PM

495 posts

forgot to ask how much discount on preve turbo ? accept trade in for viva ?
lunacy
post Oct 21 2013, 12:45 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Oct 21 2013, 12:32 PM)
Preve CFE has 2.0 level power & performance. And also 2.0 level FC & maintenance. Be prepared for that. Your coming from Viva might get a shock from fuel costs.

Actually for the performance Preve has, the FC is OK. My previous car was a 2.0 Honda Accord. On the highway Preve gets slightly better FC (due to the low rev afforded by the CVT), around 15 - 16 km/L. On city driving, it gets similar FC as the 2.0 Accord, around 9 - 10 km/L.
yeah i think that is the think need to bear. for city drive even i tried with saga fl at kl, getting 10 km l . Tat is why i pushed back to let my parent to drive. highway 13 kml saga aso.

do u mind i ask what makes u change from japanese car to local ?
lunacy
post Oct 21 2013, 12:49 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(vikneswaranc_17 @ Oct 21 2013, 12:31 PM)
discount is vary from 5-6k.. sure can trade in your viva.. depends on the SA on how much they want to take it for..
thanks. i haven find any sa yet. nearest could be kepong or pj.

i aso saw that the service price for non turbo is higher than cfe. is that so ? for me it will only make sense turbo service charge is higher ?

This post has been edited by lunacy: Oct 21 2013, 12:54 PM
lunacy
post Oct 21 2013, 01:03 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Oct 21 2013, 12:54 PM)
As Sanadi has mentioned above.

Going from Viva to Preve Turbo, you will be getting a very powerful car. The difference in acceleration power will be tremendous. The Almera although more powerful than Viva, feels underpowered when you compare it with Preve Turbo. The handling, dynamics and stability in moderate to high speed on the highways are definitely better than Almera. Moer safety too. Reliability is anyone's guess at the moment but the Almera should be more reliable with the engine, and slightly quieter ride in comparison to the Turbo engine in the Preve Turbo.

Fuel consumption, surely you will take a hit since you are driving Viva which is supposed to be one of the most fuel efficient vehicle. In highway drive there wont' be much difference in FC between Preve Turbo and other 1.5 or 1.6 litre vehicles but in crawling traffic jams the FC will be bad. You will see the fuel meter go down very quickly if the vehicle is stuck in crawling jams. IF FC is important to you, try not to use a road that has crawling traffic jams for long periods. In highway cruising the FC is quite decent and not bad. The Almera may have a slight edge in registering better FC in traffic jam situations than the Preve Turbo.

Looking at your priorities I believe the Preve Turbo is a better choice than the Almera. Only FC may be a consideration to you. In the end, just go test drive and decide yourself.
it would be good if some can compare fc between a saga fl n preve turbo ? then i would know how much impact i get.

i assume turbo has better fc than non turbo preve in city n highway ?

but non turbo lack of traction control n less air bag defeat the purpose of getting it right ?

lunacy
post Oct 21 2013, 01:19 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Oct 21 2013, 12:58 PM)
Just to try Proton. Preve is the first Proton in my family. We were a Honda only previously. For the price, what you get from the Preve is good. The quality I got from the factory is good.

What Proton really lack is refinement (the little things such as those ugly chrome screws against the dark plastics. Should've used matte black screws).

Also the quality of after sales service is not very good. They tried to sell me X1R, Magnetrap etc, things the car doesn't need. They also tried to change things before scheduled, such as replace radiator coolant every 10K km. The engineer who wrote the manual suggested every 30K km. I complained and now the SC will review the service schedule in the manual with me before starting work.

When people say Proton is a piece of shit, Toyota & Honda better, I'd say go ahead then. Buy a Honda & Toyota. Many times those who say that don't know what they are saying and don't know what they've gotten themselves into. My family have been driving Hondas since the 1990s up to the iVTEC era. There are pros & cons but Proton is not really that bad, except for the after sales & service. *So much* work need to be done in that area.
i never own non national car. so now thinking of upgrade but see the specs on paper (my budget of 70k) . i don see why spend so much where same specs can get with a myvi (dual air bag abs ba ).

for sc, yeah they are dissappointed ones.

at this point of time, i jus wan to get a car that has protection. at least minimal impact to kid in case of accident if proton are giving really good protection with the price.

wat i heard is this car has really solid frame. so in minimal accident, passenger are intact. keep aside huge impact accident.

i had viva for 6 years no issues. saga fl 3 years no issues.
lunacy
post Oct 21 2013, 08:00 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Oct 21 2013, 01:30 PM)
Why not join PREVOC FB: https://www.facebook.com/groups/preveownersclub/

There are quite a bit of pics of Preve involved in accidents. Yes the safety shell in the Preve is quite tough. If safety is your main concern (as was mine), get the CFE version. You get 4 airbags and more importantly ESC (Electronic Stability Control).

You also get a few goodies in the FB, such as enabling the Preve DRL. Yes *proper* DRL. Bright when the engine is on. Dims when you turn on the position lights. All just by connecting 1 wire labelled "DRL" on the circuit board.

Proton, you sure are naughty.  doh.gif
found it in fb butbotd a closed group. clicked join but no reaction.
lunacy
post Oct 21 2013, 09:21 PM

495 posts

how drl works in preve ? need to switch it on off like headlight ?
lunacy
post Nov 3 2013, 11:39 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(sw1314 @ Nov 3 2013, 09:35 PM)
ic.. because the new preve ancap feature for exe really worth for me..

i just don't want the feeling when i press pedal but the car like cannot go..
wat is the new preve ancap feature ? more air bag or esp ?
lunacy
post Nov 6 2013, 09:34 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Nov 6 2013, 08:36 PM)
Help...the gear cannot be shifted...can shift from P to halfway b4 R only...
must be gear knob problem. open the gear knob see anything stuck. my saga gear knob plastic component snap.

0.0246sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:31 AM