Property Investment Strategy, tricks n magic

DrPitchard
post Oct 14 2013, 09:26 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Sep 30 2013, 03:53 PM)
Think positive, learning, planning and actions are main drivers in my life over the years.  icon_rolleyes.gif
For a better or worse future, now my debt exceed 1M, and for greater good, it might be 2M in 2014.
Nice, inspirational story. Thanks for sharing. I'm into property investment myself, but not earning as much or have properties valued that much. I'm still happy with what I have nonetheless and always strive to increase my wealth... :-)

QUOTE(Candlenie @ Sep 30 2013, 04:08 PM)
Thats encouraging but looking at situation now...very hard to grab any prop <300k and we're earning about the same salary =(
QUOTE(nakedtruth @ Sep 30 2013, 04:20 PM)
you got a good start if the best (those first bought in 2008)...
now the property price is just too crazy...
QUOTE(jastan @ Sep 30 2013, 05:04 PM)
The difficult part is how to start from starting pay of RM 2K + and grow to package close to 5 figures in 7 years.

A lot of time is that you have enough down payment but the low salary can't justify your capability to pay monthly installment.
There always needs to be a starting point. I'm not trying to be too critical of today's youths, but a lot of Gen-Y's seem to be complaining more than anything else. If you take a look at lamode's story and experience, he bought a cheap property back in 2009 at RM210k, which is a 3 bed-room unit. Well, it does seem cheap now, but was it considered cheap back then? If you compare relatively to the early years in 2000, it was already considered expensive. One just need enough courage and conviction, besides enough homework, before jumping into property.

When I got my first property back in 2011, it was a 3 bedroom, 750+sqft unit at RM230k. To make things worse, it was a leasehold property. Yeah, it is considered on the cheap side, if you were to look at today's market, but back then, it was crazy! And I guess that's how one gets started.

I just secured my 3rd property recently at Mah Sing's Southville. And just like lamode, my debt has also increased significantly, for the better or worse. Today's Gen-Y's need to be realistic and not so choosy. I have young colleagues (mid 20's) who are earning around RM5k and yet lament that they can't afford to purchase any property in KV. Besides a hire purchases loan, they have no other financial obligations/debts. And yet they say they can't afford to own a property? If other people can do it, I don't see why they can't.
DrPitchard
post Oct 14 2013, 09:35 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(HeartRock_Cafe @ Oct 13 2013, 11:39 PM)
under value with zero down, sifu please guide us which project  notworthy.gif

nowadays new launching are future price  whistling.gif
If today's launches are using future's prices, I doubt it that the future launches will be using today's prices. So why wait? Again, if the motive is clear and outright necessary (for own stay as opposed to rental play), then I think one should jump in.

A lot of wealth creation by individuals are through investment vehicles (securities/share market, business, real estate..etc).... :-)
DrPitchard
post Oct 14 2013, 09:54 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(shinebr8 @ Oct 14 2013, 09:44 AM)
3 props. 2nd prop is soltice sa, 3rd savanna...why all high rise bro?
Hahaha, it's scary that you know my 2nd prop is Solstice.
Well, simply because I am not able to afford a reasonable landed prop at the moment, and yet, I want to stay close to the city centre (within KL). Landed for around RM400k within KL would at best get me a 20"x65" single storey terrace which is rather worn out. I think I'll be better off in a high rise, which should offer better security and also are more readily in supply and also demand for the younger generation.

As for the property strategy, I think I don't need to stay in such an expensive home. I could have consolidated my properties and just make a single purchase of a RM1mil home. But I figured that it would be a waste and I wouldn't be able to generate any income at all. Thus, I spread it over 3 properties to be safe.

Jumped into the 2nd and 3rd prop after knowing that 1st prop has appreciated reasonably a lot.
DrPitchard
post Oct 14 2013, 11:11 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(escargo75 @ Oct 13 2013, 03:59 PM)

You talk so big say hit $5mills Jackpot also dun dare to retire, you basically insulting 90% of the malaysian population.
Hahaha. I think 90% is an overstatement. The figure should be more like 99%. RM5mil, if you were to put inside FD and also bonds, it can easily yield RM16k/month. That's way more than my current salary and also more than 99% of Malaysians, as per the current stats released by the government. 80% of Malaysians don't even earn more than RM10k/month.
DrPitchard
post Oct 17 2013, 12:55 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(investz @ Oct 17 2013, 11:17 AM)
How come double standard ??
- Salary <RM5K
- Last two years borrow a housing loan of RM180K (now still owe RM160K). The house occupied with tenent.
- Car loan RM60K (next year Aug finish)
- Never late of credit card, car and housing loan monthly installment (housing and car got credit access in a/c)

Currently apply RM600K loan ---> REJECTED due to quota FULL

What is your debt service ratio (DSR)?
Although your loan amount is small (RM180k), if the period is short, your monthly commitment will be high. There might be a chance your application for your RM600k loan will fail.

How much is your current monthly commitment for your mortgage loan and hire purchase loan?

I've done a short calculation for you, will surely burst, your commitment.
Assuming a max of 35 years for your 1st home loan of RM180k, your monthly installment should be around RM820.

For you hire purchase, 9 years, will be around RM800/month.
Add together the latest loan, assuming you take 90%, which is only RM540k, even if max of 35 years, min will be RM2.3k, if the rate is BLR-2.4%.

If you put together all your debt, it will be RM800+RM820+RM2,300 = RM3,920.

The maximum DSR for most people will be 70%.
RM3,920/RM5,000 = 78.4%.
And that's based on the calculation that RM5,000 is your nett salary, after the necessary deductions (income tax, EPF contribution). If you work backwards, for you to be able to get the RM540k loan, your net salary must be RM5,600, which should equate to a gross salary of RM6,500.

This post has been edited by DrPitchard: Oct 17 2013, 01:03 PM
DrPitchard
post Oct 17 2013, 04:37 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(investz @ Oct 17 2013, 01:34 PM)
Thank you bro DrPitchard.
My current mortgage loan is RM802 (rent out RM700). Car loan RM1100 (finish at Aug 2015).

My gross is <RM5K. I need to hv a nett loan of RM600K not RM540K, whereby the new property is around 690K. Any ideas/ tactics how to make it success the loan

Your car loan is killing you big time. Try to refinance it? That's the only way, I think. Even if it's rented out at RM700/month, banks only take 80% of it for their calculation.

The best way to go about it is a full settlement for your car. Then, you will be able to take on a new loan.

DSR = RM2,300+RM802 / (RM4,000+ 0.8*RM700) = 68%

Here, I'm assuming your net income is RM4k. And for your rental, you will need bank-in proof, besides the stamped copy of the rental agreement.
DrPitchard
post Oct 17 2013, 11:28 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(Spritzz @ Oct 17 2013, 02:45 PM)
Besides, his company will invest $10mil per year at least, so you can follow him invest what he selected.

That's all i know roughly. For more information, you can directly call their company. I am here to share what i think the best for all bros here.

I don't want to see brother here, buying a depreciation instead of appreciation property. We have hard earn money.

my 2 cents.
Thank you for sharing this. But it seems that this is rather hard to believe. Before he can even invest this RM10mil/year, he has to earn it, right? Money can't just drop out from the sky. And I'm assuming since he is into real estate, the money that he makes is also from there? Given a conservative 10% yield (which is a significant return!), that would mean his company would need to have properties worth RM100mil to enable him to generate the profit of RM10mil every year!

If his company has properties worth that much, trust me, he will not be doing what he is currently doing, giving talks.

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 17 2013, 10:05 PM)
Who do you hear from "his company will invest RM10m per year at least" ? A check to ROC he has 8 companies. 4 are enterprise, 4 are sdn bhd. Of the 4 sdn bhd, 3 are making losses based on the latest filing to ROC. The other 1 sdn bhd did not file any return. The biggest company of the 4 has assets of about RM5.5m against a debt of RM6.0m. Others are small companies. Maybe I will attend his talk and see what he has to say
LOL. I like the way how you have sniffed deep within and got your hands on all this info. Really great info! Thanks very much for sharing. I've always preferred white & black, reported figures, as compared to flowery sentences from the mouth.

This post has been edited by DrPitchard: Oct 17 2013, 11:28 PM
DrPitchard
post Oct 18 2013, 03:49 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 18 2013, 06:49 AM)
If trading company, then easier to commit fraud to bluff LHDN. Just don't report enough sales and you can run away with zero tax. Unless LHDN come and check, then you also cannot run away when they see your bank account

But for real property, ownership is recorded in government department. A printout will know how many properties you have already. If you own 20 properties and still don't pay tax, then something is very wrong.

If we have 5-6 properties, we can register using our sibling's or children's name to run away from tax. But with rental of >RM10m a year, unless he has 200 siblings and children ? Most of us here who own property and have rental income should know it is damn hard to avoid tax

If he make RM10m a year and still can report losses and avoid tax, he should instead give talk on how he do it. I am willing to pay RM10000 for his course so I can save my tax payment  tongue.gif
Don't want to put down or insult anybody here, but this is certainly not the way it works or even anything close to it. Any registering a property under family members name won't help either, as the source of funds can easily be tracked.

On a seperate note, I think you're missing the point on the reason why I brought up all those figures and calculation in my earlier post. As forumer Giggs pointed out, a large majority at such talks are just blowing water only, blowing their figures out of proportion in order to convince their audience. The best part is how many people actually walked out after the talk, feeling totally convinced of what the speaker has just presented on.
DrPitchard
post Oct 18 2013, 09:06 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Oct 18 2013, 06:20 PM)
Most speakers earn more in kok toking show than in prop. Some recommended props r rubbish. Just to push for dev cos accepted $$$ ma. Bs more like it. I dun even trust mr. Ho. Just trust urself. Failure ll make u stronger. If wan 100% winning strategy, the onli way is to stay mute.
Same here, don't have high regards for Mr.Ho anymore, he's appearing everywhere and anywhere just because he is paid to do so. Unless he whips out a S&P agreement that he has invested in a property that he is giving a talk on, I don't think what he says is credible.
DrPitchard
post Oct 18 2013, 09:15 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(HeartRock_Cafe @ Oct 18 2013, 09:10 PM)
bro, even he buys doesn't mean it is a good buy because he may get addition 10-20% discount as an ambassador.

give me such discount a lot of average prop becomes good prop overnight.
True also. But I don't think his figures are into that kind of range, enough to warrant a 10-20% discount, which is totally insane. I would say a good figure would be anything between RM1k-RM5k? It's just half a day's work of talking and that's about it. Developers don't use posters of that event to continue on promoting the property.

Even for the likes of Milan Doshi, I think he'll command more but still less than RM10k. More than RM10k has to be the likes of Robert Kiyosaki, who have wrote world wide bestsellers.

Again, it's just my guesstimate.
DrPitchard
post Oct 18 2013, 09:25 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(bukithot @ Oct 18 2013, 09:18 PM)
my guesstimate would be your figures plus another '0' at the end.  rclxms.gif
Hahahaha. For who? Mr.Ho?
Nah, I'm very sure not. I just did an event a few weeks back, and we got a well known local sports figure to attend a Sporting Event. The well known local sports figure has a title to this name and virtually all Malaysians know him.. brows.gif

And his fee was only RM15k, after a serious of negotiations with his manager.

Mr.Ho, how many people know? LOL
DrPitchard
post Oct 19 2013, 06:07 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(cloner @ Oct 19 2013, 05:02 PM)
with that % of cash flow, i die die oso wont sell.. mayb refinance

on the buy for own stay house, try stretch a bit with help from spouse n family.. but don go too luxury, something decent & safe will be good
Depends on the purpose. If one has too many properties, although all are giving very good, positive cash flow, it's still best to consolidate to have less properties. For example, if one has 3 RM300k properties and is planning to get a fourth prop, also at RM300k, he/she will need at least 30% downpayment. Instead, I would rather sell all 3 and get 2 properties worth RM700k each. It's pretty much the same as refinancing, as one will be taking loans that is based on the property's current market value. Refinancing a current property will give cash but without a doubt also increase the monthly installment.

Mathematically, it will work out to be the same.
DrPitchard
post Oct 21 2013, 03:30 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(cloner @ Oct 21 2013, 03:16 PM)
rclxms.gif  nod.gif  well considered.. good option indeed
Example was given based on my experience and current position actually, LMAO.
I have 2 properties already, market value of each one is around RM300k+ now. Planning to get another one, around RM350k, but it means having to fork out 25% of the purchase price since LTV only 70% for the 3rd property. Luckily developer giving some rebate to cushion the impact. Regret that I diversified too much... :-(

I think I won't be touching properties for a long time (at least a few years down the road). Because if I do, I will sell my first 2 properties in order to buy my next one (so that I am entitled to 90% loan). And both still are within loan lock down period. Might also be taxed for RPGT since net profit will be more than RM100k for the first property. Damn.
DrPitchard
post Oct 21 2013, 04:45 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Oct 21 2013, 04:41 PM)
Can use your triumph card "RPGT exemption once in a life time" unless you want to keep it for later use. brows.gif
Hahahaha, triumph card for a net profit of RM120k only? LOL
That means a tax of RM12k if within 2-5 years.

To make matters worse, exemption is for RM10k and below.

I think I'll only use triumph card much later on in life, then dealing with profits of a few hundred k... wink.gif
DrPitchard
post Oct 21 2013, 05:31 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(Glcotan @ Oct 21 2013, 04:58 PM)
a few hundred k is not easy in less than 5 years
If I consolidate my property and whack a big one, would be possible. For example, purchasing a RM1mil home. RM400k increase within 5 years is nothing really surprising. Desa Park City is a good case study. And my example, RM400k increase over 5 years is just a healthy 8% growth year on year.
DrPitchard
post Oct 21 2013, 10:10 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Oct 21 2013, 09:55 PM)
huh? i tot there is no limit on how much can be expected as long as one in a life time?
if like that, then better use as long as the RPGT is >10k?
Oh no, you're referring to another exemption already. Basically, there are 3 cases for exemption, under the current 1976 act.
(a) RPGT exemption on gains from the disposal of one residential property
once in a lifetime to individuals;
(b) RPGT exemption of up to RM 10,000 or 10% of the net gains,
(whichever is higher) from the disposal of real property by individuals;
and
© RPGT exemption on gains arising from the disposal of real property
between family members (e.g. husband and wife, parents and children,
and grandparents and grandchildren).

I am referring to the 2nd one, whereby as long as the amount to te paid is less than RM10k or 10% of net gains, then one will be exempted from RPGT.

DrPitchard
post Oct 22 2013, 08:40 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Oct 22 2013, 07:04 PM)
for b is it whichever is lower?if tax <10k we can claim for exemption regardless how many time we sell?
QUOTE(Xccess @ Oct 22 2013, 07:19 PM)
Good question, I want to know the answer too.
From what I understand, there is no limit to this at all.

0.0293sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:54 PM