The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.22, NEW RUMORE Nikon DF!

bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 12:54 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

Hi, all.

Can you guys please give me advice on which camera to have? D7100 or D90?

And what about lenses? Is it advisable to get 18-70 and 70-200 or one shot 18-200?

=add=

Or 18-105 and 105-300?
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 01:00 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Sep 30 2013, 02:53 PM)
136 by Kyrie3leison, on Flickr
Dude, I love the bokeh background man! Can share lens make and model bro? Also EXIF data please. notworthy.gif
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 01:02 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Oct 1 2013, 12:15 AM)
I miss the weather there sooo much!!  Your first trip there?
thanks  blush.gif  ...

The below even more pp-ed to bring out the dramatic effect... hahaha

Uluwatu Sunset by kenji.goon, on Flickr
Bro, what is pp? hmm.gif
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 01:04 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 1 2013, 01:40 PM)
Yay, going to the beach for vacation laugh.gif

Bought an Olympus Tough TG2 and took some photos of it (with my Nikon)  laugh.gif

Although boasted as the the rugged compact camera in the market, after trying it out for some time, its pretty bad haha  tongue.gif
BOKEH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SO BEAUTIFUL BOKEH!!!

How to make those bro??? Need very large aperture?
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 01:24 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 11 2013, 01:22 PM)
Post-process
Ohh I see. Thanks.
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 01:27 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 11 2013, 01:24 PM)
Do u mean 24-70? 2470 + 70200 will be better than 18200 if u have the money...
exquisite_markas

Thanks for your reply bro!

Better in what sense bro? How come 18-70 no good ohh? 18-105 lehh?
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 02:18 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 11 2013, 01:45 PM)
D7100 is a huge leap compare to D90

checked your post, seems like you never have DSLR before, i suggest get a body + kit lens good enough, after that you slowly will find what you need afterwards, 
Thanks for your reply pal! Yep, I am currently having an advanced compact in Nikon P7100. Would like to upgrade to a DSLR.

QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Oct 11 2013, 01:59 PM)
lol thanks its kit lens...

using d3200 kit lens f/3.5 only...
Ohh I see. Thanks for the info bro!

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 11 2013, 02:03 PM)
The D90 is a bit too old tech for the price, not recommended
The D7100, on the other hand, is very new, but still quite similar in terms of performance (for normal photography) to its predecessor the D7000; get that one instead since its much cheaper. Leaving you with more money for other stuffs i.e. lenses, accessories etc.

If you are still new, just stick to the 18-105mm kitlens
With its wide focal length and decent image quality, it will expose you to the fundamentals of photography, as well as different genre of photography e.g. landscape, portrait, nature, "macro" etc. After you have used the 18-105mm kitlens for some time, you will eventually know which genre of photography you like the most, and from there only you invest in better lenses specific for it
Haha, thanks man, just the blings on my old notebook

In general, you will get more/better background bokeh by:
1) Using larger aperture (lower F value)
2) Focusing your main subject as close as you can i.e. minimum distance where the focusing still works  icon_rolleyes.gif
Ahhhhh, good advice from the pro. Thanks man!

exquisite_markas Nahh, this is how to get bokeh.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 11 2013, 02:08 PM)
he don't have budget problem so just push to D7100 only

bb100
here is my old 18-70 kit lens + D70s shot, hope can help in "bokeh" term you said

You used auto or manual focus bro?
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 02:21 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 11 2013, 02:16 PM)
D90 no more in production. Get the one you can afford. The D7100 is the best Nikon DX / crop body out there at the moment which means most expensive too.

18-70 kit lens is also no more in production if I'm not wrong. For convenience, 18-200 is nice but as with most extreme zooms, the trade off in quality.

70-200mm f/2.8 is a lot of money and heavy too. But if you're serious about speed and pic quality, this is a pro level lens that will not disappoint.

A cheaper option would be the older Nikon AF-D 80-200mm f/2.8 or Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 that has OS (optical stabilisation) option.
Longest lens (focal length), nearest to subject and widest / biggest lens aperture. All in that order to get your wonderful buttery background bokeh.

Usually people start with the cheap 50mm f/1.8 lens for bokeh experiments.
24-70mm f/2.8 will be ok in terms of quality on DX but may not be wide enough.
Thanks for the useful info bro!
notworthy.gif

If I wanna get D90, it will be a used set with relatively low SC...like 5000 or so.

By the way bro, D7100 got autofocus motor wan ahh?

This post has been edited by bb100: Oct 11 2013, 02:22 PM
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 02:42 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 11 2013, 02:37 PM)
auto, that 8 years tech already got auto focus.
D90 impossible can get SC 9000 right now lol i think la... i think normally is like 15-30k XD

D3100,3200,5100,5200 only don't have auto-focus motor, D7000 or D7100 got.  you can consider cheaper and older 1 gen D7000 for DSLR also can, it is still decent.  biggrin.gif

and you no need worry about that since kit lens already got motor inside.
AS IF you buy older D version lens then you can start worry about that. usually lens you will aiming for are the G version which is already got motor inside.
In Sinkaporku I can find quite a number of D90s with SC <10k and body in mint condition. But I am not sure wanna buy or not lehh, cuz D90 with its kit lens attached feels very the heavy. sweat.gif

So D7000 also OK lahh is it? I wanna buy those body got motor wan cuz lens with motor very the expensive. laugh.gif
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 02:52 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 11 2013, 02:48 PM)
seems like you gotta read this whistling.gif
http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/nikortek.htm
Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Read liao got any questions I come after you ok? brows.gif

Thanks bud!
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 03:10 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 11 2013, 02:56 PM)
ask jchue73iferandy214gunzerdude and maniac, CY pixel (can't tag 6th people, so i put here)

those sifu are best walking dictionary here  whistling.gif
OK. At the moment you be my walking dictionary first. thumbup.gif Skedding too many pipu I become konpius.

Thanks again bro!!! rclxms.gif
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 03:11 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 11 2013, 03:03 PM)
Hi, everyone here, any Sifu here can recommend me what camera I should buy? I wanted to start learn take good photo as hobby, but I'm new to photography. So any model you guys can recommend to buy? I prefer some basic which is no need to change lens, so that I can learn toward more before I move to the next level. Budget would be start from 1.5k and 2.5k range. smile.gif
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 11 2013, 03:09 PM)
i just saw you post in canon thread.

1.5-2.5k can buy DSLR already. (refer back someone just ask about buy nikon D5100 for around 1.8k)

since you said don't want to change lens, so DSLR is not right for you? or actually you want DSLR + 1 lens at the moment?

also what you plan to shoot ? family photo? streets? birds? opposite neighbour's daughter bath? whistling.gif

because sometimes recommended too basic you might find it lack of control and very fast to switch higher end gear also....  hmm.gif
Nikon Coolpix P7800, ok?
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 03:43 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 11 2013, 03:35 PM)
Never knew 18-70 exist lol laugh.gif
Don't have 18-70 wan mehh? sweat.gif
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 03:47 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 11 2013, 03:35 PM)
Never knew 18-70 exist lol laugh.gif
This one?

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/1870.htm

hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 04:08 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Oct 11 2013, 03:57 PM)
18-55 not kit lens meh? blush.gif
You put so many userbars ahh, Ah Wang will nuke your siggy lahh. My ManUtd userbar kena that guy nuke lohh. sweat.gif

Got one bro say the 18-70 is best kit lens wohh. Wanna have Jerry mia ahh?
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 04:25 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 11 2013, 04:21 PM)
your sig also looks over height limit in this sub-forum  hmm.gif
beware they measure siggy by using 1024x768 resolution
ya i know that after i google that, as for best kit lens wise i not sure becaues you can't also trust ken rockwell solely, need check other user review too  hmm.gif
which i lazy to do haha since i already sold my kit lens that time, the buyer told me this info one so i'm not sure either XD
Thanks for the advice. I checked with Ah Wang liao, this size is ok wohh he say. biggrin.gif

Bro, if I already have 70-300 hor, is 18-105 necessary ahh? Or get the 18-70 better so there isn't an overlap of zoom range?

This post has been edited by bb100: Oct 11 2013, 04:26 PM
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 06:00 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 11 2013, 04:53 PM)
If u wan to get 18-105 is still ok... Overlap a little bit only... unless ur saying 70-200 + 18-200...
Thanks. smile.gif
bb100
post Oct 11 2013, 06:02 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Oct 11 2013, 05:47 PM)
What if I buy both the 18-55 and 18-105 to add to my current 70-300? Does it sound silly? blush.gif
Get a 18-105 and 70-300 lohh, as the bros here say. Like that your zoom range complete liao.

If you got extra dorra, then only get prime lens lohh.
bb100
post Oct 13 2013, 09:40 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 13 2013, 09:04 PM)
Just change perspective can already thumbup.gif

This photo isn't about what's in focus and what's not, perspective is important even in macro, try to get down to their level instead of photographing them from above.

Tralala~ Just like a pro! Mintak pencerahan dari segi equipment boleh, boss? brows.gif

This post has been edited by bb100: Oct 13 2013, 09:44 PM
bb100
post Oct 13 2013, 09:46 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 13 2013, 09:44 PM)
Equipment not important lah. Just how willing you are to get the shot only.

tanji can get amazing shots with just a 50mm 1.8G + extension tubes, so no excuse to rely on better equipment unless you got specific reasons lah  brows.gif  brows.gif
Boss, extension tube is for what purpose ehh, boss?

You guys are really willing to splash the cash for lenses. Usually you all buy brand new ones or used ones?

0.0582sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:02 AM