The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.22, NEW RUMORE Nikon DF!

NightFelix
post Oct 11 2013, 03:03 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Hi, everyone here, any Sifu here can recommend me what camera I should buy? I wanted to start learn take good photo as hobby, but I'm new to photography. So any model you guys can recommend to buy? I prefer some basic which is no need to change lens, so that I can learn toward more before I move to the next level. Budget would be start from 1.5k and 2.5k range. smile.gif
NightFelix
post Oct 11 2013, 03:25 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 11 2013, 03:11 PM)
Nikon Coolpix P7800, ok?
Okay, I go try to check it out tonight. thanks! smile.gif

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 11 2013, 03:21 PM)
How about a Sony RX100 ii? brows.gif brows.gif
http://www.sony.com.my/product/dsc-rx100+ii

Or if want something cheaper, than the earlier Sony RX100  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hmm.. I was told by someone to get this as well. hmm.gif I wonder what was the price for both current selling? Sony RX100 there no active forumer reply to my question so end up here Nikon ask people. sad.gif
NightFelix
post Oct 11 2013, 03:51 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 11 2013, 03:32 PM)
we only can suggest, for actual usage you can go sony center in KLCC , nikon center in BTS, canon i not sure to ask them model to hands on.

canon S-95,100,105?? series also good in low light, also compact... cheaper than sony RX100 i think  hmm.gif
Thanks for suggestion. I will look into it. smile.gif
NightFelix
post Oct 12 2013, 12:23 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Is that an entry-level dslr? I'm looking some entry-level dslr to start learn shooting. sweat.gif
NightFelix
post Oct 12 2013, 01:51 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 12 2013, 12:26 AM)
Hey man, nice to see you here brows.gif
Eh? I thought you were looking for cameras that are not-lens interchangeable?  laugh.gif
Yeah, the D3100/3200/5100/5200 are entry level cameras, good for beginners since the interfaces are made in such a way that they are easier to understand  thumbup.gif
Actually I really went to Sony shop today and look for RX100 but the boss over there said RX100 no longer sell, only RX100 v2, then the boss recommend me buy so len interchangeable one for more future proof. lol laugh.gif So now came check out nikon/canon/sony between this 3 brand got which best buck for entry level dslr tongue.gif

what are the different between "Compact Interchangeable-Lens Cameras" and "Digital SLRs"?
I read an article here: http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2369450,00.asp

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Oct 12 2013, 02:05 AM
NightFelix
post Oct 12 2013, 12:07 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 12 2013, 02:50 AM)
pretty much like you choosing desktop or laptop  hmm.gif
oh man, that was nightmare for me. sweat.gif
it was like my first time bought my desktop/laptop 5years ago.

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 12 2013, 10:37 AM)
Mirrorless cameras, as the name suggest, does not have a mirror which reflects what the lens "see" and showing it to the user through an optical viewfinder. Because of that, they can be designed and built in a much smaller profile unlike DSLRs. With that, you get a lot more portability at a minor expense in terms of ergonomics and comfort, a compensation many are willing to make nod.gif

So I guess it all depends on you, if you like to keep things simple and light when you go out, then its definitely a mirrorless camera for you. Go for the ones with larger sensors like the NEX series for better performance  icon_rolleyes.gif

If you are looking for a beginner level DSLR, then its usually: Nikon D3200/D5100, Canon 600D/650D, Sony a58 to consider  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hmm... I think stick with Nikon since here Nikon community more than Canon, easier to ask for help in the future.
I guess Sony Nex series is small compact len interchangeable type, while the below the Nikon model I talking about is normal DSLR(entry type), right? flex.gif

So few question in my mind, D3100/3200/5100/5200, by looking at the number of the model, I assume each of them are upgraded version according to their number, right?
what are the main differents between D3100/3200 to the D5100/5200. So is the price almost the same?

Ps. what is the mean of Prime lens? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Oct 12 2013, 12:10 PM
NightFelix
post Oct 12 2013, 01:07 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 12 2013, 12:15 PM)
prime lens:
fix focal lens, usually comes with big aperture

well the lens trade off flexible focal/zoom range but will gain the bigger aperture.

and very light too.

unless your are talking about 24-70 f/2.8, 70-200 f/2.8
ah I see.. if is fix focal lens, then would it be hard that you can't zoom in or out to snap, so we have to take our camera to walk closer or further to snap our target?

Another thing I not quite understand between ISO and Aperture ( I read the guide from The Verge here) ISO is light absorb into the sensors, so the aperture means?? hmm.gif so the more the better or lesser the better or manual? holy rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Oct 12 2013, 01:08 PM
NightFelix
post Oct 12 2013, 04:22 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 12 2013, 02:54 PM)

Alright, so to cut it short, since I'm tight on budget, I think stick to D3200 comparing to D5200. I Google around I found that most of them compare D3200 to the Canon 600D, so this question would be just like Asus vs Lenovo brand. One thing makes me choose D3200 is, I heard you guys said that, there is a Beginner mode? so is there a similar feature in 600D too?

So, another question is, instead of picking the right DSLR(body), I should learn more how to shoot good photo and invest on good lens, right? hmm.gif

Ps. What other extra accessories I should buy for beginner? extra battery? what lens I should pick for beginner?
normally seller free memory card & bag or not? what is the common price selling now for the D3200 and 600D?

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Oct 12 2013, 04:26 PM
NightFelix
post Oct 12 2013, 10:53 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 12 2013, 05:00 PM)
You need to try out, don't just simply believe, need to investigate.

Yes good lens. 24-70 brows.gif

U know if add battery grip it's gonna be heavier. Go try take FF camera with heavy lens like 2470 and battery grip...hand can patah I tell u laugh.gif
But the D3200 and the others should be come with 18-55mm, so I buy separately?

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 12 2013, 05:48 PM)
Great shot man thumbup.gif

I just went to my nearest local Court to test those entry-level DSLR. I tested the Nikon D3100 & D3200 and the Canon 600D & 650D. The Nikon D3100 & D3200 griping still okay but I prefer Canon 600D & 650D griping and the button area on the DSLR.

So if comparing to both Nikon & Canon. I prefer Canon griping and the button layout more over the Nikon. But the price Nikon cheaper than Canon. hmm.gif
The most attractive part is the Nikon D3100 RM1399. OMG. So cheap comparing to others.

I think most of the kit lens that come along with the body is 18-55mm is it?

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 12 2013, 08:56 PM)
If budget tight, go straight for D3100, save money for additional lenses. nuff said  thumbup.gif
Yeah, I saw the Nikon D3100 price RM1399 so attractive for basic entry level DSLR.

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Oct 12 2013, 10:53 PM
NightFelix
post Oct 12 2013, 11:00 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 12 2013, 10:54 PM)
I use D600 ok leh the weight... thumbup.gif  But if paired with my 28-300mm doh.gif
Bro, Nikon got which model the LCD can flip out like the Canon 600D/650D? The Nikon D3100/D3200 LCD cant flip out one. sad.gif
NightFelix
post Oct 13 2013, 02:39 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Oct 12 2013, 11:04 PM)
only D5100 and D5200... hmm.gif
Aww...

Now I shorten the pick list of either pick below:

1) Nikon D3100
(because of cheap selling price now due to tight budget, someone I'm beginner to learn DSLR)
2) Nikon D3200
(slightly better than D3100 and a lot of positive review among 3 here but I still affordable to top-up)
3) Canon 600D
(I like the way holding it and the physical button layout, and I have more friend using Canon brand DSLR, since I can borrow lens or advice from them) So headache... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Oct 13 2013, 02:44 AM
NightFelix
post Oct 13 2013, 11:10 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Oct 13 2013, 08:18 PM)
KLPF yesterday, candid shot :\
Her left hand putting where doing what.... hmm.gif
NightFelix
post Oct 14 2013, 12:14 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

How to snap basic bokeh effect in entry-level DSLR? must use Prime Lens? hmm.gif
NightFelix
post Oct 18 2013, 09:47 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Dear Nikon forumer, normally your filter use UV filter and what brand you guys using? hmm.gif
UV filter use universal size use on any brand of camera?
NightFelix
post Oct 20 2013, 12:56 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Sorry guys, need your guys advice.

I was in the middle of hunting DSLR(between Nikon D5100, Canon 600D, Sony A58), I was offer by my friend new set the Sony A58 unopened box at RM1399(include 1 8gb sd card and bag only), worth to grab? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Oct 20 2013, 12:57 AM

0.0893sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:24 PM