15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.22, NEW RUMORE Nikon DF!

[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 11:27 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 9 2013, 11:16 AM)
what he mean is you use 50mm f/1.8 shoot opposite girl bath cropping out 90% of photo also no problem because 36mp is big  brows.gif
So that's why you wanted a D800 brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 12:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 9 2013, 11:42 AM)
oh ya, how long need to wait, if you guys sent camera to service? eg: clean fungus, and sensor cleaning in nikon center

i forget last time how long need to wait i sent already...(this time is 1 whole month, just need keep record comparing waiting period.)
I've never sent lens for fungus cleaning so can't really comment sad.gif
But have you considered calling and rushing? hmm.gif

It helps in the computing world lol, some Malaysian-based SC need to push one haha sweat.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 12:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Oct 9 2013, 12:20 PM)
So the plastic that covers over the lens is sealed tight preventing air from going in?? What if open box and it is already exposed and they say its like that

I'm not sure whether its the same for cameras. But in notebooks, the box will come with a sealed sticker, once torn, its considered opened hmm.gif

I think there's no real need to worry so much when you buy from reputable sellers icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 12:34 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Oct 9 2013, 12:24 PM)
*raise hand*

can I have a D800? laugh.gif

anw, last evening took some bracketing burst shots (3 shots, 1 stop)

AF-S and single point.

Problem is, the D7000 tries to refocus on every shots. Hence the second and third shot usually landed OOF.
Buy one buy one brows.gif brows.gif

Taking brackets for landscapes? Try manual focus? hmm.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 12:46 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Oct 9 2013, 12:41 PM)
a bit rush because the sun wouldn't wait for us.

Yes, I guess I should train my manual focusing.

Woah, nice yo thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 01:39 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Oct 9 2013, 01:15 PM)
Hmmm... Im bit skeptical. Imagine they just take it right off the shelf and put it in the box and sell it to you. isn't that already exposed to open air for quite some time already? My dad bought a D90 right off the display shelf, and I was like WHAT and so happen it was the last unit. Because can say we dont know how long it has already been exposed right or whether they got properly stored it or anything.

Btw, who are the recommended sellers for Nikon stuff??

That's why its best to buy from trusted sellers nod.gif
You can also check the shutter count if you want to see if its used nod.gif

But whether the seller tampers with the sealed sticker or not really depends on how trustworthy that seller is lo hmm.gif

For Nikon, I usually deal with Yannick Camera: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Yannick-Came...7834827?fref=ts

Can look for digitalfm14 and CreativePhoto in Garage Sales too icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 01:45 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Oct 9 2013, 01:43 PM)
hi,

i just want an advice. any one have an advantage for using 35mm over 50mm lens?
Depends on your camera body.
Are you using DX or FX? laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 01:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 9 2013, 01:47 PM)

At the end of the day, if your business needs to expand and if these extra expenses can be justified in the returns, then like I said, why not...
D700 = 12MP. D800 = 36MP. The D800 has a higher pixel density for the same physical full frame sensor area 36 x 24mm. A camera with a higher pixel density is less tolerant to camera shakes as compared to lower pixel density camera body. If you can comfortably shoot 1/200s for 200mm focal length on the D700, you may want to consider higher shutter speed 1/400 or even 1/800 as every minute and tiny camera shake will be amplified on the high density sensor.

Because of this high pixel density on the D800, it demands higher quality lenses to be used as any lens imperfections will be magnified. High pixel density sensor also means noisier pictures at pixel level. But when you resize the D800 picture to the same size as the D700 and start to compare noise, the D800 is better. Sometimes it is as good as D3s / D4, if not better.

For me, the D800 36MP size is a bonus when trying to print big. Usually extreme cropping is not done for weddings but I may be wrong. The one thing that should be a primary reason for wedding photographers to upgrade to D800 is the excellent dynamic range.

What body are you using?
Nice explanation on the shake-intolerance, easy to understand thumbup.gif

Yeah, I suppose those who are experienced with wedding photography don't do too much cropping also laugh.gif But still a good feature to have I think hehe~ Never used a D700 before, is the D800 much better in terms of dynamic range? hmm.gif But no doubt the DR on the D800 is crazy la haha wub.gif wub.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 02:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Oct 9 2013, 02:00 PM)
i'm preparing for street-shot in Korea and Japan.
- already have 50mm,
- just to get another advice from your guy regard investment in 35mm
D90 smile.gif DX only..
Since D90 is a crop-sensor body.
50mm is more or less like a 75mm, which can be very, very tight for street shots. Especially those cramped ones in Japan. 50mm is more suitable for portraits usually

35mm is around 50mm for your D90, so its actually more suitable for your street photography use, though still a little bit too "long range" for some laugh.gif

It depends on your shooting style, some prefer getting really, really close. While others love being those sniping types laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Oct 9 2013, 02:04 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 02:56 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 9 2013, 02:40 PM)
Get Nikon trinity lens... Confirm can laugh.gif
Confirm can pokkai haha rclxm9.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 02:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 9 2013, 02:56 PM)
last time went straight to KLCC and ask for check status, they said this week will confirm...well after this week then i go nag again....
Eh? How come wanna purposely go there? Just call more convenient right? sad.gif
Hope they will fix for you quick
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 05:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 9 2013, 04:46 PM)
U can get it bro laugh.gif  U already have 24-70... Then during year end, u buy 70-200 and next year buy 14-24... laugh.gif

But to be honest, I dont really like the 14-24... I prefer the 16-35 whistling.gif
I don't think so haha, just because its holy trinity doesn't mean they are must haves laugh.gif
I'm already complaining so much about the weight with only the 24-70 LOL, I'll die if I get the other two XD
I'm getting a 105mm macro lens and that's it for my setup laugh.gif

Don't really fancy shooting landscapes so don't really need a very good wide angle lens; and I think I can live with not having super long range lenses too haha laugh.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 06:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Oct 9 2013, 05:08 PM)
Ok thanks.
Ya, Im actually quite paranoid on certain things especially since Im still very new to photography. Well, one of the many reasons is that Im still a student, therefore, money is kinda hard to come by =).

Do you guys meet up in groups and head for a photoshooting quest?
gunzerdude sifu is right nod.gif Noneed to be too paranoid, just get a camera and shoot~ it will definitely open up your world thumbup.gif
Still, its good to know that you are doing your research and asking first rather than blindly buying rclxms.gif

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 9 2013, 05:36 PM)
Just get f/1.4 trinity.  biggrin.gif

24mm f/1.4
35mm f/1.4
85mm f/1.4
85mm F1.4 gooding yo! wub.gif wub.gif
But no money for these goodies haha
I'd better just invest in a mirrorless to save my back laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 06:30 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 9 2013, 06:22 PM)
Don't know about you but mirrorless quality still leaves me wanting more. sad.gif Especially after paying so much for it.

If really want to save the back, I would rather forgo everything and simply rely on a cili padi like the Sony RX100. Really light weight and relatively superb performance from a small sensor.

I understand what you mean man laugh.gif
For me, its very hard to use back lower-end compacts after trying out FF tongue.gif Even though the shot can be decent, I always feel that it could be much better with a mirrorless, DX or FF! haha T____T

Played around with an NEX3 and NEX5 before and I think they're still okay la haha, still beats breaking my back haha~
The Sony RX100 or its successor seemed pretty gooding, even so when paired to an underwater casing for underwater shots drool.gif
But at the moment I'm more poisoned by Fujifilm mirrorless cameras~~
I hope Nikon up their mirrorless camera lineups soon hmm.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Oct 9 2013, 06:31 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 9 2013, 08:19 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Oct 9 2013, 06:45 PM)
Heard that my dad said my neighbour is using a Fujiflim xe-1, he says so far its the best for him when it comes to white balance and colour is great for him
Yalo, check out s7ran9er's gf's photos here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2725435
The colors and details are simply amazing~
Retro design quite nice too wub.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 10 2013, 09:41 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(sukun @ Oct 10 2013, 03:33 AM)
Hi D600 users. anyone who purchased the latest batch of D600, so far using it have any significant problem of that oil/dust trap on the sensor?

Yes, its because of this problem hinders me from jump ship to Nikon and getting that awesome bang for buck d600.
Why not the new Nikon D610? hmm.gif hmm.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 10 2013, 09:48 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Oct 10 2013, 08:38 AM)
so.. what do you all think about  this article ?
http://www.stuckincustoms.com/2013/10/09/n...d-canon-failin/
It is true that mirrorless systems are taking over, and even when they are only featuring relatively smaller sensors. By the time we have FF mirrorless system, most people would probably make the switch imho hmm.gif
Slighter lousier ergonomics is a good compensation for portability I suppose?

DSLRs will be left only, like mentioned in the article, for more specialized genres of photography; or perhaps for that professionalism look to inspire clients' confidence. Hell, maybe one day mirrorless cameras will even be considered as standards in events or weddings laugh.gif

That said, I will definitely keep my D800 and use it for macro, portraits and everything else~ but I'm definitely not bringing it on a vacation laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Oct 10 2013, 09:48 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 10 2013, 05:08 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 10 2013, 02:42 PM)
For vacation, I want to be able to bring my best tools to capture my precious memories the best way I can. What do I take? The D800 of course.  biggrin.gif
Funny how I used to think like that as well haha laugh.gif
In the end I think, to me those special moments are more important than capturing them haha~
Its not like the current mirrorless cameras are that bad la haha, but a compact camera is definitely a NO NO for me haha tongue.gif

Say so much in the end I still only have a DSLR to bring around haha laugh.gif laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 10 2013, 08:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 10 2013, 07:59 PM)
still learning all the setting on the dslr lot of setting
Imho, learning all the settings at once will be a bit too much haha
Just stick to Program (P) mode 1st and go out and shoot, learn to compose your photos; everything else will come along later as long as you keep on shooting mate thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 10 2013, 08:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Reckoning @ Oct 10 2013, 07:43 PM)
For vacation. A full frame (d800 or d700 or any). Grip. plus 28mm and 50mm enough.
Yeah, with what I have now, I would prefer only bringing the body and 24-70mm only next time.
Will no longer bring the 50mm, tripod and flash anymore. I'd rather improvise than having brokeback with the gears laugh.gif

For landscape shots can just get something to rest the DSLR on. With a tripod mount attach to the body + lens with lens cap, the entire camera can "stand" perfectly linear and stable XD

For night shots can use handphone torchlight to bounce light from walls/ people with white shirt LOL laugh.gif laugh.gif Or if no choice, use built-in flash XD

If only I have a mirrorless XD
Still, long time to go before my next trip~
Still editing my photos from Phuket yawn.gif

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:45 AM