15 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.22, NEW RUMORE Nikon DF!

[PF] T.J.
post Oct 28 2013, 10:53 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 28 2013, 10:46 AM)
Original got filter at the intake part to filter dust.  whistling.gif

Not sure whether ciplak ones got anot, but mine starting to blow crap onto filters instead of blowing them off.
Thank god I didnt use it to blow inside my camera (Not that I have one to blow anyways laugh.gif)
Mine haven't got crap yet laugh.gif
Is it possible to soak in warm soap water? hmm.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Oct 28 2013, 11:07 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 28 2013, 10:54 AM)
I don't think can change lei,  hmm.gif, but better the thing get stuck than sucking in loads of dust which gets blown all over your sensor ya?  whistling.gif
Mine previously can, but I superglued the rear cap and front part so cannot clean already since got valves to make sure air goes in and out in one direction  doh.gif
Thanks for the input man~
I guess I should clean mine as well soon, getting dirtier sweat.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 28 2013, 04:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Oct 28 2013, 01:12 PM)
Tried doing high magnification macro just now by reversing my 35 f2d. Been under the sun for sooooooo long and managed just 1 not bad look shot. Guess its time for a reverse ring or a proper macro lens

I think I missed the focus on the eye, but handholding the lens while shooting is so tough, hands kept shaking =(

Need ID on the bug, is it a type of long legged fly called Dolichopodidae?
Good try man, this particular fly is tough to shoot since its pretty sensitive nod.gif
You used flash for that shot right?

Maybe can try something that don't mind being shoot and larger? Much easier icon_rolleyes.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Oct 28 2013, 09:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Oct 28 2013, 09:06 PM)
Yep flash fired, but its the built in flash though as I don't have any other flashes. In the hunt for some budget flash

I tried something bigger just now, but couldn't fit it properly into the frame, wind was too big, just spray and pray that the shots came in focus. Guess it's time to wake up earlier in the morning and take a walk around the neighbourhood for insects  biggrin.gif

Um, If you don't mind, would like to ask 1 question, is it still possible to adjust our focus points for these macro shots? Like moving it to the other direction where we want the focus to be and move our body in and out to acquire focus in manual mode?
Well, built in flashes worked pretty well too with a little bit of modding, to channel the light onto the subject instead of being blocked by the lens hmm.gif

That is a Lawn Moth happy.gif
Yeah, perhaps can try something bigger but not on plants that are easily swayed by wind? hmm.gif

This shot took me a lot of tries because the wind was constantly blowing:
Oxytate virens ♂- Long Green Crab Spider by PF T.J., on Flickr

Beetles are very good for practice since they hardly move and are big as hell haha laugh.gif

If you are shooting manually, the AF points don't matter anymore
Its just a matter of choosing the right plane so that the things that you want to be in focus are in focus.
Its not that easy since the DOF is very shallow for Extension tubes and reverse lenses (at least that's what I've heard laugh.gif)

For instance, if you shoot from the side, everything will be in focus:
Siler semiglaucus 2- Bootle-Brush Iridescent Jumper by PF T.J., on Flickr

But for the same shot taken from the front, notice how the ant and the back of the spider becomes out of focus?
Siler semiglaucus 1- Bootle-Brush Iridescent Jumper by PF T.J., on Flickr

Dedicated macro lens will be able to perform better in terms of DOF. Will update once I get to try it out~

As for focusing, I prefer the "move-body-backward-and-forward, estimating-when-to-press-the-shutter" method over adjusting the focus ring. The latter I think is more suitable if you are on a tripod and not subjected to handshake
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 28 2013, 09:32 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Oct 28 2013, 09:10 PM)
Thanks, I'm looking for a macro lens myself as well, currently considering a tamron 90 2.8 SP DI or nikon 105 2.8D, both used

Hmm, by using proper macro lenses I think it just makes shooting those bug a bit more convenient, we still need a lot of patient stalking them  tongue.gif

If I'm correct, 1:1 is shooting the subject at life's size to your sensor, while 1:2 is like ... decreasing the size of the object, sorry not good in explaining, haha.
Some insects are really sensitive, and its virtually impossible to get close to them, I think that is when a real macro lens will come in handy nod.gif

I can't recall how many times I've missed shots (somehow they are always those important shots doh.gif) while I was busy switching in between extension tubes sad.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 28 2013, 09:39 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 28 2013, 09:23 PM)
the terms 1:1 and 1:2 etc are used to define the magnification. For true macro lenses, you can reach 1:1 which means that subject size is reflected directly onto sensor (you'll fill the frame with a 20sen coin on DX approx.)

This should help illustrate what I'm talking about.

Btw, macro lenses are mostly a specialized investment, so it's best for people with tight budget to consider whether it's worth pouring the money on a real macro lens compared to an AF extension tubes that costs much less.

Of course, AF tubes compared to real macro lenses have differences, working distance being one of them. But other than that, both can produce great results if you know how and are willing to do so.

Tanji Is one of them using just a 50mm+extension to produce great shots already.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Wah, that picture basically sums up everything, good share notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Thanks for the praise sifu happy.gif
50mm + ET sure has its limitations.. until now only a few dragonfly/damselfly shots. And no in-flight shots cry.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Oct 28 2013, 11:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Oct 28 2013, 10:41 PM)
Hmm, I see, your photo with reverse lens is already this good, with a true macro lens sure become super awesome d  tongue.gif

Yea I'm using the rocking body forward and backward method too, but I use live view instead of the viewfinder because I'm still handholding the reversed lens hehe
Thanks man, still learning~
I used extension tubes, they work slightly differently from reverse lenses laugh.gif
Holy, you didn't use reverse adapter? shocking.gif shocking.gif

Live view is usually not that recommended since it is hard to see whether the subject (usually the eyes, which are pretty small in the screen) is in focus or not. I only use Liveview only when I cannot get close to the subject, and since hand shakes can be pretty serious, I try to spam photos tongue.gif

Keep it up, you are doing great~ thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 3 2013, 04:38 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Nov 3 2013, 01:56 PM)

Yesterday's work at Kampung. Now in hostel sad.gif
QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Nov 3 2013, 03:59 PM)
Nice but slightly senget to the right...
I think there's a speck of dust among the clouds at the middle too hmm.gif
Great colors though~ thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Nov 3 2013, 04:38 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 3 2013, 04:47 PM

24,193 posts

Took some shots during my trip back to Penang thumbup.gif

Water lilies and bees by PF T.J., on Flickr

Red Dahlia by PF T.J., on Flickr

Carpenter Bee by PF T.J., on Flickr

Unidentified Spider by PF T.J., on Flickr
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 3 2013, 04:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Nov 3 2013, 04:55 PM)
Yeah there were some specks of dust. Didn't realized that. Nice macro, what lens ya?
Thanks man notworthy.gif
Shots 1-3 taken with 105mm F2.8 VR, shot 4 taken with 50mm + extension tubes (x3)~
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 3 2013, 05:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Nov 3 2013, 05:14 PM)
Almost 3k lens, I'm out of the league. sweat.gif
Well, I still prefer the 50mm + extension tube combo more than the dedicated macro lens, especially for small insects laugh.gif
Good thing about macro is that it can be really cheap to start learning happy.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Nov 3 2013, 10:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Nov 3 2013, 06:25 PM)
Bought it already bro?
QUOTE(QiAnG @ Nov 3 2013, 07:11 PM)
Upgrade liao  rclxms.gif
Yup! Purchased already laugh.gif
Though I am not too sure its considered an upgrade haha... I'm in a hate-love relationship with the 105mm micro since the minimum focusing range is quite far, making photographing small subjects extremely difficult T____T

But it sure has its uses and flexibility when shooting large, moving subjects, managed to capture some rare shots otherwise impossible with the 50mm + ET combo wub.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 3 2013, 10:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Nov 3 2013, 08:23 PM)
Wow, those are very awesome shots. What settings do you use?? i always ponder how do you guys get such beautiful and bright image with nice tones of colours.

May I ask? What is the feeling when you use a actual macro lens and lens + macro extension tube?? Any much difference?
I shoot with ISO400, 1/250, F16 with flash fired at (1/32) for almost all of my shots. Will adjust ISO or distance of flashgun according to need, but that's about it laugh.gif
I suppose the best way to get better shots is to go out into gardens or forests to look for more interesting subjects (just like how portraits need lengloi models tongue.gif). People love to see something more refreshing I suppose tongue.gif

As for the dedicated macro lens (assuming 105mm here) vs 50mm + ET, it depends on what you are shooting~ If you love to shoot small, moving subjects like jumping spiders, the 50mm + ET is a much better choice (assuming the spider is not super alert; luckily most salticids aren't XD) since you can get much closer, and you can see clearer through your viewfinder whether the subject (usually the eyes) are in focus or not before you fire nod.gif

The 105mm's advantage is that it can be used to produce 1:1 shots relatively farther away from the subject, which can also be a big drawback when you are shooting something small (even worse when its moving), since you cannot tell what is in focus since the subject is already too small to start with laugh.gif

My hit rate for a 50mm + ET is almost 80% or higher... as for the 105mm.. LOL, let's just say I need more practice XD

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Nov 3 2013, 08:25 PM)
One just leaped to FX, one just got super duper lens. And I guess most are waiting for Nikon D610 and DF. Gotta give the respect to you people. notworthy.gif

blush.gif
You are still so young bro, save slowly and keep shooting, and you'll be upgrading in no time happy.gif
Enjoy the process, that's more important! notworthy.gif

QUOTE(KoNz3n @ Nov 3 2013, 10:27 PM)
Hey guys! Would like to ask if anyone has suggestions where to get D610 in KL area? Planning to take the leap XD
Try Foto-Shangri La Miami at SS14? The one beside KFC.
Their prices ( digitalfm14 in Garage Sales) are often the cheapest in town, perhaps can try from there laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Nov 4 2013, 04:03 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 4 2013, 04:01 PM

24,193 posts

Same here, Pool C makes sense hmm.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 4 2013, 04:08 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Nov 3 2013, 11:22 PM)
it's actually foto miami. laugh.gif

nice works by the way. notworthy.gif
Ops, thanks for the correction man, appreciate it! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Nov 3 2013, 11:50 PM)
found this during bath

Wah, great find! Bathing also can see this kind of damselfly wub.gif
Looks like a female Agriocnemis pygmaea (Wandering Wisp). I've yet to see one laugh.gif

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Nov 4 2013, 01:57 AM)
feels like I need you teach me to do it XD. I was also planning to buy the Meike ET to try out macro. Does it matter much getting the kenko one? No right?
Feel free to ask if you have any questions, will try to help icon_rolleyes.gif

gunzerdude sifu is right, it depends on which lens you intend to pair with your ET. If its something heavy (say 700g-1kg), might be worth investing in Meike or Kenko nod.gif If you're only pairing it with a 50mm (which is an extremely good combo for the price), then cheap extension tubes will do icon_rolleyes.gif

My Kenko ET worked well at Autofocusing with the 105mm as opposed to the 50mm, but still, I'd still prefer manual focusing most of the time tongue.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 5 2013, 09:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Nov 5 2013, 09:24 PM)
Sunset rolleyes.gif

Damn, great shot!
The colors are wonderful, and interesting subjects for silhouette too~ notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
I think the bottom part can just crop off, but otherwise a very nice photo~
Your skills really improved alot man~
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 5 2013, 09:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Nov 5 2013, 09:39 PM)
Thanks for sharing bro, but I think one of the links is not working hmm.gif

Wah, so much hype with the new Nikon hehe laugh.gif
Gotta admit I've always dig retro design tongue.gif

But I suppose at that price, it doesn't really mean much for those who already have a FF DSLR? hmm.gif
For those who are looking for a secondary will probably be more interested in the new FF Sony? hmm.gif

As for me haha, I think I'm still more interested in the Fujifilm XE-2, at least its cheaper, noneed to worry so much about bringing it outdoors laugh.gif laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 5 2013, 09:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 5 2013, 09:52 PM)
I like this idea better for my travel camera,
http://photorumors.com/2013/10/31/sony-can...n-a-nex-5-body/

Holy Shiat!! shocking.gif shocking.gif
Manufacturers are making FF look cheap haha laugh.gif
Technological advancement is really astonishing thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 5 2013, 09:56 PM

24,193 posts

Shots taken last weekend at Forest Park Penang laugh.gif

105mm macro lens:
Penang Forest Park- Chasing the Lights by PF T.J., on Flickr

50mm prime lens:
Penang Forest Park- Sun and Stream by PF T.J., on Flickr
[PF] T.J.
post Nov 5 2013, 10:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Nov 5 2013, 10:03 PM)
Both are nice, well-exposed and all. If it was me, I'm sure pening already to compose with that narrow frame. thumbup.gif
Thanks bro, much appreciated notworthy.gif I'm sure it will be much nicer with UWA like yours wub.gif
No choice la haha, I only wanted to shoot macro that day, mana tau got something so spectacular doh.gif doh.gif

15 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0514sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:43 PM