CONFUSE NTSC @ PAL HELP!, PS3

TSbananazero2000
post Sep 28 2013, 07:21 PM, updated 13y ago

163 posts

My friend want to buy PS 3, he now at Pakistan oversea, nothing to do, so he wanna get a console to kill some time. the PS 3 he's been offered at Pakistan is a NTSC unit (he told me so, I really have no idea about this NTSC PAL stuff).

His question is :

1. Is the NTSC PS3 console can play with Malaysia PAL tv set? HDMI cable can solve the problem?
2. The NTSC PS3 console can play asian region games (PAL)?
3. What is this NTSC and PAL do? can sifu 's teach teach me? as long as I know they tell me it's two different version of DVD/CD for console, (I remember the time I got two version of CD for Resident Evil 1 and Bio Hazard 1)

Please help me and give some advise, millions thanks
Atomars
post Sep 28 2013, 09:57 PM

566 posts

QUOTE(bananazero2000 @ Sep 28 2013, 07:21 PM)

1. Is the NTSC PS3 console can play with Malaysia PAL tv set? HDMI cable can solve the problem?

Are you planning to play on SDTV ? If not, then you should not have any problem because you will use HDMI on HDTV.
NTSC and PAL are just video signals used with composite and component cables. HDMI is universal and doesn't use either NTSC or PAL video signals.

2. The NTSC PS3 console can play asian region games (PAL)?

From what I know, PS3 can play games from any region, meaning it is region free, but it will not be able to play some movies from other region.

3. What is this NTSC and PAL do?

NTSC or PAL is just the analog television system that is used in specific regions.

NTSC = National Television System Committee.
PAL = Phase Alternating Line.

NTSC is able to deliver a frame rate of 30 fps, meanwhile PAL uses a frame rate of 25fps.

TSbananazero2000
post Sep 28 2013, 10:42 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(Atomars @ Sep 28 2013, 09:57 PM)

Thank You for swift reply!!! biggrin.gif
meaning that PS 3 console doesn't have any NTSC or PAL difference right? Just plug it to TV and play?
If my friend didn't use HDTV, use normal TV, anything he need to take note?

Thanks again for the swift reply, *bro fist*
Atomars
post Sep 29 2013, 08:07 AM

566 posts

QUOTE(bananazero2000 @ Sep 28 2013, 10:42 PM)
If my friend didn't use HDTV, use normal TV, anything he need to take note?
Yes, if your friend use SDTV I think he may need a converter because he will use the normal composite cable.

Or if the SDTV has PAL/NTSC settings it should be OK, because normally can switch between those two formats.

Better use HDTV and HDMI, then you don't have to worry about it.
TSbananazero2000
post Sep 29 2013, 09:25 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(Atomars @ Sep 29 2013, 08:07 AM)
Yes, if your friend use SDTV I think he may need a converter because he will use the normal composite cable.

Or if the SDTV has PAL/NTSC settings it should be OK, because normally can switch between those two formats.

Better use HDTV and HDMI, then you don't have to worry about it.
Million thanks Bro!!! will post again if got any question~

0.0149sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:01 PM