147 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Honda Jazz 1.5 CKD, Official thread!

Eithanius
post Feb 26 2014, 08:11 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(cubiclecarbonate @ Feb 26 2014, 07:51 PM)
Thanks bro

This ckd model only have 1 spec right?

Not like city is it?
Yes only one, based on the previous Grade S...

Just so you know, the current Jazz is coming to the end of its lifecycle. The new Jazz will most likely be launched by end of this year...
butthead
post Feb 26 2014, 09:22 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(spectrex123 @ Feb 26 2014, 06:08 PM)
I just receive the notification letter that my installment start on the 17th march. I havent receive the car yet.
Better check with bank leh... not a problem to pay early la... but sked got hanky panky business going on behind only...
farghmee
post Feb 27 2014, 08:55 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Feb 26 2014, 04:35 PM)
What's the difference on RS...? Better engine output...? brows.gif
just for u, snapshot from virtual garage.

Eithanius
post Feb 27 2014, 09:53 AM

3,952 posts

pretty much the same... sweat.gif
awongck
post Feb 27 2014, 12:49 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(spectrex123 @ Feb 26 2014, 05:41 PM)
Is it normal for bank to disburse loan even before we get the car? I havent get my car yet but my loan already starting.
Definitely not normal. I've never started paying until I got the car. Better check with your loan officer
awongck
post Feb 28 2014, 11:38 AM

372 posts

Got my car yesterday guys. So far seems to be a quick zippy car, loving it smile.gif

Quick question, do we still need to break in the engine? I asked my SA and he said its not needed for fuel injected cars but for my 05 city i still kept it under 100km/h until the first 1K mileage.

Any advice?
butthead
post Feb 28 2014, 12:06 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(awongck @ Feb 28 2014, 11:38 AM)
Got my car yesterday guys. So far seems to be a quick zippy car, loving it smile.gif

Quick question, do we still need to break in the engine? I asked my SA and he said its not needed for fuel injected cars but for my 05 city i still kept it under 100km/h until the first 1K mileage.

Any advice?
if you are in no hurry... run in your engine properly lor... keep revs low for the first 1k... if you can, keep it tat way until 5k loh... better be safe than sorry ma.. it doesn't hurt to do it irregardless of what they say...
TSReVolVolution
post Feb 28 2014, 03:37 PM

311 posts

there are always 2 school of thoughts.

1. to rev it like you stole the car
2. to keep the rev below 3k rpm

either way, it depends on which one you believe. tongue.gif

for me, I'd go for 2!
butthead
post Feb 28 2014, 05:00 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Feb 28 2014, 03:37 PM)
there are always 2 school of thoughts.

1. to rev it like you stole the car
2. to keep the rev below 3k rpm

either way, it depends on which one you believe. tongue.gif

for me, I'd go for 2!
steal car must rev one meh??? so noisy... after people mar know...

i think a better example would be rev it like you are being chased by loan sharks with parang trying to chop you into 18 pieces...

This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 28 2014, 05:09 PM
Eithanius
post Feb 28 2014, 05:59 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(awongck @ Feb 28 2014, 11:38 AM)

Any advice?
Well, my SA told me today when I go collect my car, before first service, try not to speed above 100kph...

I've driven 46km today, somehow I'm not used to the 5-speeder... I can hardly rev the engine to 3k rpm for pickup... But the car does feel a bit steadier in the sense that there are times I breached the 100kph mark, doesn't really feel fast...

I have to agree with farghmee when he says MyVi gear shift is smoother, my sister's MyVi is torquey, but at the expense of high rev...

One of the first pics...
awongck
post Feb 28 2014, 06:20 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Feb 28 2014, 05:59 PM)
Well, my SA told me today when I go collect my car, before first service, try not to speed above 100kph...

I've driven 46km today, somehow I'm not used to the 5-speeder... I can hardly rev the engine to 3k rpm for pickup... But the car does feel a bit steadier in the sense that there are times I breached the 100kph mark, doesn't really feel fast...

I have to agree with farghmee when he says MyVi gear shift is smoother, my sister's MyVi is torquey, but at the expense of high rev...

One of the first pics...
I think it needs some time for the gear changing ratio to smoothen up. I guess the IVTEC is still learning smile.gif

Lets just monitor it for now but I agree gear change seems to be a bit rough but I hope it becomes less noticeable as time goes on

Same here about 40KM so far, 80 when I head back home. Most likely will keep it under 100 or 3K RPM till after 1K like Butthead suggests
butthead
post Feb 28 2014, 10:48 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Feb 28 2014, 05:59 PM)

One of the first pics...
100kph is useless if you plant the throttle into the floor mat in the gears leading to that speed... 100kph in 5th is only around 2150revs...

if you hardly see it rise above 3000 revs.. that means you most likely did not open more than 25% throttle... i remember even around 20% throttle it will shift around 2~2.5k revs....

i don't think the myvi's shift is what you actually call smoother... it is just that the 5 speeder shifts up and down a lot more actively making you feel that the autobox is like a bit jerky... sometimes, it is tough because when i expect it to kick down 1 gear, it doesn't.... sometimes i wish it would stay in that gear and then it kicks down due to the gradient sensor sensing it is going up an incline... sometimes you wish it will hold that gear longer and then it decides to shift up and then you depress the throttle to get the car to accelerate up to speed faster to compensate and it decides to drop a gear for you and the car surges forward a little faster than you want... it's pretty much got a mind of it's own...

if you drive one of those VW 7 speed DSG's, you will feel it is even more annoying especially in traffic..
butthead
post Feb 28 2014, 10:50 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(awongck @ Feb 28 2014, 06:20 PM)
Lets just monitor it for now but I agree gear change seems to be a bit rough but I hope it becomes less noticeable as time goes on

Same here about 40KM so far, 80 when I head back home. Most likely will keep it under 100 or 3K RPM till after 1K like Butthead suggests
nah... it doesn't happen..

i even went as far as asking for a drain of the ATF and change it during the 2nd service to see if it's better but end up it's the same.... i used back Honda's DW1 ATF as they did not allow me to use the redline ATF that i brought along...
croomaniac
post Mar 1 2014, 07:02 PM

269 posts

talk about RPM, i wonder how many of you had tried to 'open' up your i-vtec?

or, what do you feel when the i-vtec is open up?

or, do you actually know how to i-vtec-ing your car?

icon_rolleyes.gif
butthead
post Mar 1 2014, 10:02 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Mar 1 2014, 07:02 PM)
talk about RPM, i wonder how many of you had tried to 'open' up your i-vtec?

or, what do you feel when the i-vtec is open up?

or, do you actually know how to i-vtec-ing your car?

icon_rolleyes.gif
Ivtec is variable valve timing la.. the cam timing is adjusted as you drive based on the throttle inputs... in terms of the valve lift it is based on the vtec point set in the ecu... you dont "open" it by choice... you jus need to floor it and once it gets to that point then the cam profiles will switch and you get a slight surge...
croomaniac
post Mar 2 2014, 09:35 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 1 2014, 10:02 PM)
Ivtec is variable valve timing la.. the cam timing is adjusted as you drive based on the throttle inputs... in terms of the valve lift it is based on the vtec point set in the ecu... you dont "open" it by choice... you jus need to floor it and once it gets to that point then the cam profiles will switch and you get a slight surge...
thats what i thought as well.. but i think that this vtec thing will not just open up like that.. you'll have to ram your rpm to get the feel of it..

example 1:
You want to overtake a slow car.
You are in D.
Press throttle.
You managed to overtake the car.
Speedometer now: maybe 90/100 kmh
You feel slight edge.
But it was actually your car downshift the gear.
Then gear up again up to gear 5.
RPM is about 2.5 to 3

Question: Does the vtec kicks in?
Answer: I don't think so. Every auto car will actually behave the same. (correct me if i'm wrong)

example 2:
You are in D.
You downshift the gear to D3 manually.
Press the throttle.
RPM is up to 5 or more.
Speedometer now: Maybe 120kmh or more.
Then only you put to D.
Overtaking is easybeezy. Maybe you had just felt that 120PS.

Answer: Hell yeah. Actually, i think the vtec kicks in at about 4.5 to 5. You can feel the famous 'vtec pull', but not that much. The gears and all are not meant for tracks or racing.

Well, that are based on my q&a with my 'Honda' friend. He owned a DC5. I've never been in his DC5 to feel the vtech kick in thing but my other friend had his. From his argument, normal D will not actually put your car to the fullest of its capability. To feel the vtec is actually to drive your Auto car, Manually. According to him as well, his sister's Civic FD vtec kicks in at around the same RPM. You can actually start from standstill using 1, then only change to 2 (anytime you like) after you felt the vtech urge, then D3 then only D after you 'satisfied'..

Pressing D will not open vtech meh? Yes, it will, eventually.. but your vtec is opened at gear 5 lah kot.. how bout other gears? hmm.gif

As there are many readings (here and fb) saying that this car (read: engine) is underpowered.. well, what can i say? I can say that it is not underpowered, it was actually a case where you don't know yet how to drive (read: use) it.. to gain 100kmh quick is not that hard. You can do it in D3 mode je. I didn't do my own timing as yet, but records shown it took about 8 seconds to gain 100kmh? But you'll have to use the 'Manual' for this vtec thing to assist you.

If this vtec thing is in every gear in D mode, you'll surely visit the fuel pump regularly boss.. So, think twice before happily open your vtec everytime

Tried that, done that. cool2.gif
Eterman
post Mar 2 2014, 10:57 AM

490 posts

some articles i read on net states that jazz engine's ivtec doesn't have vtc, almost similar to previous vtec engine? so which ivtec engines have vtc ?
butthead
post Mar 2 2014, 03:27 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Mar 2 2014, 09:35 AM)
thats what i thought as well.. but i think that this vtec thing will not just open up like that.. you'll have to ram your rpm to get the feel of it..

example 1:
You are in D.
Press throttle.
You managed to overtake the car.
Speedometer now: maybe 90/100 kmh
You feel slight edge.
But it was actually your car downshift the gear.
Then gear up again up to gear 5.
RPM is about 2.5 to 3

Answer: I don't think so. Every auto car will actually behave the same. (correct me if i'm wrong)

example 2:
You are in D.
You downshift the gear to D3 manually.
Press the throttle.
RPM is up to 5 or more.
Speedometer now: Maybe 120kmh or more.
Then only you put to D.
Overtaking is easybeezy. Maybe you had just felt that 120PS.

Answer: Hell yeah. Actually, i think the vtec kicks in at about 4.5 to 5. You can feel the famous 'vtec pull', but not that much. The gears and all are not meant for tracks or racing.

Well, that are based on my q&a with my 'Honda' friend. He owned a DC5. I've never been in his DC5 to feel the vtech kick in thing but my other friend had his. From his argument, normal D will not actually put your car to the fullest of its capability. To feel the vtec is actually to drive your Auto car, Manually. According to him as well, his sister's Civic FD vtec kicks in at around the same RPM. You can actually start from standstill using 1, then only change to 2 (anytime you like) after you felt the vtech urge, then D3 then only D after you 'satisfied'..

Pressing D will not open vtech meh? Yes, it will, eventually.. but your vtec is opened at gear 5 lah kot.. how bout other gears?  hmm.gif

As there are many readings (here and fb) saying that this car (read: engine) is underpowered.. well, what can i say? I can say that it is not underpowered, it was actually a case where you don't know yet how to drive (read: use) it.. to gain 100kmh quick is not that hard. You can do it in D3 mode je. I didn't do my own timing as yet, but records shown it took about 8 seconds to gain 100kmh? But you'll have to use the 'Manual' for this vtec thing to assist you.

If this vtec thing is in every gear in D mode, you'll surely visit the fuel pump regularly boss.. So, think twice before happily open your vtec everytime

Tried that, done that.  cool2.gif
i don't know where you are going to with this...

in terms of the vtec cam kick feel of the b16b, b18c, k20ar.... i can tell you it's not there whatever you do... the l15a7 is built to be a consumer engine... not an outright performance engine... else, it won't be outputting only a measly 120ps for a 1.5l...even the b16b 1.6lit had in excess of 160 horse on tap which is just a notch above 100 horse per liter...so, if you expect the feel of the performance engines...you'll be in for some heavy disappointments...

and the VTEC will engage in all the gears and not 5th alone... if you plant your pedal into the carpet from standstill... every gear will shift up around 6.5k revs.. it depends on your throttle inputs as i said before... this L series engine gives you the feel of a slight surge when the VTEC engages and not the feel of a kick like from it's big brothers... you just feel the power keeps going on rather smoothly rather than tapering off until it upshifts...even if it only engages in 5th, it's a bit rather pointless as you say it will be around 4.5 to 5k revs which means the car is most likely traveling above 160kph already and acceleration at that point upwards is dang slow.. i doubt you can feel anything at all... if there is anything to be felt at all... it's during the first and 2nd gear pulls.. even 3rd feels a bit weak already...

so, if it's a throttle problem... it is the same as any car.. if you floor a vios or a city / jazz all the time... it is going to be the same outcome which means more visits to your friendly local drinking hole...
butthead
post Mar 2 2014, 03:33 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(tinybee @ Mar 1 2014, 11:44 PM)
Will it scream though?
depends on what you are expecting...

but, i'll have to say no to that...it's loud.. but it's nowhere near what you expect most probably...
butthead
post Mar 2 2014, 03:38 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Eterman @ Mar 2 2014, 10:57 AM)
some articles i read on net states that jazz engine's ivtec doesn't have vtc, almost similar to previous vtec engine? so which ivtec engines have vtc ?
if there is no VTC on i-vtec... why call it intelligent-vtec in the first place...

the timing control is the essential part of a revolution which is why Honda decided to have a new name for it instead of their older VTEC naming....the variable valve timing is there to help optimize flow into the combustion at lower rev ranges to maximize power output at all rev ranges where the design of VTEC did not really take care of...

147 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:00 PM