6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V18, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

christina1
post Mar 11 2014, 01:47 PM

Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching.
2,104 posts

QUOTE(buyoq @ Mar 11 2014, 01:45 PM)
modem ? i dont think so
what do you not reliable ? which model ure using currently ?
modem name is Huawei...urs?
christina1
post Mar 11 2014, 02:21 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Mar 11 2014, 02:18 PM)
No, I didn't. From what I know, IPTV is not supported if you do so.

Correct me if I am wrong.
ok some say can some say cant dont know which is right...Ur modem that u are using is provided by telekom?
christina1
post Mar 11 2014, 02:40 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Mar 11 2014, 02:25 PM)
Yes, as stated in my previous post reply.

But my modem is different as I stay in a high-rise, so using VDSL2 (copper wire) instead of fibre - using a ZTE modem. I used to be given a problematic VDSL2 modem from Huawei (overheating problem, unstable line) but later models resolved it - I had a few replaced every few weeks until finally they replaced with the ZTE one.

Even those subscribing to Maxis Fiber will get the same few models provided by TM - TM technicians will configure the modem while Maxis technicians configure the router.
Is my modem provided by tm has problems?

ok are u happy with the TP link router or looking of getting better want?

This post has been edited by christina1: Mar 11 2014, 04:49 PM
christina1
post Mar 11 2014, 08:43 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(buyoq @ Mar 11 2014, 06:11 PM)
wrong
i still got the modem from my previous installation and im using the new Alcatel ONU right now
which is the best modem to used for Unifi since we cant purchased our own modem.
christina1
post Mar 11 2014, 09:24 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Mar 11 2014, 09:06 PM)
do u try flash openwrt??
i flash openwrt for tplink 1043d my iptv still working
i not sure about ddwrt but u sure u configure correct?
openwrt and ddrwt what is the difference?
christina1
post Mar 11 2014, 09:55 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(buyoq @ Mar 11 2014, 10:28 AM)
cool
same as mine

http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database
search for "841n"
download these files from the 7.x revision
- factory-to-ddwrt.bin
- tl-wr841nd-webflash.bin

follow the guide here http://klseet.com/index.php/setup-walk-thr...ctory-to-dd-wrt
so far i have flash it ddrwt yet looks like my connection is ok at the moment.
christina1
post Mar 12 2014, 09:27 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Mar 11 2014, 11:23 PM)
I am not sure about the modem you are using, since I am using a completely different type, i.e. VDSL2 (phone cable) instead of fibre.

For the TP-Link router, yes, satisfied with it. I actually have 3 units of the WR841ND and 1 unit of WR4300.

Currently for my UniFi connection, I am using the WR4300 as the main router, and a WR841ND (LAN to LAN connection) to extend my wireless (I have serious wireless issues due to too many access points by neighbors!)

One more WR841ND I am using it with 4Mbps Streamyx at my kampung & it works very well there, even wireless due to very few neighboring access points.

And of course one more 841ND is a spare unit.
i want to extend my wireless do i need another router?
christina1
post Mar 12 2014, 11:47 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Mar 12 2014, 11:33 AM)
You can either use a wireless access point, a wireless extender, or simply use another wireless router.

In the case of wireless extender, it is a device that picks up wireless signal from an existing wireless AP/router and retransmit it. This requires no wires except for the wire that powers the device.

In the case of wireless access point (AP), you need to connect Ethernet (LAN) cable from the main router to the AP.

However, Wireless AP cost rather expensive compared to the price of a wireless router, hence, you can actually use a wireless router as if it's a wireless AP. To do so, you need to connect the LAN port from the main router to one of the LAN port of the other wireless router. You also need to DISABLE DHCP & uPnP on this other router you intend to use to extend it.
can i used 2 same wireless router models? Plan to extend wifi coverage since its not strong at all....
christina1
post Mar 12 2014, 01:20 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Mar 12 2014, 12:51 PM)
Sure you can. Doesn't matter if they are the same brand/model or not.
I dont know if really need extra router or not since i only get 3 full signal on my wifi and not 5 full bar signal for my devices...
christina1
post Mar 12 2014, 07:44 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Mar 12 2014, 07:11 PM)
WiFi signal is a very tricky thing. First, if you are staying in a double-storey house, it's best to place the wireless router on the upper floor. Depending on the size of your house, it should be able to cover mostly entire house provided the router is placed around the middle of the house. If you stay in those 2 1/2 or 3-storey house, it will get even more tricky.

But have you considered a different technology called HomePlug (a.k.a. Powerline adapter)? I have basically given up on Wi-Fi to connect my laptop/PC to the network since I am facing serious interference with Wi-Fi due to many neighbouring Wi-Fi access points as I stay in a condo. Now I use HomePlug to connect them, leaving the Wi-Fi only for mobile devices such as smartphones.
What u suggest get another wifi router or used my existing router that tmnet provided connect with my TPlink router...

Btw how many MB u are using?

This post has been edited by christina1: Mar 12 2014, 07:46 PM
christina1
post Mar 13 2014, 09:07 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Mar 13 2014, 08:11 AM)
You can try using the existing router provided by TM & see if the wireless signal is good. Remember to connect Ethernet (LAN) cable from the 841ND LAN port 2, 3 or 4 (do NOT connect to Port 1 for IPTV) to the LAN port on the router provided by TM (do NOT connect to the IPTV port on the other router too). Remember to disable DHCP & uPnP in the other router.

If it doesn't work well, then perhaps you try get another router, a new 841ND can do the job!

Btw, I am using 10Mbps.
new 841ND cost around RM 79 and its one of the cheapest router out there now...

I am too using 10mb and think is too much for me now since upgraded from 5mb as current offer from Unifi will get free upgrade if subscribe to hpytv..
christina1
post Mar 13 2014, 07:51 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Mar 13 2014, 08:11 AM)
You can try using the existing router provided by TM & see if the wireless signal is good. Remember to connect Ethernet (LAN) cable from the 841ND LAN port 2, 3 or 4 (do NOT connect to Port 1 for IPTV) to the LAN port on the router provided by TM (do NOT connect to the IPTV port on the other router too). Remember to disable DHCP & uPnP in the other router.

If it doesn't work well, then perhaps you try get another router, a new 841ND can do the job!

Btw, I am using 10Mbps.
You have any picture to show how did u connect this 2 Tplink 841ND router?
christina1
post Mar 14 2014, 08:27 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Mar 13 2014, 11:14 PM)
As attached.

NOTE: I am using WR-4300 as the main wireless router and WR-841ND to extend my wireless coverage. Do take note that on the device that act as access point, you must disable DHCP & uPnP (this only required to enable on the main router) and also you should select "Normal Mode" in the WAN settings of the 2nd router so that you can use all 4 Ethernet LAN ports.

As for Wireless config, make sure the 2 wireless access points are configured on different non-overlapping channels, i.e. Channel 1, 6, or 11. Do not use the same channel on both, & do not use any other channels other than these three. Also do NOT use auto-channel selection.
Ok thnks...but still not sure which extra router to purchased thinking of getting this Model Asus RT4N12HP...
christina1
post Apr 3 2014, 04:17 PM

2,104 posts

Hi Guys,

10mb unifi connection can used up to how many desktop/laptop plus is there any online software to monitor how many mb/gb i have used per day.
christina1
post Apr 5 2014, 10:06 AM

2,104 posts

Hi Guys,

Is there any where I can know i am fully utilizing my 10MB unifi connection?
christina1
post Apr 5 2014, 10:14 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Apr 5 2014, 10:14 AM)
I use this software  thumbup.gif

[attachmentid=3917669]
where did you download this software?
christina1
post Apr 5 2014, 10:42 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Apr 5 2014, 10:22 AM)
LOL u don't have Google? hahaha  laugh.gif

--->| HERE |<---
ok thanks btw how many MB u are using?
christina1
post Apr 5 2014, 11:04 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Apr 5 2014, 11:01 AM)
1)Try downloading a huge torrent
2)Ookla speed test
well some of the website like http://footyroom.com/ and facebook Vidoes are lagging in HD ...I dont know why.I am not downloading any files but video still lags
christina1
post Apr 5 2014, 11:12 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Apr 5 2014, 11:10 AM)
Ur PC spec?  hmm.gif
Core i5 750 with 4GB Ram and normal Graphic Card.
christina1
post Apr 5 2014, 11:19 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Apr 5 2014, 11:16 AM)
U play 720p or 1080p? what ur pc reso? 10Mbps sure no lag or buffering even watch the 1440p youtube videos.. unless the PC itself didn't support or other user in ur home use the internet
Youtube is ok no buffering only site like this http://footyroom.com/ are buffering...

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0520sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:15 AM