Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v5, 3rd gen of the best phablet ever!!

AmmoShaf
post Sep 27 2013, 12:36 PM

702 posts

joytest bro and other sifu, I would like to ask question regarding Maxis postpaid plan. Currently I'm using Maxis postpaid without any contract. Been using since 3 months ago. If I want to buy Note 3 and subscribe for Maxis Surfmore Plan or other plan, can I still retain my current number or I need to register new number?

I tried to call Maxis CS but their answer are confusing and seems like they didn't know about this. One more thing, even though I'm not on contract, I still cannot cancel this postpaid because I need to use it for 6 months at least. Thanks guys.

p.s : sorry if this is off topic but all knowledgeable sifu are here. sweat.gif
AmmoShaf
post Sep 27 2013, 02:34 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Sep 27 2013, 01:03 PM)
Confusing CS is confusing....

If you are not on contract, you can subscribe to any new plans without changing number. Everything will be the same except the bill. I've changed sub-line to Primary, sub-line to package and even my own Primary line to package/contract without changing numbers.

So you definitely can change plans without changing number. I assume you do not have any other contracts under your name as each name can have only 2 existing contracts at anyone time (not to be confused with Primary lines).
That's great. I just confuse because every time I go to Maxis outlet(not Maxis centre) they will make things complicated. So, I think it better for me to ask here because I know you guys have better knowledge.

One thing though, as I ask before, even I'm not on any contract, Maxis told me that I need to use the postpaid plan for 6 months at least. This doesn't affect anything if I want to subscribe for those postpaid package right? Yes I don't have any other number, this is my primary line and the only line that I use.

And, bro, is there any other ways to become MOC member if I'm not using Maxis postpaid more than one year? notworthy.gif

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 27 2013, 01:05 PM)
Yes you can retain number n signup for any plan you wish

In PJ Digital Mall now n recorded quite good download speeds on 4G

[attachmentid=3648562][attachmentid=3648564]
Thanks Uncle Benny. Actually I owned a Note 2 before and then give it to my mom after using it for 3months because of the size factor. I love the screen, I love everything about it except when I want to keep it in my pocket. It s too large, and I'm not even wearing those skinny jeans.

I'm looking for smaller high end android phone and decided to choose between Butt S, and Z1. But then when i saw the size comparison in youtube, Z1 and Butt S size is almost the same size with Note 3 except for Butt S is quite narrower. I then follow this thread on the launching day and been poison so hard by you guys, so now I am decding to wait for other models or just get the Note 3. Any advice for me? And how is battery life compared to Note 2? sweat.gif

AmmoShaf
post Sep 27 2013, 03:49 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Sep 27 2013, 02:50 PM)
You don't choose to be MOC. Maxis invites you to MOC based on your spending (at least RM150 monthly) and good payment records over the course of 1 year. So I guess there's no other way around if have not been with Maxis for a while.

I don't understand why you need to use the postpaid for at least 6 months before allowed to change if you are not in contract. I've been with Maxis for 13 years now, so I can't comment on new customer plans or how they work.

If you have no contract, you should be able to change to any other plans.
Ok understood. I thought Maxis doesn't care how much you spend per month as long as you have been using postpaid for a year, you are entitle to join MOC. I had been changing from prepaid to postpaid, and postpaid to prepaid for a number of time, just because of so many hidden charges for postpaid users.

Never mind, I would go to Maxis centre and ask them regarding my case, hopefully they will be helpful and I am poisoned enough to get the Note 3. Thanks a lot bro.

QUOTE(Cynox @ Sep 27 2013, 03:10 PM)
AmmoShaf I think you misunderstood Maxis.  I am very sure the 6 months restriction is for porting - meaning you cannot port out to another telco within 6 months.  But you are free to sign up any contract/plan under Maxis.  That's what quite a few bro done here these few days - port out from DiGi and sign up Maxis bundle for Note 3.  biggrin.gif
Ya ya, that's right. I had problem porting from Maxis postpaid to hotlink(Maxis prepaid) because of the 6 months restriction. And i had been so confused because once when I asked Maxis customer service whether I can subscribe to any Maxis plan and retain my number, they said NO.

So bro, how's your Note 3? Does the reviews on youtube about Note 3 being slimmer than Note 2 true? brows.gif
AmmoShaf
post Sep 29 2013, 12:15 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 29 2013, 12:05 PM)
Andrewtst, please learn how to multi-quote next time. If those posts were made at the same time as yours, I could have understood but those were posts made much earlier.

*This is considered as an attempt to increase post count in my dictionary. I can't reset users' post count but Admin can with the request from moderating team.
Sis, can I ask you some questions? Since you are an android lover, why do you choose Note Series? Why not Nexus or Sony or HTC? Do you use S-pen so often?

Actually I asked this to convince myself to get Note 3 instead of other phones. But I really don't like having the same phone with all people around me, and I know I will not use the S-pen regularly because I had owned Note 2 before. And I don't see any other high-end android phone that can beat Note 3 for now.
AmmoShaf
post Sep 29 2013, 01:09 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Sep 29 2013, 12:17 PM)
LG G Pro then if you don't use the s pen. Totally different but looks the same. Looks is a non functional requirement.
Never thought of using LG phones. But when you suggest to look at G Pro, I watched some of the review in Youtube and it seems quite nice. The specs though is a little bit old compared to the Note 3. Maybe wait for Nexus 5?

And don't get me wrong, although I'm not using the S-pen, it wouldn't hurt to have it. Just finding reason to convince myself of getting the Note 3.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 29 2013, 12:26 PM)
I love big screen phones and yes I'm not a S-Pen frequent user but it is good to have. I only bring my phone to meetings these days.

However, this Note 3 totally changes my perceptions towards S-Pen. You have to try the Air Command yourself. biggrin.gif
I too feel big screen phones is a need for me nowadays. And pocket-able is a must, as I don't want to carry my phone around in hand like a girl. How do you feels about the size compared to Note 2? I mean the feels in hand and in pocket.

I would love the Air command because I had seen videos review, but I know I will be using it for 2 days maximum and then forget that I had the S-pen.

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 29 2013, 12:28 PM)
Nexus - not my taste, all Nexus design is too ugly.

HTC - none my favour yet, and no S800. S800 is my main target now as that the only support 4K video.

Sony - before getting this Note 3. I am previous owner of Z and Z Ultra. Z is good but lousy display.  Z Ultra is not that stable, the bugs never solve even after 3 firmware release.

I buy Note 3 as I like it design, spec and no regret till now. Buying it not because of S-Pen but others spec like screen, processor.
Nexus is too ugly seriously? sweat.gif

Okay, understand about the HTC, but for Sony, I think you are the guy who complaints a lot about the viewing angle right? I want to know when does this viewing angles affect the most? Because I never owned Xperia phone, so I don't want to make mistake by buying the new Z1.
AmmoShaf
post Sep 29 2013, 04:28 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Sep 29 2013, 03:12 PM)
I get note 3 mainly wants the good batery life and big screen in fullhd and spec. Spen? Try sir command when 1st day now no more using it. I use pen write down the note in my notebook is faster for me use spen write in the note2 or 3.
I am a nexus supporter all the while currently still keep galaxy nexus which running in custom rom 4.3 bugs and lag free,...just the battery is so so . And by the way, not much ppl know what is nexus phone also. U might end up ppl think u r using samsung lookalike unit....haha.

Htc out for me....
Sony i will still consider.....almost get z1 but due to screen issue so get note 3,
.i like sony stamina mode. Really can save battery compare to other brand .
Exactly. Bro, I was thinking the same. I want Note 3 because of the good battery capacity, superb screen and Samsung had been reliable for so long. I just don't want to use phone that all people around me are using. I want to be different. But looks like I have no choice. There are no phone can come close as Note 3.

Want wait for Nexus 5 but don't know when is the exact date of launching and hands so already so itchy... sweat.gif

0.0332sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:31 AM