TSmox123
Sep 25 2013, 10:49 PM, updated 13y ago

Hi All,
I bought a 20yrs old condo and thinking whether should I change the current ELCB/MCB?
If to change, I'm planning to go for Hager or Schneider brand.
Is there any good reason to change? What is the advantage using those branded ELCB/MCB?
togepi795
Sep 25 2013, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(mox123 @ Sep 25 2013, 11:49 PM) Hi All, I bought a 20yrs old condo and thinking whether should I change the current ELCB/MCB? If to change, I'm planning to go for Hager or Schneider brand. Is there any good reason to change? What is the advantage using those branded ELCB/MCB? Thanks. try all the switch in ur house..and open up all the lighting in ur condo...if got aircon turn it on...then c lah the condition ie light goes *bling*bling or etc...well thats all mayb bcoz of ur wiring in the house ware and tare.normally those elcb(rcd) and mcb can still work around 20k operation hour...did u try to on off all ur elcb/mcb?sometimes the switch is worn out already so it spoilt... Hager and Schneider both are good brands, i dont c any advantages on both parties...its either the pricing maybe abit different on one another...
TSmox123
Sep 25 2013, 11:28 PM

QUOTE(togepi795 @ Sep 25 2013, 11:06 PM) try all the switch in ur house..and open up all the lighting in ur condo...if got aircon turn it on...then c lah the condition ie light goes *bling*bling or etc...well thats all mayb bcoz of ur wiring in the house ware and tare.normally those elcb(rcd) and mcb can still work around 20k operation hour...did u try to on off all ur elcb/mcb?sometimes the switch is worn out already so it spoilt... Hager and Schneider both are good brands, i dont c any advantages on both parties...its either the pricing maybe abit different on one another... Thanks for comment :-) Actually I think the condo was wired with 3 phases (saw 3 numbers of 63A fuses). When I got the key for the condo, some of the lighting points were not working. During the plaster ceiling and wiring works, my contractor told me that one of the 63A fuse was blown and also told me that some of the MCBs were getting old too.... That's why I got the idea whether to change all the ELCBs and MCBs or not doing anything..... Regarding the advantages, I'm referring the Hager/Schneider brand vs those non branded one, what kind of advantages will I gain (in layman terms)? Thanks.
sam sam
Sep 26 2013, 08:03 AM
Hager and better brands tend to last longer because of the better built. Things like aircon has high starting current and overtime wear down the mcb and elcb. This is where the better brands then to last longer
I would use the better brand because bulk cost is from fixing the mcb or elcb. You dont want to change half way when its burn. Very messy and tedious
weikee
Sep 26 2013, 09:09 AM
Get a better brand, difference are not much. ABB is also not bad and not expensive too. Just beware of imitation.
Do the things right at the first time, redo will need time and money.
TSmox123
Sep 26 2013, 01:30 PM

Thanks all for feedback....
Yes, I'll go for the Hager and already got the quote for it....
Before installation, I just want to what is the different only.
Btw, what is the normal price to ask an electrician to re-install the below:
1) 20 numbers of MCB 2) 3 numbers of ELCB
I got quoted RM200 but is for single phase MCB/ELCB installation, not sure whether any different for 3 phase.....not able to contact the installer yet....
TSmox123
Sep 27 2013, 11:08 PM

Hi All,
I also bought a Surge arrestor to install in the DB.....do you think is enough for lighting protection? Do I still need to use individual surge arrestor (like extension cord with surge protector) for some of equipments?
Eng_Tat
Sep 28 2013, 12:15 PM
You can buy all this by your self. The workmanship around 200 to 500. mcb for hager 7.5 each and 63a elcb for single phase around 80 while heaters elcb 80 to 150 depend on sensitivity. QUOTE(mox123 @ Sep 27 2013, 11:08 PM) Hi All, I also bought a Surge arrestor to install in the DB.....do you think is enough for lighting protection? Do I still need to use individual surge arrestor (like extension cord with surge protector) for some of equipments?
TSmox123
Sep 28 2013, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Sep 28 2013, 12:15 PM) You can buy all this by your self. The workmanship around 200 to 500. mcb for hager 7.5 each and 63a elcb for single phase around 80 while heaters elcb 80 to 150 depend on sensitivity. Why so cheap? My MCB : 1P, 6kA, 6A cost me RM13 each and ELCB 4P, 100mA, 63A cost me RM177 each....it cannot be so much different, especially on the MCB, right? Unless I really kena potong gao gao....and fyi, i bought from a shop who publish in this forum too. btw, still waiting some expert to comment about whether should install additional arrestor on individual outlet if already have one in the DB.
Eng_Tat
Sep 28 2013, 06:54 PM
The price for ELCB I said was for single phase if 4p I expects around 130-150. MCB definitely kena potong I think. for hager if I get from normal reputable shop is around rm7.5-9. last year I did new wiring for my new house, added quite a nos of things. QUOTE(mox123 @ Sep 28 2013, 04:55 PM) Why so cheap? My MCB : 1P, 6kA, 6A cost me RM13 each and ELCB 4P, 100mA, 63A cost me RM177 each....it cannot be so much different, especially on the MCB, right? Unless I really kena potong gao gao....and fyi, i bought from a shop who publish in this forum too. btw, still waiting some expert to comment about whether should install additional arrestor on individual outlet if already have one in the DB.
Ryan Soo
Sep 28 2013, 07:44 PM

Last time I saw some product advertised on the net, stated that you can save electricity by pluging in it at any socket of your home. It will reduce electricity bills.
Anyone heard of such thing?
TSmox123
Sep 28 2013, 09:40 PM

QUOTE(Ryan Soo @ Sep 28 2013, 07:44 PM) Last time I saw some product advertised on the net, stated that you can save electricity by pluging in it at any socket of your home. It will reduce electricity bills. Anyone heard of such thing? Wat kind of product???
TSmox123
Sep 29 2013, 12:08 AM

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Sep 28 2013, 06:54 PM) The price for ELCB I said was for single phase if 4p I expects around 130-150. MCB definitely kena potong I think. for hager if I get from normal reputable shop is around rm7.5-9. last year I did new wiring for my new house, added quite a nos of things. I c....not sure the shop I bought fr is a reputable one but they do mainly on those branded products and the boss himself is very friendly and helpful.....one Of the reason I didn't survey further. Another reason was my electrician told me tat those branded mcb is normally cost more than rm10.... This post has been edited by mox123: Sep 29 2013, 12:21 AM
Ryan Soo
Sep 29 2013, 03:17 AM

QUOTE(mox123 @ Sep 28 2013, 09:40 PM) thats what i m asking too.. i wanna find out.. plug in to socket wall and help reduce electricity bill if any1 knew of such thing pls share..thx
Eng_Tat
Sep 29 2013, 11:01 AM
Hmm, This is mine: http://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-64/...-1347204531.jpg I am using All Hager product, the pic is for my 1st floor. QUOTE(mox123 @ Sep 29 2013, 12:08 AM) I c....not sure the shop I bought fr is a reputable one but they do mainly on those branded products and the boss himself is very friendly and helpful.....one Of the reason I didn't survey further. Another reason was my electrician told me tat those branded mcb is normally cost more than rm10....
Eng_Tat
Sep 29 2013, 11:02 AM
The box is also Hager, RM80 if i m not mistaken, normal one is around rm20. http://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-64/...-1347204548.jpg
weikee
Sep 29 2013, 11:09 AM
Some brand I know have same model but made in different country. ABB used to have China and local made.
TSmox123
Sep 29 2013, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Sep 29 2013, 11:01 AM) Hmm, This is mine: http://forum.lowyat.net/uploads/attach-64/...-1347204531.jpg I am using All Hager product, the pic is for my 1st floor. Looks neat and nice Mine didn't change the DB, use back the old one....
ozak
Sep 29 2013, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 29 2013, 11:09 AM) Some brand I know have same model but made in different country. ABB used to have China and local made. Beware, got pirated too. ABB very very cheap also have. Look for cheap, look for trouble.
TSmox123
Oct 10 2013, 10:29 PM

Hi, Below is my existing DB configuration. As you can see there are 2 ELCB in 1st and 2nd row and according to my electrician after checking, they are connected to 32A MCB (both for water heaters) individually. It seems like is additional protection for the 32A MCB. However, my electrician was telling me it is not necessary and don't understand why previous owner did this. What he explained to me the ELCB itself is rated at 40A and if anything more than 32A, the MCB already tripped, so the ELCB serve no purpose. His explanation sounds logic but would like to get some other opinions here especially why need the an ELCB just for a MCB? And does anybody seens this kind of connection before?  Thanks.