Car Audio: SUB-OUT=Subwoofer without Amplifier
TSaureusy
Jun 4 2006, 11:17 PM, updated 20y ago
Hi, I've just bought an audio cd-mp3 player Sony CDXGT550, here's its specification:
* S-MOSFET 208 Watts Max (52 x 4) * Aux-In-Lite (Rear) * CD/MP3/WMA/ATRAC3 Playback with ID TAG * 24BIT Digital to Analogue Converter * Pre-Out x 3 (Front + Rear + Sub) * RM-X151 - Wireless Card Remote (incl.) * EQ3 Stage2 - 3Band EQ/7Presets * DSO II - Dynamic Sound Stage * CD-R/RW Playback * CD-Text Display/Scroll * BBE-MP
I was told by the car shop worker that this player allow connection to a subwoofer without need of going thru' an amplifier. Is that true?
I thought without an amplifier, connecting subwoofer directly to a player will always burn the player?
howiechoo
Jun 4 2006, 11:21 PM
erm...i always wonder how come they say can direct connect to sub..btw, maybe they mean active sub? i was wondering too and wanna get the answer...consider the hu provide 52x4 pmpo is about <20 rms each..if they able to bridge, then it become like say 60rms...but any sub that had such low rms? erm...8" chap ayam?
scotty
Jun 4 2006, 11:27 PM
THX Certified Conman
thread moved to a better place
Infinity
Jun 4 2006, 11:40 PM
no limit
connect to active sub is also possible... or get 2x 8" hanging at behind with a proper box attached... anyway with 52W each... don't expect much
howiechoo
Jun 5 2006, 02:29 AM
even it's 8" it will be very hard to drive it...unless the 8" is those really old school paper cone sub with no rubber / foam surround...
craziechild
Jun 5 2006, 09:28 AM
marketing craps.... they say can is when you bridge it it will play low frequency only kua... dun expect much if you connect it to a sub directly...
driftmeister
Jun 5 2006, 09:45 AM
hmm i would like to know more about it  so that i can save my money on amp and throw more money on sub !
singchaii
Jun 5 2006, 08:08 PM
Mean must have amplifier only can put in subwoofer?
craziechild
Jun 5 2006, 10:39 PM
not really... if you use normal mid-woofer like 6", 6x9 mayb can play if the speaker can handle them... if you wan it to play sub woofer then need a amp already.... cuz normally a sub will need at least 200Wrms to play... there is no HU in the world tht can give out tht much power i think...
jamal_skywalker
Jun 6 2006, 05:03 PM

is it amplifier or pre-amp?????if im not mistaken those sony player has function ssame as those pre-amp...it can control ur amplifier...means u can adjust the power level of ur amp through the player it self
ignn_tion
Jun 6 2006, 07:49 PM

I think you can drive a sub with the hu, but it won't be strong lor. And it will be very touchering for the HU.
driftmeister
Jun 6 2006, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(craziechild @ Jun 5 2006, 10:39 PM) not really... if you use normal mid-woofer like 6", 6x9 mayb can play if the speaker can handle them... if you wan it to play sub woofer then need a amp already.... cuz normally a sub will need at least 200Wrms to play... there is no HU in the world tht can give out tht much power i think... no la there's some sub which require 75w rms power
PrinceHamsap
Jun 6 2006, 11:36 PM
perhaps the salesman was mentioning ... LOUD function
singchaii
Jun 6 2006, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(craziechild @ Jun 5 2006, 10:39 PM) not really... if you use normal mid-woofer like 6", 6x9 mayb can play if the speaker can handle them... if you wan it to play sub woofer then need a amp already.... cuz normally a sub will need at least 200Wrms to play... there is no HU in the world tht can give out tht much power i think... Err.. My car now have 2 way speaker only. Can i jz put in a amp and a sub woofer? Or i need to put in mid-bass speaker then only can put a amp and woofer?
jamal_skywalker
Jun 7 2006, 12:13 AM

my experience by direct connecting the sub to the player..it will damage ur player IC...(some sort of chip inside the player).. summore no 'kiick' when using direct connection..hehe
howiechoo
Jun 7 2006, 01:26 AM
most probably mosfet / amp transistor..if mosfat, then can get new player if ur play cost <400...change mosfet priced RM200 for pioneer..othe i not sure..but if amp transistor, cost<50..lolz..if by me <30..hahaha
LuVjunz
Aug 5 2006, 12:16 PM

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Jun 7 2006, 02:26 AM) most probably mosfet / amp transistor..if mosfat, then can get new player if ur play cost <400...change mosfet priced RM200 for pioneer..othe i not sure..but if amp transistor, cost<50..lolz..if by me <30..hahaha yup it is impossible to power up a 10 or 12 or 15 sub with just a player. if it can then the player is worth more than 2k. coz got build in amp. which is impossible. if there is then all the amp is going to be extinct.