Playback divx/dvdrip movies, if ..

TSradiohead
post Jun 4 2006, 05:32 PM, updated 20y ago

18 + 5
1,484 posts

if i m playing a divx/dvdrip movies(approx 700-800mb) mostly it say stereo then i channel out the sound thru optical (nvidia soundstorm) to my amp/receiver will it decode the sound to true 5.1 channel dolby digital?

yes or no?

can explain abit. i m quite too old to to be geek enuf. tongue.gif

playing with vlc player 0.8.2
got HT setup (yammy amp & speaker)

This post has been edited by radiohead: Jun 4 2006, 05:33 PM
asellus
post Jun 4 2006, 05:40 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

Does the downloaded movie comes with 5.1 audio (either WMA or AAC)?

If not then you can't.
TSradiohead
post Jun 5 2006, 11:47 AM

18 + 5
1,484 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Jun 4 2006, 05:40 PM)
Does the downloaded movie comes with 5.1 audio (either WMA or AAC)?

If not then you can't.
most titles it say strereo (cant see any 5.1 available on vlc interface) -so thats mean the sound in stereo even i got reciever - i think it will decode to 5.1 DD.
if i remember correctly i can hear sound coming from rear speaker.

?

but i got some titles with 5.1 sound - yes it clearly available on vlc - thru my speaker.

Kai4ever
post Jun 5 2006, 12:18 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(radiohead @ Jun 5 2006, 11:47 AM)
most titles it say strereo (cant see any 5.1 available on vlc interface) -so thats mean the sound in stereo even i got reciever - i think it will decode to 5.1 DD.
if i remember correctly i can hear sound coming from rear speaker.

?

but i got some titles with 5.1 sound - yes it clearly available on vlc - thru my speaker.
if i'm not mistake, nowadays dvdrip use AC3 codec, and YES you will experience 5.1 audio... laugh.gif
abubin
post Jun 5 2006, 12:53 PM

10,429 posts

if you are asking whether the stereo sound will output to your 5.1 then yes. But you won't get true 5.1 surround sound.

If you want true 5.1 sound then the source need to have 5.1 in itself.
shinjite
post Jun 6 2006, 11:42 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,307 posts

Use hardware acceleration, then u will get fake 5.1, its basically stereo output but all of the channels will have it

If true 5.1, the source needs to be 5.1
avenger
post Jun 6 2006, 11:46 PM

What is there to put here?
1,467 posts

all depends on ur source divx file

if it supports SPDIF 5.1 or A52 or 5.1 surround, ok... then u will get real 5.1

if not u will just get fake 5.1 sounds.
TSradiohead
post Jun 8 2006, 02:12 PM

18 + 5
1,484 posts

QUOTE(avenger @ Jun 6 2006, 11:46 PM)
all depends on ur source divx file

if it supports SPDIF 5.1 or A52 or 5.1 surround, ok... then u will get real 5.1

if not u will just get fake 5.1 sounds.
so most of the titles(normal 2-hour movie) with <1g files are fake 5.1 ?
hope some dud will compress to below 1gig still produce 5.1DD.

i want fast, best, cheapest, easiest.

hi avenger.long time no hear.sori with the list.got too many project lah wink.gif

This post has been edited by radiohead: Jun 8 2006, 02:15 PM
shinjite
post Jun 8 2006, 06:57 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,307 posts

If a DivX file with DD5.1 channels and its only 700MB is not recommended
You will get crappy video quality instead

For 700MB encodes, best to use stereo or HE-AAC 5.1

Normally when I encode movies with DD5.1, I'll go for 1.4GB instead smile.gif
TSradiohead
post Jun 10 2006, 10:12 AM

18 + 5
1,484 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 8 2006, 06:57 PM)
If a DivX file with DD5.1 channels and its only 700MB is not recommended
You will get crappy video quality instead

For 700MB encodes, best to use stereo or HE-AAC 5.1

Normally when I encode movies with DD5.1, I'll go for 1.4GB instead smile.gif
so, in other word, 1.4Gb files give u DD5.1 sound ? smile.gif
shinjite
post Jun 10 2006, 11:56 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,307 posts

Nope, DD 5.1 is depends on the encoder him/herself if they want to add it in

This post has been edited by shinjite: Jun 10 2006, 11:57 PM
avenger
post Jun 10 2006, 11:59 PM

1,467 posts

QUOTE(radiohead @ Jun 8 2006, 02:12 PM)
so most of the titles(normal 2-hour movie) with <1g files are fake 5.1 ?
hope some dud will compress to below 1gig still produce 5.1DD.

i want fast, best, cheapest, easiest.

hi avenger.long time no hear.sori with the list.got too many project lah wink.gif
<1g sure can get 5.1 (but can imagine the video quality la laugh.gif )

the list no problem. recently i also very busy.
TSradiohead
post Jun 11 2006, 02:20 PM

18 + 5
1,484 posts

but some titles are pretty fine with 700-800mb ver.
the things is, i got fed up when i bought some 'RM 8 Dvd' but the visual quality really dissapoint me. not gambar wayang, but the visual look pecah, scratchy. shit. better with my 700mb torrent ver. alot better.

i think torrentspy got comment feature - so we can know a little bit info regarding the files.
iso? mini?btjunkie? pi-bay?- tons files but no comment.
any super torrent search outhere - gud response/comment from user -PM the link to me plz. smile.gif

This post has been edited by radiohead: Jun 11 2006, 02:21 PM
avenger
post Jun 11 2006, 02:22 PM

1,467 posts

QUOTE(radiohead @ Jun 11 2006, 02:20 PM)
but some titles are pretty fine with 700-800mb ver.
the things is, i got fed up when i bought some 'RM 8 Dvd' but the visual quality really dissapoint me. not gambar wayang, but the visual look pecah, scratchy. shit. better with my 700mb torrent ver. alot better.

i think torrentspy got comment feature - so we can know a little bit info regarding the files.
iso? mini?btjunkie? pi-bay?- tons files but no comment.
any super torrent search outhere - gud response/comment from user -PM the link to me plz. smile.gif
torrentspy sometimes got ppl talk crap there, other than that i dont see problems. RM dvd?? the dvd9 that has vcd quality ar? tongue.gif
buzz_bender
post Jun 11 2006, 02:39 PM

115 posts

Go download a program called VirtualDubMod (it's freeware). Then open the video file there and check out the video information there. It'll show you what kind of video and audio codec it uses.

If it's really 5.1 audio, the file will be much bigger because AC3 audio files are much bigger than mp3s, and dolby digital format is even bigger.
avenger
post Jun 11 2006, 02:45 PM

1,467 posts

QUOTE(buzz_bender @ Jun 11 2006, 02:39 PM)
Go download a program called VirtualDubMod (it's freeware). Then open the video file there and check out the video information there. It'll show you what kind of video and audio codec it uses.

If it's really 5.1 audio, the file will be much bigger because AC3 audio files are much bigger than mp3s, and dolby digital format is even bigger.
no need virtualdub

gspot codec information is enuff for that purpose
shinjite
post Jun 13 2006, 01:16 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,307 posts

QUOTE(buzz_bender @ Jun 11 2006, 02:39 PM)

FYI, AC3 = Dolby Digital

keyz
post Jun 21 2006, 11:37 AM

1,271 posts

Please focus discussion on the way video being made only.Any link to the movie or hint where to get it is prohibited.

0.0157sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:16 PM