QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 3 2013, 01:13 PM)
I wonder if the dilly dally and much refinement on the design, system and weapon added the price.
Military Thread V10, Merry X'Mas and Happy New Year
Oct 3 2013, 11:24 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
406 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: 3°50'**.**"N - 103°16'**.**"E |
QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 3 2013, 01:13 PM) I wonder if the dilly dally and much refinement on the design, system and weapon added the price. |
Oct 4 2013, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(gnome @ Oct 4 2013, 08:20 AM) Lol this bad boy beside the booth im working only err bang boleh check takHeard today will have police demo (marine probably) demo at pullman ksut ni brapa hengget? ![]() QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 4 2013, 10:37 AM) Not surprise at all we are the first one who buy 3000plus tonnage gowind class. Jadi kita yang kena tanggung most of the design cost. Quite true, plus iim they refinement of the design has been done more then once.If it were meko csl or freedom class the cost could be more than 800mil a ship. Somehow sgpv make me fell like 2 in 1 purchase. Lekiu class batch 2 + sgpv. with every refinement the engineer have to make sure that their stealth factor are not compromise lekie batch 2? it does give that feeling This post has been edited by atreyuangel: Oct 4 2013, 11:36 AM |
Oct 4 2013, 02:54 PM
Pride of the navy fleets - Jervis Bay the perfect backdrop as visiting warships go on parade
![]() Australian and visiting foreign warships anchored in at Creswell, Jervis Bay. Source: News Limited PUBLICLY it’s a party to rival New Year’s Eve but behind the scenes around the International Fleet Review, thousands of naval personnel are practising the business of war. On the calm blue seas of Jervis Bay black masked commandos stealthily climbed aboard warships brandishing automatic weapons or rappelled down from hovering helicopters for an audience of foreign experts taking advantage of the unprecedented gathering HMAS Broome and 4 other ships arriving into Sydney heading to Waverton. Source: Supplied ![]() Australian and visiting foreign warships anchored at Creswell, Jervis Bay. Source: News Limited ![]() Australian Clearance drive team repeal onto the HMNZ Te Mana at Creswell, Jervis Bay. Source: News Limited ![]() Malaysian commanders approach JS Makinami to board it in a training exercise at Creswell, Jervis Bay. Source: News Limited “It’s not just the events up in Sydney, the training that we get at sea, both this week and the week after the fleet review ...(provide) some really valuable training with navies we don’t get to work with all that often,” Commodore Peter Leavy said. “You get to see how the other navies do business.” “It’s a first ... it’s going to be extremely busy.” ![]() Malaysian commanders approach JS Makinami to board it in a training exercise at Creswell, Jervis Bay. Source: News Limited ![]() HMAS Broome and four other ships arriving into Sydney, heading to Waverton. Source: Supplied Yesterday 11 nations took part in the ASEAN Defence Ministers Meeting, co-hosted by Malaysia and Australia, before beginning exercises with specialist commando units. “The activities have already started. They started this morning,” Com Leavy said. “Maritime security is absolutely critical to our economic prosperity and our security.” “No one nation can do it all.” ![]() Australian and visiting foreign warships anchored in the Bay at Creswell, Jervis Bay. Source: News Limited ![]() Commodore Peter Leavy pictured at Jervis Bay. Source: News Limited Sunday saw commando units from the Malaysian, US and Thai navy boarding Japanese warship the JS Makinami before an exercise where Australian clearance divers rappelled down to New Zealand warship Te Mana from a helicopter hovering overhead. On a nearby boat dignitaries from a range of nations including China, Thailand, Brunei, India, Japan, the US, and Indonesia watched the exercises closely with navy personnel admitting there might be a little competition during the friendly drills. http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/nsw/...2-1226729550940 Part 1 |
Oct 4 2013, 02:54 PM
Part 2
![]() HMAS Broome and four other ships arriving into Sydney, heading to Waverton. Source: Supplied “It’s about pride,” Australian liaison aboard the Malaysian warship Lieutenant Mark Shannon said. “A lot of the guys here have been selected to do this ahead of their countrymen.” “They want to live up to that.” The exercises are expected to continue throughout the rest of the week before the fleet departs for IFR celebrations in Sydney Harbour. From the beach of Jervis Bay the assembled warships from multiple nations are an intimidating site. The ships will be joined on the way by vessels from another 7 or 8 nations along with tall ships and recreational boats and watched by thousands of spectators. “This rally is one of the biggest events for the navy in the last 100 years,” naval navigator Lieutenant Carl Cooper said. “It’s really the pinnacle of my job to be able drive into Sydney Harbour for the fleet entry.” ![]() Leaut Carl Cooper Navigator from HMAS Parramatta pictured at Jervis Bay. Source: News Limited “To be able to say I navigated a warship into the harbour with potentially thousands of other ships and the other ships from around the world.” Ltnt Cooper admitted that there was considerable pressure on sailors headed into the event. “It will be a rules of the road nightmare but I’m sure we’ll get through,” he said. ![]() Australian and visiting foreign warships anchored at Creswell, Jervis Bay. Source: News Limited http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/nsw/...2-1226729550940 |
Oct 4 2013, 03:49 PM
Oct 4 2013, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Oct 4 2013, 03:59 PM) sure? you check? I remember it was paraded during National Day when they bought it here for testing. I can try to dig out the old news from the gempurwira forum if possible. oh, you mean the 2 prototype that brought from Poland?Updated: OK. Check out already. It was paraded in 2005 National day with the plate ARMY 2 10+10. Appeared in Tempur and Perajurit as well. That is way before it entered into service. |
Oct 4 2013, 04:13 PM
Oct 4 2013, 10:01 PM
Oct 5 2013, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 5 2013, 12:57 PM) Yes the same design. NR also have a very low sea endurance capability which is below minimum requirement of RMN corvetteNakhoda does not have a hangar to keep the heli. Which it is a major drawback. Our navy dun have much heli in the inventory and it is a very important asset for our navy so they are not keen to have the heli expose. I think lekiu batch 2 and sgpv are the another factors. Too bad we cancel the lekiu class batch 2 and pump all the money into sgpv. |
Oct 7 2013, 02:05 AM
Oct 7 2013, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(ET-Force @ Oct 7 2013, 03:13 AM) Seriously i would like to know more about navy ship classification usually ship will be classed on 3 criteriaWhat makes a ship a cruiser, a destroyer, a frigate, a corvette? For now, I only realise the differences is the displacement of the ship eg >9500t for cruiser, >6000t for destroyer, >3000t for frigate and >1000t for corvette. But the Lekius of Malaysia was only 2200t. is it the armanent that made it a frigate? Furthermore, is corvette = OPV? How about normal patrol vessel? If i take US as an example, I see their cruiser is slowly phasing out and there is no replacement programme for it, is it possible we won't see anymore cruiser in 2decades time? So that means destroyer are slowly replacing cruiser. And there is also no more future frigate programme to replace oliver hazrd perry frigate. is LCS now take the role of frigate? For some, maybe they just think it is a ship, but there is so many things about it bothers me much. hope yinchet and atreyu can answer this. Sorry for my english. 1. Displacement 2. Armament 3. Role example lets take Hang Jebat and Kedah and put it side by side as one is a frigate while the other is a PV if you put this two side by side, Kedah is pretty much the same in size but Kedah only 1800 tonne while Jebat is 2000+ Kedah only armed with basic weapon while Jebat are armed to the teeth while the role is Kedah is for patrol while Jebat is one of the main combatant Corvette is smaller then frigate but in term of weaponry, it can do pretty much what a frigate does but it is much more limited. |
Oct 7 2013, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(lovejerk @ Oct 7 2013, 03:07 PM) i see, until 35 yr old still can join, i thought 28 is too old to join army. You still have to go to basic training such marching, jungle training stuff iinm not as hardcore as recruit or cadetNeed to training for how long? Starting rank is Major or have to start from lower rank first? Generally, only learning military knowledge from internet. Really very interested on these stuff. and yes you'll be commissioned as Major |
Oct 7 2013, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(ET-Force @ Oct 7 2013, 03:35 PM) Thanks for the answer. usually graduate officer is a specialize officer Somehow i can figure out a little. So it is depending on the gov as well to classify it as what type of ship. No wonder there is anti air cruiser, anti sub destroyer, multi purpose blah blah blah. About the enrollment into the defense force, do people who hold degree/master that wear spectacles do them any good in the frontline of defense, i mean put then into battle ready situation. where you will be attached to the department where your skill suites you well but you still need a good physique but not as strict as normal trooper for master degree, but for degree you'll be treated equal to cadet |
Oct 7 2013, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(lovejerk @ Oct 7 2013, 04:35 PM) Have been attending marching competitions during secondary school with KRS, should be easy to pick up with this. Haha, kekanannnn lurusssBut jungle training never go through before, this should be challenging. Heard that Malaysian army is the best jungle warfare army in the world, looking forward to experience this. I have studied radio frequncy, antenna, radar and electromagnetic wave for several years, do you think most probably which regiment will be assigned? 2,3,4,5 ikut2 sampai hujung.... guud ol days depend, if youre assigned to the army mostly you'll end up under semboyan, but if you are in navy or air force they also their own communication div that include radar and sensors btw, tahun depan aku baru bercadang nak buat master in networking and telecommuncation, bleh la mintak pointer skit ye bang hehehe QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Oct 7 2013, 04:51 PM) all communication from telecommunication, network and even radars are under them QUOTE(lucifer_666 @ Oct 7 2013, 07:57 PM) that's I'm not very sure bro, as graduate officer are really different |
Oct 8 2013, 07:41 AM
QUOTE(lovejerk @ Oct 8 2013, 12:53 AM) I like rejimen semboyan. Is it you are the one that responsible for calling artillery strike or reinforcement with radio? you're are the ones that responsible to make sure that the communication network working for the combatant that called for the barrage If i am a soldier, i surely hope you always fighting beside me. yang tinggi ke kanan rendar ke kiri... hahaha, damn miss the old day. If joining communication div, which one is better? Army? Navy or Air force? if doing master by research, it is important to choose a good supervisor/professor. Better, if the professor have many years of experience in doing communication research, as they have developed all the necessary things like equipment and knowledge, save a lot of time. Can talk with the former student who are under that professor previously. plus with the integrated network centric warfare the signal is one of the most important unit right now Each have their own way of working for example for navy, there are chances that you'll be attached to the ship as floating officer as comm officer or radar officer same to the air force as well maybe can visit remote air force radar station all over Malaysia, but you'll be surely working at the main HQ rather then remote sites research? hishh seram aku dengo, me thinking of doing class, next year maybe at UMP Pahang maybe you can give me so guidance what research did you do on your master? |
Oct 8 2013, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(bereev @ Oct 8 2013, 08:07 AM) i duuno about army but last time i learn basic semboyan special alphabet from A - Z at PDRM Qidah?sure not Quebec? Phonetic is fun, I've been learning phonetic even before learning the actual alphabet courtesy of my dad I still remember some morse code but I always messing up the timing |
Oct 8 2013, 01:45 PM
Oct 8 2013, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(lovejerk @ Oct 8 2013, 06:59 PM) ya, agree. Once the communication black out, the army may have to halt its advances in the field. woah, can I read it one day!Personally, i think that doing master by taking class is better. Because less uncertainty and can graduate in fixed time frame, and lesser stress too, only have some stress during exam. Anyway, master by taking class still need to undergo some short research period during the final stage of the study, something similar to a final year project, but more advance. I did research on antenna, something similar to the reflective antenna used in Russian S-300 missile system, the big flat panel antenna. Basically trying to broader the bandwidth of this kind of antenna, reduce interference of the antenna to other system and other improvements too. I heard this in the famous movie "Black Hawk Down", the delta force and US ranger always "Left No Man Behind!". Even the dead one they must try to take their body back. |
Oct 11 2013, 02:18 PM
awat tetiba byk troll sini?
I don't think the marine force will be on their own branch, on my opinion this will be a small dedicated amphibious combatant force under the navy maybe with the strength of a brigade! I do think that the PARA should be a division by now, as they are the jack of all trade! |
Oct 12 2013, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(heavyduty @ Oct 12 2013, 11:09 AM) Manpower nak cari mana nak stand division baru? Support assets bai.. ni TD nak bukak lagi satu Division baru nih!PAC should be expanded not 10th para. A division would defeat the original purpose of the para Btw, what is up with people's obsession with the 10th para brigade. Every time there's a job that people think are special(amphibious operations, air assault, etc) mesti 10th Para eventhough RMR and RRR can do the same job just as good or even better. Najib nak pergi tandas pun nak 10th para teman. hahaha |
| Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0482sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:03 PM |