PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

kubing
post Jan 2 2009, 10:04 AM

263 posts

i am the one ADA & ATP addict. Think altec is the best PC speaker maker. But my felling on altec wash away by bad quality of recent product. I own Altec since i was in college 1999. Just like i've said it wash away... Now and on I rather be with Klipsch. It sound like Old Altec model with rich of bass that missing in new altec model.
kubing
post Jan 2 2009, 10:44 AM

263 posts

Yup i agree. everyone can produce sound. A good speaker should do more. Some product produce sound like hitting your hand to your computer table. for me its sick business. making sound to make money. A good player should produce more than others can do. That the only the reason why people call you the best.
kubing
post Jan 4 2009, 06:29 PM

263 posts

Not worth to pay at all. We want superb quality. Our money are not print by bubble jet printer.

kubing
post Jan 5 2009, 03:33 PM

263 posts

but Not all of them the best. New MX5021 cut cost version not produce reasonable sound at all. How to check? open the satellite and look at printed circuit board. They have Capasitor and coil. Old version have 2 coil(big black color component) with 3 small caps. But cut cost version only has one coil and 2 caps.
kubing
post Jan 5 2009, 07:01 PM

263 posts

my opinion lah ..'redesign' in factory should be follow by re-series in label marking . cannot be mark as MX5021 anymore.

I can say I love Altec Lansing so much. But for old ADA,ACS and ATP series lah. tongue.gif

Added on January 5, 2009, 7:26 pmMX5021 owner please be professional and not emotional. you can read what expert said about your 'good' speaker link here

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,1625282,00.asp

This post has been edited by kubing: Jan 5 2009, 07:26 PM
kubing
post Jan 5 2009, 10:38 PM

263 posts

Some people have a lot of money. They can buy what he/she want. its personal stuff actually. Built own power amp since 14 years old are not enough to tell peoples what is better and what is not. Be nice person agree with everything are bad habit too. biggrin.gif
kubing
post Jan 16 2009, 12:13 AM

263 posts

built DIY inductor may be an option bro. Got one coil means cut cos version. Poor customer. blink.gif

This post has been edited by kubing: Jan 16 2009, 12:22 AM
kubing
post Jan 16 2009, 11:59 AM

263 posts

expired already? not burn-in yet. How can bro..
kubing
post Jan 16 2009, 12:47 PM

263 posts

Oh i see. sorry. BTW where did you get good cable for satellite? Mine sound worst too.
kubing
post Jan 16 2009, 03:31 PM

263 posts

wonder why most of MX5021 owner start to mod their satellite. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by kubing: Jan 16 2009, 03:31 PM
kubing
post Jan 21 2009, 08:21 PM

263 posts

IMHO there is no perfect speaker in market. Depends on your taste. Some people said their speaker sound so good and kicking their ass. At the same time modified them like hell. From Xcover to IC. Its up to peoples how to define word in their mind. For me a very good quality speaker sound amazing in all original spec and component.
kubing
post Jan 21 2009, 09:22 PM

263 posts

so sorry. i'm not point it to you. my speaker mid sound really bad and need to mods too. as i said before no speaker sound so good. maybe its not good enough to people like us. ALTEC or KLIPSCH engineer maybe the best player in PC speaker arena but just not good enough to people like you n me. That why I am looking for Aego M rite now. Just give it a try. So so sorry coolkwc nod.gif
kubing
post Jan 31 2009, 07:19 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(jamz @ Jan 26 2009, 03:44 PM)
count me in please.
i'm one of the satisfied owner of ACS 45.1 since 12 years ago..it served me really well.. just yesterday i gave up because one of the connector pins patah. i can't control the the volume or its power switch anymore.  sad.gif

today i get myself the VS4121..the satellites are slim and attractive to match with the flat screen..the treble is much better than ACS 45.1.. however, the bass is not as solid as ACS 45.1..the ACS 45.1 subwoofer was bad ass.. it really shaked room's ceiling.. i also notice that VS4121 missing the midrange sound.. when watching movie such as Tokyo Drift, the engine sound is somehow faded.  the VS4121 only good for acoustics music..

going to repair the ACS 45.1 soon. really miss its solid deep bass & clarity.
I am ACS 45.1 lover too. serve me since late 90's, then upgrading to ATP3. They really serve me well in the mean time. but both of them R.I.P now in my garage. Using klipsch gmx rite now since its sound identical to both Altec. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kubing: Jan 31 2009, 07:20 PM
kubing
post Feb 15 2009, 04:18 PM

263 posts

warranty..
kubing
post May 6 2009, 12:22 AM

263 posts

when you come into audio world. do not listen to idiot. talking about speaker without knowledge about electronic are really bullshit. get degree first and we come to talk about.
kubing
post May 7 2009, 06:43 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ May 6 2009, 01:19 AM)
Chillax boss  blink.gif , this is discussion thread, it's where we learn and talk about speakers. I don't think we need degree to differentiate between a gd and poor SQ.
biggrin.gif at first they talk. second day they open speaker box.
kubing
post Aug 6 2010, 01:08 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Aug 5 2010, 08:26 PM)
haha seems like VS4121 is still a damm popular AL speaker among pupils n students since 6 years ago...even a form 3 siaw ti ti that i live with can afford one 4 himself also laugh.gif doh.gif respect lo kids nowadays notworthy.gif when i was 15 i only use cap kapak speaker aiyo rclxub.gif
yup..me too. cap kapak sad.gif
kubing
post Aug 6 2010, 05:30 PM

263 posts

new batch use tda7377 old batch use tda7375.. according to data sheet tda7375 can punch your woofer extra 5W rms compare to tda7377. this my atp3 amp board.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

This post has been edited by kubing: Aug 6 2010, 05:32 PM
kubing
post Aug 7 2010, 11:54 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Aug 6 2010, 11:31 PM)
only stock vs4121(accident type inside 4212 earlier lol) and above the production date use 7377, atp3 all use 7375 go check if you don't believe...
what abaot this.. hmm.gif
CODE
http://sweynt.blogspot.com/2009/06/altec-lansing-atp3-modify.html

kubing
post Aug 8 2010, 04:47 PM

263 posts

no, problem bro..