Help - problem with HU, HU keep restarting

TSculain99
post Sep 21 2013, 01:23 PM, updated 12y ago

-----
765 posts

Last 3 weeks suddenly my kenwood HU keep restarting after a few minutes (every 5-15 minutes randomly). I have pulled the player out moved the rear connections around - couldn't force the issue to happen. Have also sent it to 2 shops so far and wasted $$$. No one can solve it.

Please give ideas on how to troubleshoot .....
sentinal3_16
post Sep 22 2013, 09:17 AM

798 posts

Does the HU overheat? Did u tried touching the body of the HU? Any chance of exposed cables or wiring tape loose and touch somewhere? If your wires are long try to expose the HU to aircond blowing and try to play to see if it restarts or not?If some of the electrical component overheating in the HU better change new HU.The cost of repairing is not worth it.If its expensive HU and you want to try to repair it why dont you send to kenwood service center.

I had one old jvc hifi which i likes alot.One day due to lighting spoilt.Tried many shops cant get spare part.Went to the factory at shah alam.It was repaired cheaply and fully serviced.They have alot of spare parts even for the older models.

http://www.kenwoodworld.com/en-MY/customer-services/
http://my.kenwood.com/Support/Contact/
TSculain99
post Sep 22 2013, 01:51 PM

-----
765 posts

no overheating, i pulled it out after about 40 minutes and it was not hot. also I did check for exposed wire at the back of unit and did not find any....
TSculain99
post Nov 26 2013, 04:23 PM

-----
765 posts

well, took the headunit out and powered it with 12V dc power supply and no restarting issue even after 4-5 hours of playing. so the issue is with the car wiring. have asked a few wiring shops around but they refuse to check...too much work

anyone have advise how to check wire harness shorting, the issue has to be with one of the wires below
-ground
-12v const
-12v acc
-4x positive speaker wire
-4x negative speaker wire

rest of wires are unconnected and capped.
craziechild
post Nov 26 2013, 08:46 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

you checked your HU main fuse?
howiechoo
post Nov 26 2013, 11:30 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

check ur +12 and ACC wire...

kenwood hu will show "protect" for exposed speaker wire..ur problem most probably from the positive wire or ground..
TSculain99
post Nov 27 2013, 02:59 PM

-----
765 posts

fuse is OK, even replaced it with new fuse just in case.
have to start checking the +12V rails.

This post has been edited by culain99: Nov 27 2013, 02:59 PM
TSculain99
post Dec 4 2013, 12:10 PM

-----
765 posts

wow....am going crazy with this. spent a few hours with mechanic, checking the fuse boxes, relay, wires, etc. Couldn't find the problem, so finally we drove around with the old unit and it kept restarting....went back to the shop and fit a brand new kenwood unit & drove around it didn't restart at all. Went back to the shop again & fit the old unit and it restarts. So concluded problem is with the unit.
Now, I drove to kenwood factory at shah alam and sent it back with details for repair. They call me back today and insist there is nothing wrong with the unit...?? I have ask them to keep another day and try to shake the unit (maybe bad solder joint) cause it to restart .... but they seem reluctant....
pakku_azrie
post Dec 28 2013, 10:42 PM

160 posts

hey...this might be a simple thing...but the same thing happened to me.... the cause is my batter positive terminal connector is loose and caused the same problem...i went to an accessory and changed to a new connector and wallah..problem solved
TSculain99
post Jan 2 2014, 09:43 AM

-----
765 posts

nope not the battery terminal, as I checked it and tightened it to the max before. Kenwood confirms the player is not faulty...so its something else.

So its coming down to either I sell the car off or sell the player off.
sentinal3_16
post Jan 2 2014, 02:42 PM

798 posts

Change the player lor since its very much cheaper than changing the car..

0.2124sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:42 PM