281 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

LYN DashCam Discussion V1 | DashCam Talk Malaysia, Ask/discuss anything related to dashcam!

technosakai
post Oct 26 2015, 08:24 PM

546 posts

Hi there sifus,
What is the best dashcam recommendation for a budget of RM 150 - RM 250 max?

I've seen many of you guys buying from gearbest. Is it trusty?
Is lazada trustworthy or not? I've seen some G1W cams there quite cheap.

This post has been edited by technosakai: Oct 26 2015, 08:27 PM
realmcord80
post Oct 27 2015, 05:12 PM

108 posts

Looking at VIOFO A118C 1.5 inch H.264 1080P Novatek 96650 Capacitor Battery Car DVR Dash Cam at GearBest. Is this a good cam?
ericwidaz
post Oct 28 2015, 08:48 AM

150 posts

Torn between a few dashcams and unsure what to choose.

Mini 0806 from Gearbest (around RM370)

Pros

1. Small, therefore hopefully does not attract much attention.
2. Good video quality (based on the video samples)

Cons

1. Warranty may be an issue since there's no local distributor here.
2. No parking feature
3. Memory card purchased separately

Transcend Drivepro 200 (around RM470)

Pros

1. Has wifi capabilities.
3. 160 degrees angle
4. Capacitor based
5. Nice design
6. Comes with 16GB memory card

Cons

1. It's huge!!!
2. No parking feature
3. No GPS feature

Transcend Drivepro 220 (around RM500)

Pros

3. Has parking feature
4. Lane departure warning system
5. Forward collision warning systemc

Cons

1. It's huge!!!
2. Glossy black in color, which screams, "Steal me! Steal me!"

Being said that, which one should I choose?
chizzu
post Oct 28 2015, 12:21 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

QUOTE(ericwidaz @ Oct 28 2015, 08:48 AM)
Torn between a few dashcams and unsure what to choose.

Mini 0806 from Gearbest (around RM370)

Pros

1. Small, therefore hopefully does not attract much attention.

Cons

1. Warranty may be an issue since there's no local distributor here.
2. No parking feature
3. Memory card purchased separately

Transcend Drivepro 200 (around RM470)

Pros

3. 160 degrees angle
4. Capacitor based
5. Nice design

Cons

1. It's huge!!!
2. No parking feature
3. No GPS feature

Transcend Drivepro 220 (around RM500)

Pros

3. Has parking feature
4. Lane departure warning system
5. Forward collision warning systemc

Cons

1. It's huge!!!
2. Glossy black in color, which screams, "Steal me! Steal me!"

Being said that, which one should I choose?
you can get a hardwire kit for mini 0806 from foxoffer to allow recording when car is parked.

i have that on my mini 0805 and connect it to my car fusebox easily. it now can record while my car is parked and stop recording after 5 minutes of no motion detected. otherwise it will fill up the memory quicky sweat.gif

i connect it to my door lock fuse so when i open my door it will start the dashcam.

The mini 0806 should come with LDW function as well but i did not use it as i am not sure how to calibrate.

ericwidaz
post Oct 28 2015, 12:42 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Oct 28 2015, 12:21 PM)
you can get a hardwire kit for mini 0806 from foxoffer to allow recording when car is parked.

i have that on my mini 0805 and connect it to my car fusebox easily. it now can record while my car is parked and stop recording after 5 minutes of no motion detected. otherwise it will fill up the memory quicky  sweat.gif

i connect it to my door lock fuse so when i open my door it will start the dashcam.

The mini 0806 should come with LDW function as well but i did not use it as i am not sure how to calibrate.
That sounds interesting!

1. Will it void the car's warranty?
2. Will it drain the car battery?
3. Once it starts recording when it detects movement, it will record for 5 minutes and then shut off again and starts recording if there's movement again?
4. When it says hardwire, does it mean soldering or just... "plug and play?"

Thank you.
chizzu
post Oct 28 2015, 01:36 PM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

QUOTE(ericwidaz @ Oct 28 2015, 12:42 PM)
That sounds interesting!

1. Will it void the car's warranty?
2. Will it drain the car battery?
3. Once it starts recording when it detects movement, it will record for 5 minutes and then shut off again and starts recording if there's movement again?
4. When it says hardwire, does it mean soldering or just... "plug and play?"

Thank you.
1. no coz i just "tap" the power from the 5v fuse
2. yes it is using car battery. but with such a small wattage to power the dashcam i think its a non issue.
3. i need to check on this. i cant remember my settings. i only set it to shut down 5 mins if there is no movement IIRC
4. its just tapping power from the fuse. one cable to tap the power, and another is the ground cable where you just ground it to any metal stuff in your car.
nitromx
post Oct 29 2015, 08:31 AM

532 posts

what memory card are you using?
and should i go for 16 or 32gb?
Chrix
post Oct 29 2015, 09:05 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(nitromx @ Oct 29 2015, 08:31 AM)
what memory card are you using?
and should i go for 16 or 32gb?
Ofcourse go with the largest capacity that your cam can accept, then by how much you willing to pay for the card.
kkk8787
post Nov 1 2015, 08:20 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

http://www.lazada.com.my/g1w-cb-capacitor-...nt-2397409.html
saw this ok deal... slightly cheaper than other LAzada seller...not sure any catch or not.. from what I read no catch only....gonna click to buy now

This post has been edited by kkk8787: Nov 1 2015, 08:25 AM
kkk8787
post Nov 1 2015, 08:35 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

anyway G1wH seems a lot cheaper. it is not capacitor right. Is there a built in battery? because I dont wanna have a built in battery inside which will spoil under the sun
blurjoey
post Nov 1 2015, 08:44 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Nov 1 2015, 08:35 AM)
anyway G1wH seems a lot cheaper. it is not capacitor right. Is there a built in battery? because I dont wanna have a built in battery inside which will spoil under the sun
Read more here about the different versions

https://dashcamtalk.com/g1w/

Apparently the G1W-H is now using a cheaper chipset since Sept 2015...

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Nov 2 2015, 01:27 AM
kkk8787
post Nov 2 2015, 06:58 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 1 2015, 08:44 PM)
Read more here about the different versions

https://dashcamtalk.com/g1w/

Apparently the G1W-H is now using a cheaper chipset since Sept 2015...
thanks a lot Joey...guess Ill go to G1w-CB then. only thing is Lazada products all stated as no warranty.
I need something that last under the sun and prefably stealthty
blurjoey
post Nov 2 2015, 08:21 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Nov 2 2015, 06:58 AM)
thanks a lot Joey...guess Ill go to G1w-CB then. only thing is Lazada products all stated as no warranty.
I need something that last under the sun and prefably stealthty
If you're more worried about warranty, then better look at those branded dashcam like Transcend, Papago, Garmin... You don't have to worry about those. But have to pay a bit more for it...
kkk8787
post Nov 2 2015, 09:13 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 2 2015, 08:21 AM)
If you're more worried about warranty, then better look at those branded dashcam like Transcend, Papago, Garmin... You don't have to worry about those. But have to pay a bit more for it...
I couldnt find those with capacitor ? Coz battery under hot sun scared spoilt
blurjoey
post Nov 2 2015, 09:18 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Nov 2 2015, 09:13 AM)
I couldnt find those with capacitor ? Coz battery under hot sun scared spoilt
You got ask uncle Google?

http://www.lelong.com.my/kx/transcend+drivepro+200.htm

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3317689/all
jesslai778
post Nov 15 2015, 12:23 PM

Any recommendation for the dual camera camcoder, one camera face front, and another camera face rear? Just back from Taiwan, lot of their car is install 2 camera system now.

Thanks for advice.
cute_boboi
post Nov 16 2015, 12:02 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(jesslai778 @ Nov 15 2015, 12:23 PM)
Any recommendation for the dual camera camcoder, one camera face front, and another camera face rear? Just back from Taiwan, lot of their car is install 2 camera system now.

Thanks for advice.
I've been thinking to setup, but as 2x single units. It depends if your car has the cigarette adapter in the trunk (rear). Then it's as simple as hiding the camera wires.

If not, the option is to tap the cigarette lighter in front, go under dashboard, down the lower A-pillar, into bottom door sill, go to rear, and solder into a cigarette adapter (Pasar Road, Pudu). Else, just cut the wire and direct into camera wire.

kkk8787
post Nov 16 2015, 02:45 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

anyone using G1W-CB here... I wanna buy a MicroSD card for it. what is the recomended one. must be class 10? class6 enough?
kitkat
post Nov 16 2015, 04:49 PM

I Have a Dream......
1,681 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Nov 16 2015, 02:45 PM)
anyone using G1W-CB here... I wanna buy a MicroSD card for it. what is the recomended one. must be class 10? class6 enough?
bro, suggest you go for transcend. this dashcam is quite picky on sd card.
kitkat
post Nov 16 2015, 04:50 PM

I Have a Dream......
1,681 posts

bro, is this item original?
some people bought from Amazon later turn out is fake.

not sure about this:

http://www.gearbest.com/car-dvr/pp_196898....customer_review

281 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.5872sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:10 AM