Tyres for Proton savvy

TSMichelleng
post Sep 20 2013, 10:00 PM, updated 13y ago

Hi, wanna know any recommendations tyres for Proton savvy stock rim 14"? Tyre size 165/60/14. Tyre must be comfortable and silent. Not a fast driver. Any1 heard of Dunlop T1? Relatively new tyre. Need feedback from users. Thanks.
efaceninja
post Sep 20 2013, 11:38 PM

Not familiar with dunlop tyres..

165/60R14 choices are kinda limited:
1. Goodyear NCT 5
2. Hankook Kinergy EX/Eco
3. Kumho / Nexen brands
4. Goodride (china brand)
5. some other china brands

can consider take other size like 165/55R14 i think got more choices.. or 165/65R14 Bridgestone Ecopia EP150.
Comfort is acceptable, silent.. almost same as NCT 5 for me. If i can only choose 165/60R14, i would choose Hankook.
TSMichelleng
post Sep 23 2013, 01:55 PM

With lower profile tyres like the 55, will the car be bumpy and looks weird? What is the advantages of changing to the 55 series tyres? NCT 5 is rather expensive for this size. The tyreman quoted me DUNLOP T1 165/60/14 with RM180/pc. NCT 5 RM175/pc. According to him that DUNLOP is very sellable for that size. DUNLOP tyres ok?
GoldenHawk
post Sep 23 2013, 05:14 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

The D01 is extremely horrible. Hard & noisy. I'm not sure about the T1 though but personally, I don't have a taste for Dunlops sad.gif
Try Michelins. The 13" donuts on my 'ol Saga are absolutely fantastic! But they cost RM135/pc 3 years ago tongue.gif
IkanKelisa
post Sep 23 2013, 06:18 PM

Hi.. Also need advise or feedback about hankook Kinerfy EX. Got quote RM160/piece including balancing only not alignment. Goodyear NCT5 RM175 but what I read, not really good tyre. Noisy and bad wet grip.

I drive fast so need good grip in all condition but also need good mileage as I'm a weekend husband (kuantan-seremban). Keratong-Batu Kikir got bumpy road. For now I'm using Goodyear Duraplus 165/55R14. Thinking to use 165/60R14 for more comfort ride.

Any review about Hankook Kinergy EX. Just lunched april 2013 in Indonesia. Thanks for the advise..
efaceninja
post Sep 23 2013, 10:38 PM

be the first to try out Kinergy EX and tell us your review lohh
IkanKelisa
post Sep 24 2013, 01:51 AM

no one has tried it yet meh? budget not so strong. So hopefully got a good one for a long time. Don't want to regret after change la.. smile.gif

Even no review in internet. Just got press news of lunching from indonesia...

This post has been edited by IkanKelisa: Sep 24 2013, 01:52 AM
IkanKelisa
post Sep 24 2013, 02:06 AM

From this website.. Hankook Kinergy Eco is good in all aspect except the wear one. Goodyear NCT5 is more durable.

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Hankook/...Kinergy-Eco.htm

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Goodyear/Eagle-NCT5_2.htm

well hope Kinergy EX better in wear compare to Kinergy Eco
TSMichelleng
post Sep 24 2013, 01:44 PM

Any good of using 55 series than the 60 series? I need to change my tyres very soon. Cracked on the sidewalls. NCT5 165/60/14 or CC5 165/55/14? Please advice all! Thanks
kurty
post Sep 24 2013, 01:58 PM

224 posts

forget NCT5, it will skid.

I'm driving a savvy

first tire, NCT 5.
then i up to 15, using nexen n3000. good but noisy
now, KU31, good but noisy and keep to regularly pump air
TSMichelleng
post Sep 24 2013, 08:28 PM

Between NCT5 165/60/14 and Continental CC5 165/55/14, of which is better? In terms of comfort and noise level. Pls help. Tomorrow changing all fours
efaceninja
post Sep 24 2013, 08:35 PM

QUOTE(Michelleng @ Sep 24 2013, 08:28 PM)
Between NCT5 165/60/14 and Continental CC5 165/55/14, of which is better? In terms of comfort and noise level. Pls help. Tomorrow changing all fours
in terms of comfort & noise level, must be CC5 better than NCT5.
Or else try out the Kinergy EX... newly launch tyre

i'm using 165/65R14 Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 now. Noise is not as good as i expected. but i feel really a bit more fuel saving than NCT5

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Sep 24 2013, 08:49 PM
TSMichelleng
post Sep 24 2013, 09:39 PM

Using lower profile, 55 will it be less comfortable compared to 60 series? Can savvy use 55 series? First time changing tyres. haha
efaceninja
post Sep 24 2013, 10:05 PM

if compare same tyre model NCT5 60 series and NCT5 55 series, should be 60 series more comfortable. but if NCT5 60 series vs CC5 55 series... well.. i never tried before, but my gut tell me still CC5 will be better in terms of comfort & silent.
TSMichelleng
post Sep 24 2013, 10:18 PM

55 series more bumpy? NCT5 doesn't have 55 series I guess. The car is fitted original with 165/60/14 can I take the cheaper 55 series? Will affect my comfort ride?
efaceninja
post Sep 26 2013, 10:30 PM

so have you changed your tyre??
btw, yes savvy should can take 55 series, as long as it looks okay to you. comfort should be lessen a bit because you go from 60 series to 55 series. But then if you're changing to CC5, comfort level overall maybe better. hmmm, put like this:

60 series to 55 series : -1 comfort point
NCT5 to CC5 : +2 comfort point

overall gain : +1 comfort point

with all that being said, i'm just talking out of THEORY only, as i never used CC5 before.
dunno if the other ppls agree with the above or not, lols.

0.0169sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:03 PM