[V1] Nokia Lumia 1020, most powerful cameraphone in this planet

marauderz
post Oct 21 2013, 05:52 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

QUOTE(ikram_p @ Oct 21 2013, 06:10 AM)
well, for me, day video recording its very hard to see any difference at all unless you put it side by side.. between note 3 and 1020, i don't see any huge marginal difference. unless you really put any effort into it.
If I'm not mistaken, for video recording to shine you're supposed to use the Nokia Pro Cam app to do it and the main difference is in the audio capture. Can't quite remember, video isn't something I pay too much attention to.
marauderz
post Oct 23 2013, 12:53 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(hox @ Oct 23 2013, 12:25 AM)
Nokia Camera is out!!
The link from WMPoweruser has a QR Code to make it easier to download
http://wmpoweruser.com/new-nokia-camera-ap...ws-phone-store/
marauderz
post Oct 23 2013, 12:56 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(lcy851031 @ Oct 22 2013, 08:37 PM)
Video for Nokia Refocus:

Ahhh.. I see, this is not like the Lytro. Basically it's taking multiple shots at different focus points so you can navigate through them after the fact.

Means like a smart cam shot, you'll need to have plenty of light to get this to work properly.
marauderz
post Oct 23 2013, 12:58 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Oct 23 2013, 12:55 AM)
Please try to hide the evidence. Page 36, post number 5.

About the pictures the guy was saying that I have no images to show and only knows how to talk.
I showed him some of my pictures from my 5D to just show that i'm not just talking. There is yet any photo with a good subject element that I am interest of to take plus all other photos are personal so why should I show here to the internet. So what is wrong with HDR photo? It requires post processing and there is like nothing editted just merging 3 photos with different exposure.. This is basic for those who really knows what HDR is. Of course there is no EXIF when it is already editted bro.  doh.gif
Just ignore him and stop breaking the forum page! tongue.gif

marauderz
post Oct 23 2013, 01:09 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Oct 23 2013, 01:02 AM)
How are you enjoying the phone so far?
Nokia Camera is great finally can reduce tiles on the home screen.
Well, I bought the 1020 for the damn camera, and it's been working great so far. The real world proof of how good it is, is that everyone who sees a shot taken by the 1020 immediately just goes "It's so pretty!"

And with Nokia Camera the Smart Cam is rolled into one so now I can switch around them faster. Which is a nice touch, should come in handy when taking pictures of my kids.

marauderz
post Oct 23 2013, 01:10 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(hox @ Oct 23 2013, 01:06 AM)
glad the Scene mode is back too...i used the Smart Cam few times only very leceh coz separated, now its way faster and more convenient..sweet app!
Oh yeah. Hate the fact that they removed FOCUS LIGHT only from the Flash settings.. bah!!

Oh wait.. my bad.. seems like the focus light is ALWAYS used even if you turned flash to off... that's worst!!! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by marauderz: Oct 23 2013, 01:12 AM
marauderz
post Oct 23 2013, 01:32 AM

3,390 posts

Note to everyone who upgraded to Nokia Camera, for me it reseted my video recording settings from 720P back to 1080P so you might want to check it if you too have been recording at 720P.

Why don't I record in 1080P? Have you SEEN the file size of a 1080P recording? tongue.gif
marauderz
post Oct 23 2013, 03:42 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(de-facto-idiot @ Oct 23 2013, 02:33 PM)
The marketplace app will automatically notify you with the update. It will "removed" the Nokia Pro Cam but your Nokia Smart Cam will remained as separated app. Your SmartCam's photo in the Picture hub however will be updated to be opened with Nokia Camera instead of Nokia SmartCam. So you can go ahead and remove the SmartCam without any worry.
Because it technically is an updated version for Nokia Pro Cam, so it didn't actually remove it. tongue.gif

Too bad now if you need to switch lenses, you have to tap on 'Menu > lenses'. Maybe I'm nitpicking here... but I found that the old switch icon is really useful.
Yeah, its a bit slower, but for me I always switch from the default camera app INTO Pro Cam so it's no biggie, hardly use anything else! wink.gif

The Focus Light setting has been moved into the 'Settings' section with the 'Set by flash, Auto & Always off' as option. Me think it's better than the 'Always on/Always off' mode of old.
Oh.. didn't notice that. Well, when it was on the photo taking UI it was easier and quicker to toggle, like your nitpick about the lenses button. wink.gif

Other things that have changed in Nokia Camera is: More option on timer settings, horizontal slide to zoom & ability to turn on photo review.
Photo review always had a toggle previously as far as I can remember.

marauderz
post Oct 24 2013, 06:19 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Oct 23 2013, 11:49 PM)
You seriously like Surface? I have yet to experience one but I don't think i'll ever touch it though.
The first one had problem with battery life and it's a major let down for me. Talking about Pro though.
When it come to tablet, I like epal more though. But using my old one though, was planning to get Surface but too many doubts for me.
I use a Surface Pro, and it's fantastic. If you compare it to an appliance tablet, you'll of course be disappointed.. heavy.. less battery life..

But if you compare to an ultra book.. I love this.. compact lightweight 10" Core i5 with digitizer support for my notes!
marauderz
post Oct 24 2013, 03:02 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Oct 24 2013, 02:41 PM)
Sounds good.
Well just thinking of some options to upgrade  brows.gif
Dilemma because well I might want something like an ultra book this semester since I only have 2 days of class per week. My laptop is too bulky and super lazy to bring it to my rent house and desktop is of course a big no no.. Sounds perfect for a Surface Pro or a new Nokia tablet...but yes gotta compare it with buah.. lol
nod.gif
Well, buying a Surface RT means while you probably can't find as much games and junk from store as iOS or Android. You do get an almost full featured Office 2013, not some dumbed down version. Only thing missing would be macros if I'm not mistaken, and it's not something a student uses normally.

Surface RT is also the only appliance that has an up to date Flash plugin on the browser wink.gif
marauderz
post Oct 24 2013, 08:57 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(hox @ Oct 24 2013, 04:32 PM)
anyone here with 1020 didnt apply sp? if yes, so far got any scratches on the screen? thinking of removing the Nillkin sp and use without sp...really poke-eyes-poke-nose with the dust collected at the edges
I'm not using any screen protector, some minor marks, but basically if you don't trust yourself to do a good job taking care of it then make sure you have one on.
marauderz
post Oct 25 2013, 11:49 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(lcy851031 @ Oct 24 2013, 07:44 PM)

Actually i wish the focus light assist option should put outside, instead of inside the settings.  sad.gif
I prefer that too!
marauderz
post Oct 25 2013, 11:51 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(de-facto-idiot @ Oct 25 2013, 12:11 AM)
Personally I'm more worried bout the camera module than then screen though. But me think as long as your don't put your key in the same compartment as your phone, or drop your phone on concrete floor/road, you'll be fine.
Putting your phone and your keys together is like Superman acting like there's no problem standing in front of a gun... then getting shot by a kryptonite bullet. tongue.gif
marauderz
post Oct 25 2013, 02:18 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Oct 25 2013, 01:03 PM)
I think Camera lense is harder to get scratches?

My S.Galaxy S3 camera lense without protector and i always put with key, still good and no scratches
Every time you put your phone with your keys and it comes out without scratches you use up a little bit of your luck... so when is your luck gonna run out? wink.gif
marauderz
post Oct 25 2013, 03:24 PM

3,390 posts

I noticed a commotion happening in the residential area behind Digital Mall PJ, so I took a picture from across the park.

With any other phone I guess that would be it, you can make out a van, and some people. But luckily I took the shot with Nokia Camera on my 1020, time to reframe!

It's NOT perfect, but now we can make out that it's some sort of food cart... with MAIDS!!
^^^^^^^^^^ Added NOT in as an edit cause I left it out previously

This post has been edited by marauderz: Oct 25 2013, 11:04 PM
marauderz
post Oct 25 2013, 03:24 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Oct 25 2013, 03:05 PM)
haha...ugly leh....
Got those classic feel to it mar.
marauderz
post Oct 27 2013, 09:38 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 27 2013, 06:56 PM)
How's the 3G signal reception of today's Nokia?
IMO, iPhone 3G signal is bad. SE is even worse.
LTE seems to be fine. whistling.gif
marauderz
post Oct 28 2013, 09:47 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(de-facto-idiot @ Oct 28 2013, 09:12 AM)
I'm actually more worried on the 'oreo' section of the phone. The brushed aluminium section.
Well, scratches on that shows how thoroughly used and worn the device is mar, gives it character! wink.gif

Over the weekend, I just realized two issue with Nokia Camera.
1. After merging with SmartCam, there's no way to tell in picture hub that this photo can only perform re-framing or can perform 'smart cam' functionalities. All it shows it just 'captured by Nokia Camera'. So if you want to do editing... you have to poke it one by one to know which one is it.
Shouldn't you know which picture you captured in Smart mode? whistling.gif Not after a few weeks for sure lar, but you should know when you're actually editing it after the shot.

2. I've experience issue with reframing that reframed shots will not be saved. A fix on this is coming though.
Yeah, I was wondering what was going on when it kept crashing. After some experimentation, it seems like CERTAIN levels of magnification causes problems, so you might want to zoom out/in a little bit to see if it works. Luckily they know about the issue and is fixing it already.
marauderz
post Oct 28 2013, 10:46 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Oct 28 2013, 10:23 AM)
Lol ... I still have Nokia Smart Cam app on phone XD But rarely use it though  sweat.gif

I still don't like the post-processing effect after capture a pic. The yellow tint really annoying  vmad.gif
I wonder what situation does the yellow tint appear in, cause I don't see it on my shots.
marauderz
post Oct 28 2013, 11:19 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Oct 28 2013, 10:58 AM)
It just don't feel "RAW" i think ? The end result will make the pic a bit bit blur with warm tone of color.

Need to use program like PS to remove but it's kinda troublesome cause i don't want another step for it  sweat.gif
I feel the shots have a slightly high saturation, but I never felt that it has a yellow tint.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0441sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:13 AM