Izzit worth it to get xbox360?, If i dont have hdtv....
TSAdrianA
Jun 3 2006, 01:12 AM, updated 20y ago

Hi guys! Its that time again when my computer starts to keep on overheating and every new game runs like crap.
So i've been thinking of getting a next generation console, thing is i dont want to throw out a few thousands ringgits for a hdtv. Is a normal 20 something inch tv capable of displaying the awesomeness of the xbox 360 games? Please share your thoughts on this and maybe some of you have even try it on a normal tv before.
xxboxx
Jun 3 2006, 03:02 AM
there's alot of xb360 owner here running it on normal tv. and it will still looks more awesome than xbox/ps2 games.
or you can also play it on pc monitor. there's a vga cable for xb360.
Pudujail
Jun 3 2006, 08:57 AM
Get GRAW, it looks awesome enough on your normal tv.
Jenn77
Jun 3 2006, 09:02 AM
IMHO, its not the problem of worth it or not. It's the problem if u are gonna 'use' it frequently. If u buy it for the sake of 'coz ppl have it, I must have oso'. Then might as well kepp the money to upgrade ur pc. If not, then buy it. The more u think the more confuse u get.
psp _BOY
Jun 3 2006, 09:52 AM
ive played it on a CRT tv,LCD tv,and Plasma tv. the best is definitely an HDTV plasma tv.But the only thing that lacks in the CRT tv is the 16:9.But some of them now produce 16:9 instead of 4:3. U can always get a refurbished CRT monitor like bro Judge.It has fast refresh rates too.
matt_rix
Jun 3 2006, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(Pudujail @ Jun 3 2006, 08:57 AM) Get GRAW, it looks awesome enough on your normal tv. what is GRAW??sorry 4 this noob q
psp _BOY
Jun 3 2006, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(matt_rix @ Jun 3 2006, 09:57 AM) what is GRAW??sorry 4 this noob q Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter
marauderz
Jun 3 2006, 01:42 PM
Like Jenn mentioned if ur priority was on just how good the graphics look then u probably should consider upgrading ur PC instead.
that said, even with plain composite cables on a normal tv the image is already breathtaking. the moment u see the bootup screen u'll know there's something different about the display!
duke_hunt
Jun 3 2006, 02:17 PM

bro, we're in the boat... stopped pc gaming when newer games ran slow on my pc, that was nearly 2 years ago.. all i can say, proud xbox v1 owner, still funding for my xbox 360.... bro, no need hdtv for xbox 360 if forking out a bomb for new hdtv... your pc monitor is great for xbox 360...get the xbox 360 premium, vga all the way.... worth the money spent....
cuoreboy
Jun 3 2006, 02:23 PM

but remember console can last u longer compare PC
always keep upgrade some more XBOX 360 is abt RM 1400 ++ still cheaper u buy one ATI X1900XT or Nvidia 7900 GTX right hhehehe how long can last 1 year or 2 years but XBOX 360 i think u can play for at least 5 years
if u can wait , just wait for Mod chip me now just play XBOX first i also from PC to console
This post has been edited by cuoreboy: Jun 3 2006, 02:27 PM
TSAdrianA
Jun 3 2006, 06:16 PM

Thanks guys...now another problem. The games....well you see if you are a pc gamer, you know where to get those games. But console on the other hand....haiz....you know la...currently i dont think there is that kind of market out there yet though. I may be wrong.
TSAdrianA
Jun 3 2006, 06:40 PM

oh yeah...if xbox 360 can connect to monitors..then can it use a pc speaker system? And how much is a 360 ori game cost?
Thanks. Appreciate it.
This post has been edited by AdrianA: Jun 3 2006, 06:41 PM
xxboxx
Jun 3 2006, 06:50 PM
to use pc speaker, you'll need one of those RCA-to-headphone jack converter. anywhere also got sell it for less than RM5.
Asian game for RM160. higher price for JP and US game.
SUSMightySmiter
Jun 3 2006, 08:31 PM
if im not mistaken djinn sells a hd vga cable that can be used fr ur normal CRT monitors and it even allows u to plug ur pc speakers to it. Its going fr around RM120+ only...ive already ordered one and im just waitin to go pick it up...maybe i'll give u a review on it if ur interested
TSAdrianA
Jun 3 2006, 09:16 PM

of course..thanks. So officially is the xbox360 launch in malaysia yet? I'm going to australia soon, thinking to get it here first though. Think its cheaper since everything is cheaper in malaysia compare to australia.
jaylike7
Jun 3 2006, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(AdrianA @ Jun 3 2006, 09:16 PM) of course..thanks. So officially is the xbox360 launch in malaysia yet? I'm going to australia soon, thinking to get it here first though. Think its cheaper since everything is cheaper in malaysia compare to australia. if im not mistaken, Aussie 360s are PAL version. and i think PAL game cost you a bomb in malaysia. I suggest you get the Asian set instead since the game for Asian region cost around 150-160 RM. please,think of original. anyway, you will notice the differences of getting original instead of pirated for 360 once you get your hands on it.
psp _BOY
Jun 3 2006, 09:42 PM
but since your goin to australia,better get your console there,because most pal games are not region free.And theres no asian or us games on sale there.but its like heaven to me,because im using a PAL 360.im still here in melbourne though
TSAdrianA
Jun 3 2006, 10:21 PM

Hi psp boy! So how much does the aussie 360 cost and the games too? Would really like to know... I'm totally new to the console world. Been a pc gamer since forever. NTSC PAL ?????
So another thing, will the 360 play xbox games? Even the **ahem** ones?
Kabadi84
Jun 3 2006, 10:24 PM
huhuhuhh the ehem is not yet avalable looo
MobiusVyper
Jun 3 2006, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(AdrianA @ Jun 3 2006, 10:21 PM) So another thing, will the 360 play xbox games? Even the **ahem** ones? Xbox original games only  But not all games. Microsoft says "the best ones" are backwards compatible
lisoong
Jun 3 2006, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(AdrianA @ Jun 3 2006, 01:12 AM) Hi guys! Its that time again when my computer starts to keep on overheating and every new game runs like crap. So i've been thinking of getting a next generation console, thing is i dont want to throw out a few thousands ringgits for a hdtv. Is a normal 20 something inch tv capable of displaying the awesomeness of the xbox 360 games? Please share your thoughts on this and maybe some of you have even try it on a normal tv before. Thanks. Hi there, FYI, I just picked up an XBOX 360 yesterday, as well as GRAW, and no, I do NOT own an HDTV, just a regular 21" TV. GRAW really shows what the XBOX 360 is capable off, before getting GRAW, I was playing Ghost Recon 2 on my old XBOX, so I can really appreciate how good it looks, and can only imagine what it would look like on a HDTV. The only gripe is that my TV screen is so small, but the resolution is really high, so some of the words and images are tiny and blurry...a little hard to read. I think playing it on a computer monitor would be great.
squiggles
Jun 4 2006, 12:36 PM
Hey guys, i'm new with xbox 360 too (no, i don't have one). Some of you guys mentioned about playing xbox 360 with computer monitor, i know most of LCD monitors will do, but what about normal Flat monitor, say like my Samsung SyncMaster 793DF monitor, will it work with it too? do i have to use VGA box? (well if you dont mind, i'd like to see a pic of xbox360 cable connected to this kind of monitor  ) you know, i just wanna make things clearer by looking at it. Thank you QUOTE(MightySmiter @ Jun 3 2006, 08:31 PM) if im not mistaken djinn sells a hd vga cable that can be used fr ur normal CRT monitors and it even allows u to plug ur pc speakers to it. Its going fr around RM120+ only...ive already ordered one and im just waitin to go pick it up...maybe i'll give u a review on it if ur interested  Are you gonna use pc monitor & speaker to play your xbox 360? yeah, i'd like to see your review, thanx
xxboxx
Jun 4 2006, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(squiggles @ Jun 4 2006, 12:36 PM) Hey guys, i'm new with xbox 360 too (no, i don't have one). Some of you guys mentioned about playing xbox 360 with computer monitor, i know most of LCD monitors will do, but what about normal Flat monitor, say like my Samsung SyncMaster 793DF monitor, will it work with it too? do i have to use VGA box? (well if you dont mind, i'd like to see a pic of xbox360 cable connected to this kind of monitor  ) you know, i just wanna make things clearer by looking at it. Thank you i believe CRT monitor are more compatible than LCD coz don't have the native resolution problem. you don't need the vga box like xbox1, xb360 have a vga cable than can directly connect to the monitor. but of coz, that cable is sold separately.
arj
Jun 4 2006, 02:00 PM
RED DEVIL
QUOTE(squiggles @ Jun 4 2006, 12:36 PM) Hey guys, i'm new with xbox 360 too (no, i don't have one). Some of you guys mentioned about playing xbox 360 with computer monitor, i know most of LCD monitors will do, but what about normal Flat monitor, say like my Samsung SyncMaster 793DF monitor, will it work with it too? do i have to use VGA box? (well if you dont mind, i'd like to see a pic of xbox360 cable connected to this kind of monitor  ) you know, i just wanna make things clearer by looking at it. Thank you Are you gonna use pc monitor & speaker to play your xbox 360? yeah, i'd like to see your review, thanx Yes you can use your Samsung monitor with the 360 but you need to get the VGA cable as well. The third party cable is around RM50+.
cylon
Jun 4 2006, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(squiggles @ Jun 4 2006, 12:36 PM) Hey guys, i'm new with xbox 360 too (no, i don't have one). Some of you guys mentioned about playing xbox 360 with computer monitor, i know most of LCD monitors will do, but what about normal Flat monitor, say like my Samsung SyncMaster 793DF monitor, will it work with it too? do i have to use VGA box? (well if you dont mind, i'd like to see a pic of xbox360 cable connected to this kind of monitor  ) you know, i just wanna make things clearer by looking at it. Thank you Are you gonna use pc monitor & speaker to play your xbox 360? yeah, i'd like to see your review, thanx And since those monitor used a fixed monitor cable unlike some high end monitor ( circe 19" to 21" monitor ), get a gender changer adapter along. You wont need it if u're buying the original 360 VGA cable insted of 3rd party.
squiggles
Jun 4 2006, 02:26 PM
Sorry guys, i'm almost lost  since each of you saying different answers ... so, just put it this way, I have a CRT monitor and i want to play xbox 360 with it, what i need is; 1. This cable? 2. And this VGA box? Correct me if i'm wrong
xxboxx
Jun 4 2006, 02:55 PM
you need either 1 or 2. no need for both. my advise to get the cable since 3rd party one is really cheap. if not mistaken mk84 is selling his 3rd party cable.
squiggles
Jun 4 2006, 03:17 PM
ok, thanx for helping guys, really appreciate that.
ah_chak
Jun 4 2006, 09:20 PM
save some money.. get the viewsonic 19" widescreen lcd.. at a price slightly above 1k, you'll get to see what the 360 is really capable of.. i used to play on a 29" tv at my living room.. after getting the vga cable and plugged into my 17" lcd, man.. i'm not going out there anymore
Tereno
Jul 5 2006, 11:58 PM
I'm considering of getting an Xbox 360.. I heard rumours that they might launch the premium one with a HD DVD drive built in instead..do you think I should wait?
squiggles
Jul 6 2006, 12:06 AM
Well sad to say, M$ has confirmed that they wont do such thing, instead they'll release seperate HD-DVD drive which is planned for release later this year
mzaidi
Jul 6 2006, 12:07 AM
It's just a false rumor. The HD-DVD drive will be external drive. http://gamerscoreblog.com/team/archive/200.../30/536031.aspx
Tereno
Jul 6 2006, 02:17 AM
OOh..dang.. Aish.. But then they are coming bundled with it right? Should still wait for it?
arj
Jul 6 2006, 02:24 AM
RED DEVIL
QUOTE(Tereno @ Jul 6 2006, 02:17 AM) OOh..dang.. Aish.. But then they are coming bundled with it right? Should still wait for it? Yes Microsoft will bundle them together but it'll cost more as well. If you don't have a HDTV or don't plan to get any HD-DVD movies, there's no reason at all for you to get the bundle.
Tereno
Jul 6 2006, 02:43 AM
that is true..but i am trying to make up my mind on whether i'm going for the Xbox 360 or the PS3
judge-the
Jul 6 2006, 08:25 AM
QUOTE(Tereno @ Jul 6 2006, 02:43 AM) that is true..but i am trying to make up my mind on whether i'm going for the Xbox 360 or the PS3 for ps3 just starts saving from this moment and eat maggie everyday.
mzaidi
Jul 10 2006, 02:09 AM
I planned to buy an Xbox 360, and VGA HD cable so I can play using my PC monitor. I just noticed 1 thing, my PC monitor doesn't have VGA-in port. My monitor: 17" CRT Samsung 763MB. At the rear of the monitor only have power socket and the VGA cable (unremoveable) which connects to the VGA-out port on my graphic card. Any other cheap solution that available locally so I can play Xbox 360 in HD resolution?  EDIT: I found the solution, I can still use the VGA cable, provided I can find Female to Female VGA Cable / Adapter. It looks something like this:  Any idea where I can get it? This post has been edited by mzaidi: Jul 10 2006, 02:26 AM
judge-the
Jul 10 2006, 03:00 AM
QUOTE(mzaidi @ Jul 10 2006, 02:09 AM) I planned to buy an Xbox 360, and VGA HD cable so I can play using my PC monitor. I just noticed 1 thing, my PC monitor doesn't have VGA-in port. My monitor: 17" CRT Samsung 763MB. At the rear of the monitor only have power socket and the VGA cable (unremoveable) which connects to the VGA-out port on my graphic card. Any other cheap solution that available locally so I can play Xbox 360 in HD resolution?  EDIT: I found the solution, I can still use the VGA cable, provided I can find Female to Female VGA Cable / Adapter. It looks something like this:  Any idea where I can get it? lowyat is selling that female to female adapter. bro cylon bought for me before.
mzaidi
Jul 10 2006, 04:02 AM
QUOTE(judge-the @ Jul 10 2006, 03:00 AM) lowyat is selling that female to female adapter. bro cylon bought for me before. Any idea how much it'll cost? And if I play Xbox 360 on CRT monitor (which have 4:3 aspect ratio), will the game be displayed in 4:3 ratio or will be in 16:9 with black bars on top and bottom? Or I can select which ratio I want in system setting?
judge-the
Jul 10 2006, 04:51 AM
QUOTE(mzaidi @ Jul 10 2006, 04:02 AM) Any idea how much it'll cost? hehehe i also forgot already how much was it but i think it was not more than rm10. And if I play Xbox 360 on CRT monitor (which have 4:3 aspect ratio), will the game be displayed in 4:3 ratio or will be in 16:9 with black bars on top and bottom? Or I can select which ratio I want in system setting? you can choose normal screen or wide screen in the setting. if you select wide screen sure got those top and bottom black bars. i am using the normal 4:3 ratio in my crt and very happy with it. if can go wide screen much2 more better lah but have to remember also... very important thing MONEY!!!
hikaru_x
Jul 10 2006, 09:26 AM

you should be looking for this:  i got mine for around rm10 here in penang, but i'f ur buying the ms original, its already included.
judge-the
Jul 10 2006, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Jul 10 2006, 09:26 AM) you should be looking for this:  i got mine for around rm10 here in penang, but i'f ur buying the ms original, its already included. yup this is the one bro cylon helped me to buy from lowyatt plaza. actually if you extra budget just buy the original msoftvga cable better no need sakit kepala at all. everything included and also the connector all very tight. 3rd party the vga cable connector that connects to 360 a bit loose one
mzaidi
Jul 10 2006, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Jul 10 2006, 09:26 AM) you should be looking for this:  i got mine for around rm10 here in penang, but i'f ur buying the ms original, its already included. QUOTE(judge-the @ Jul 10 2006, 09:49 AM) yup this is the one bro cylon helped me to buy from lowyatt plaza. actually if you extra budget just buy the original msoftvga cable better no need sakit kepala at all. Oh, it's included? I downloaded the VGA Cable's installation manual from Xbox.com, and I found this: QUOTE "Your monitor may not have a VGA input. If not, you may need to purchase additional equipment. Go to www.xbox.com/support for more information." So I thought it's not included in the package and must buy on our own.
prazole
Jul 10 2006, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(mzaidi @ Jul 10 2006, 03:29 PM) Oh, it's included? I downloaded the VGA Cable's installation manual from Xbox.com, and I found this: So I thought it's not included in the package and must buy on our own. its included..  i got mine already!
B0n3d_R3cTum
Jul 11 2006, 12:30 PM
I'm playing the thing on a plasma... Tho once I move I'm probably going to hit the xbox360 with a hdtv projector. Currently looking for a non pricey one with good quality projection...
Genosyde
Jul 12 2006, 01:20 PM
Should have known better that Lowyat.net would have a thriving Xbox 360 community but didn't thought of checking it until today.
Got my 360 not too long ago. To be truly honest, I didn't find it to look particularly impressive on a normal TV. Except for the better lighting, it didn't look all that different from a recent Xbox game.
Then I tried it out with my 17" CRT monitor and it looked tons better. Only problem was the screen was small but you still see a whole lot more details compared to a TV.
Since I was planning to upgrade to an LCD monitor anyway, I made a change from the 19" I was eyeing to a 20" widescreen model instead. Tossed between the 19" Viewsonic widescreen (can't remember the model number), the 20.1" Viewsonic VX2025wm and Dell FW2007. Settled for the VX2025wm due to the price and the fact that it works better as a PC monitor. Not only do Xbox 360 look absolutely gorgeous on it but DVDs look fantastic as well with the 360's upscalling features. Too bad I can't play any of my Region1 DVDs on the NTSC-J Xbox 360. All I can say is that you are not getting your investment's worth in your 360 if it is not hooked up to some kind of HD display. Even a crappy 17" CRT is much better than a big screen TV.
The other thing you need to do is to hook up the 360 to a Dolby Digital 5.1 receiver for surround sound.
edit: I forgot to mention that if you want to use your PC's CRT monitor, you can get one of those KVM switch for sharing 1 monitor with 2 (or more) PCs. It will also act as a female-to-female VGA cable adapter and you can still use the monitor with your PC without swapping cables. It costs about RM40 at Lowyat.
This post has been edited by Genosyde: Jul 12 2006, 01:24 PM