youngkies
post Jun 2 2006, 11:09 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

u hv steroid.. in ur own body...

there is a lot of steroid drug used for diff medication purpose... steroid for bodybuilding is for sure is drug abuse...

u want steroid.. go get a salbutamol inhaler.. it is used for asthmatic.. or if u are a male.. go get oestrogen.. and u will get a breast too.. or get long term steroid abuse, for cushing's syndrome..
youngkies
post Jun 3 2006, 08:42 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

it is funny how ppl abuse drugs... and at last become a fool of themself.. so stay away is more better than try.. there is no such drug tat dont have any side effects..

actually not only steroid, most of the drugs caused kidney and liver damage in long term..
youngkies
post Jun 3 2006, 03:25 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Jun 3 2006, 01:01 PM)
if your body can support it then go for it if not youll die !

its that simple!
har? not that body can support it or not... if u need for medicinal purpose, benefit outweigh the risk of the drug, then go for it.. but if simply for threadstarter request, take steroid because of curiosity or recreational purpose, then please dont ever think of it again..

youngkies
post Jun 5 2006, 02:55 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(apple23 @ Jun 5 2006, 12:21 PM)
***... so teruk meh makan 1 steroid pill.. lolz... dun wan eat liao
if there is one.. there is second too.. then will be third lo.. or watsoever.. better close this thread la..
youngkies
post Jun 7 2006, 12:58 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(bellatrix @ Jun 6 2006, 10:18 PM)
Anabolic steroids for muscle building and corticosteroids used in asthma are two different substance lar.....

LOL people shouldn't be so ignorant about this as the outcome could be fatal.
Its just like MDMA=ectasy is different from MDA, you could die from stupid mistakes like this.

Anyway abusing drug is definately no no as alot of people on this thread has already emphasize...love your body people!
hehe... both anabolic steroid and corticosteroid is diff substances.. but they are of same class termed steroid..

anabolic steroid build up body.. so as corticosteroid (such as budesonide for asthmatic, also can build up body leading to cushing syndrome)..

actually steroid is just too widely definitive...

anabolic steroid such as aldosterone is abused to reduce water content hence reduce weight (important in sport like weight-lifting, boxing etc).. other type of anabolic steroid is used for growth retardation is abused for enhancing performance and sort of..

This post has been edited by youngkies: Jun 7 2006, 12:19 PM
youngkies
post Jun 7 2006, 06:27 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

^ yup.. true..

anabolic steroid mimic testosterone bind to the ur testes and that will feedback negatively to ur endocrine system (i.e. hypothalamus and pituitary gland) inhibiting production of stimulating/releasing hormone. These hormone basically cause release of testosterone from the body..

continuous exposure to testosterone cause protein production and interfere with other breaking down metabolism.. hence the anabolic effect..

it will not cause erectile dysfunction but will cause libido and infertility
youngkies
post Jun 7 2006, 12:10 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(bellatrix @ Jun 7 2006, 09:54 AM)
My dear, salbutamol is a beta agonist lah tongue.gif. The corticosteroid inhaler they use for asthma is budesonide, fluticasone etc
You must have been studying too hard and got them  mixed up he he
oppss.. yaya.. hehe! ter-mixed up... my bad!! p4wned cry.gif

This post has been edited by youngkies: Jun 7 2006, 12:18 PM
youngkies
post Jun 7 2006, 12:23 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

there are wikipedia and google.. hehe!

be sure to know what drugs u are taking before u start to abuse them.. at least u know what is happening to you if there is problem and be regret...

otherwise, use the drug as directed by healthcare professional responsibly..

just my cents..
youngkies
post Jun 7 2006, 01:47 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jun 7 2006, 02:10 PM)
Cushinoid syndrome bro. Not Cushing's. wink.gif But yeah you're right, due to the chronic long term effects of using corticosteroids. It mimics the clinical symptoms of Cushing's syndrome, however it's not Cushing's. Hence the "oid".
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cushing%27s

we called it cushing's syndrome.. if it is caused by drug treatment, termed iatrogenic cushing's syndrome..

i thought its 'cushinoid effect' instead of cushinoid's syndrome

This post has been edited by youngkies: Jun 7 2006, 01:52 PM
youngkies
post Jun 7 2006, 07:25 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(hyperx @ Jun 7 2006, 05:07 PM)
Actually this excessive cortisol hormon in body may lead to Cushing's syndrome (high cortisol, low ACTH hormon from pituitary)... Cushing's syndrome in other hand got its name based on the disease called Cushing's Disease (high cortisol, high ACTH hormon) as it mimics the symptom of Cushing's Disease.

Cushing's Disease is ONLY due to tumour at the pituitary, thus it secrete more ACTH , causes the kidney secrete more of these steroids hormon.

For all other disease that mimics the symptom of Cushing's Disease (for example, excessive intake of steroids hormon) may lead to condition called Cushing's syndrome

*ACTH stimulate the production of these streroids hormon at kidney

Just spamming here, correct me if i wrong  smile.gif
ACTH stimulate the production of these streroids hormones at adrenal glands sit above kidney.. hehe!

yay.. we are way out of topic... tongue.gif

youngkies
post Jun 7 2006, 08:11 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(bellatrix @ Jun 7 2006, 08:46 PM)
LOL ... what's with all these biology lesson haha
just to let the threadstarter knows where can he get steroid from.. whistling.gif
youngkies
post Jun 8 2006, 01:48 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jun 7 2006, 11:45 PM)
Hehe. You have too much time you monkey!  tongue.gif 
Anyway, i understand what you're getting at. But you see, Cushing's syndrome is due an excessive endogeous production of glucocorticoids, mainly hydrocortisone. Pituitary dependent Cushing's syndrome is the commonest form of endogenous hypercorticism, accounting to more than 2/3rds of all cases.

An adrenal adenoma accounts for up to 20% and carcinoma (which may be bilateral) 5 per cent. There's also non ACTH dependent primary adrenocortical hyperplasia, but i won't go there yet. Alcoholism can also be considered.

These are pathophysiological aspects of Cushing's syndrome. Cushinoid's syndrome however, is caused by chronic corticosteroid use. The clinical symptoms like i said are similar to Cushing's syndrome, but less.

However, in it's most typical form, it's exogenous, and seen in patients treated with large doses of cortisone over long periods for nonendocrine diseases, partcularly rheumatoid arthritis and in patients receiving transplants.

I guess in some medical texts, they are used to describe the same thing.
nowadays, ppl rarely use the term cushinoid anymore..

iatrogenic cushing syndrome is cushing syndrome caused by drugs.. anyway watever term also the same la..

youngkies
post Jun 8 2006, 05:52 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jun 8 2006, 10:23 AM)
It's a matter of semantics yeah, but i'm in contact with HOD's and specialists in various departments, Medicine, Surgery, etc. That term is still used. wink.gif
Plus I've made enquiries with my father who's been practicing for more than 20 years. I pretty much make sure or else i wouldn't state it here.
well... nvm la.. maybe different places use different term.. hehe!

0.0204sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:21 AM