benny888
post Sep 23 2013, 05:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Sep 23 2013, 05:44 PM)
Guys, just a question.

I'm using Maxis. This means when I get the Note 3, I will be on LTE right?

Cos the Note 2 supposedly has LTE as well, but I think it's not supported by Maxis or something?
If yours is a microsim issued in the past 1-2 year ago, it should be auto LTE enabled. If it cannot detect LTE, than just have the simcard change at ANY Maxis dealer/center. You need not to activate it as is auto enabled
No reason why Maxis cannot support Note 2 LTE unless your microsim card is very old ( beyond 2 years ??)
benny888
post Sep 23 2013, 05:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Sep 23 2013, 05:48 PM)
Thanks uncle, but would like to ask, where the secret link for LYN user will be posted? The same link posted just now or a new link?
Just go to http://deals.ebay.com.my/ on Wed morning and keep refreshing the site and you see see the promo. That was what I did for the S4 promo - the link came up in the morning but couldnt go in until after 1130am. On S4 LTE they did mentioned the link will be live at 12 noon. I bought my set 15 mins later
benny888
post Sep 23 2013, 06:02 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Sep 23 2013, 05:56 PM)
I think the Note 2 in this region is not supported.

https://new.maxis.com.my/content/maxis/en/p...d-coverage.html

The Note 2 is not listed there. The S4 is.
My Spore friend Note 2 LTE works well here in Malaysia. Maxis usually only list the phones they sell. You can try calling them about Xperia Z and high chances they will tell you is not supported as is not listed in their manual guide !!! That is exactly what the support staff told me when I first call to enquire about LTE on the Xperia Z. When I told them my phone could detect Maxis LTE at 45000 kbps than only the support staff refer to his superior . His superior told me the support staff just following the published guide and he doesn't even know the Xperia Z existed. He also told me there is no activation required ( my purpose of calling to verify this ) once the phone can detect it. He further told me all Maxis simcard is LTE enabled especially those issued in the past 1+ year ago.
benny888
post Sep 23 2013, 06:04 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Sep 23 2013, 05:58 PM)
Thanks again uncle. Wondering what time it will be posted this round? It mentioned early morning  hmm.gif
They should released that info by tomorrow. If not just keep refreshing your PC on Wednesday morning - lah !!!
benny888
post Sep 23 2013, 06:55 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Sep 23 2013, 06:52 PM)
why they are keeping the stocks? sell now or later do not make much of a difference
They respect Samsung wishes not to sell before 25sep.
benny888
post Sep 23 2013, 08:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 23 2013, 08:25 PM)
I am not sure if here's the right place to ask, I've been using old nokia phone with the regular Digi sim card. As I am going to change to note 3, I decided to switch my network to U mobile for their data prepaid plan. I am converting my existing Digi's number to U mobile network. My question is will the U mobile operator make it into micro chip so it can fit in my Note 3? Will they issue a new chips? Cause from what I read, the old sim card does not support LTE function right?
Sorry I am new to all this tongue.gif
Thanks in advance.
U Mobile does not have LTE support at all n NO news at all whether it is in their plan to have it or not. They will provide you with micro simcard to fit your phone
benny888
post Sep 23 2013, 08:35 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ Sep 23 2013, 08:29 PM)
Will it takes too long for the ebay RM1999 note 3 to ship? no point pay RM1999 but wait for 1 or 1.5 months to get the phone right?
The last time I bought the S4 LTE ( save about RM 400 than) through similar special promo I got the phone next day through poslaju. Signup and paid at 1215pm and phone sent out same day evening.
benny888
post Sep 23 2013, 11:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jinjoll89 @ Sep 23 2013, 11:07 PM)
Means its available but just need change SIM card to have 4G function? How much do i need to paid for that? Feel like get tricked to buy a LTE phone but cant use later..lolx
Is FREE. But only limited places you can change it. This is 2 months ago info : Menara Celcom Jln Semarak, Bluecube Sunway KLCC, Pavilion. There could be more centers by now. Call Celcom to enquire.
benny888
post Sep 23 2013, 11:10 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ayed08 @ Sep 23 2013, 11:09 PM)
Yeah..still confuse...because the seller really2 want to change my unit now..huhu..he can came to bangi for change...
Probably Samsung chaps are reading this forum !!!
benny888
post Sep 23 2013, 11:16 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jinjoll89 @ Sep 23 2013, 11:11 PM)
Owh..ths alot for ur info. Do i need to upgrade my plan as well? Any extra charge for using?
Mine was already on their 4 GB plan . I understand for Maxis you must subscribed to minimum 1 GB plan . Not sure whether any limit on Celcom. There is NO extra charges using the LTE services BUT your data could be faster used up due to the faster download speeds as you'd tend to download more !!!
benny888
post Sep 23 2013, 11:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(vinnilaa @ Sep 23 2013, 11:16 PM)
I am just curious… i read in Celcom website that LTE is not available for mobile devices… but u mentioned that if we change the sim card to support LTE, that means I can get LTE on my Note3??
That is outdated info and was only applicable in the first month Celcom LTE launched initially for broadband modem devices . I have changed my simcard at Menara Celcom and within less than an hour LTE detected and I recorded 30000-40000 kbps download speeds on my previous Mega 6.3
benny888
post Sep 24 2013, 12:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Sep 23 2013, 11:53 PM)
What do u mean by both also can? Based on the official spec, memory expansion is only up to 64gb..
Note 2 official specs said support only up to 32 GB but practically you can even use exfat 64 GB . So 128 GB support is possible . Problem is this card is now very expensive n to buy it to try, you stand a risk it will not be supported

0.0439sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:59 PM