any good places to find fried rice?
abubin
Sep 19 2013, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 17 2013, 01:31 AM) Fried rice stall at Selayang Jaya pasar, this stall sell only fried rice and fairly secretive on how they cook. can you tell the exact location and what the fried rice contain? I sometimes go that area..so I can drop by for a nice lunch. BTW, my favourite fried rice is at Kepong Baru. The restaurant is opposite Kepong Baru Ninja Fried Chicken mamak. Check out my post about this in the Kepong makan thread. The reason I like that fried rice is the "char siew". It totally bring out the taste of the whole dish. Not the best I have tasted but totally good enough for me to eat at least once a week. Sorry..probably not suitable for our muslim friends. This post has been edited by abubin: Sep 19 2013, 01:50 PM
abubin
Nov 12 2013, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Sep 23 2013, 04:12 PM) I love nasi goreng ikan masin. But each time makan, disappoint me only. Where can I find yummylicious Salted Fish Fried Rice??  yes..me likey salted fish fried rice too. however, a lot of shops nowadays just fried the rice like normal then put the fried salted fish on top. This is shortcut and doesn't make the salted fish taste go into the rice. The proper way is to fried the salted fish and then use that oil to fried the rice. This will retain the salted fish flavor in the oil which will pass on to the rice. I used to fried myself but nowadays no time already and also hard to buy (and expensive) the type of salted fish need to make nice fried rice.
abubin
Nov 12 2013, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Nov 12 2013, 02:31 PM) yeah lar.. they just fried the rice and sprinkle the already-fried salted fish. If it's the soft-type" of ikan masin, goreng with rice sure damn nice. Not too sure what's the name of that fish. Didn't know that the oil can be use to fried the rice.  yeah..i know those soft type. Those are abit more juicy than normal ikan masin. When you fried them, all the juices go into the oil. That's why you must re-use the oil for the rice else you wasted that "ikan masin stock". But I usually fry with the famous salted fish from kuantan. I forgot the name but you can actually get it in Klang valley also. Just that it is more expensive.
abubin
Nov 19 2013, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Nov 14 2013, 01:09 AM) My favourite fried rice is at Restoran Say Huat section 17 PJ. Got different kinds, prawn fried rice, thai fried rice, cashewnut fried rice and more. But the rice all same taste, only different topping. that's the type that I don't really like. Just generic fried rice then add the extra ingredient on top. Those good ones are fried together so that the aroma goes into the rice.