Arsenal Street Talk, 29 September 2013 | 0025 | SWA v. ARS
Thumpy Ick
Sep 15 2013, 11:42 AM

i think ADM would work if we're REALLY not signing another ST, and putting walcott as CF if giroud's not fit. ADM can play on both flanks right?
and to his credit, gareth scored on his debut. i wish him the best, i still think of him as a gooner who changed ozil to a gunner.
Thumpy Ick
Sep 15 2013, 11:58 AM

the depth in this team, bar ST is actually good once the freakin injuries are out of the way.. we had santi, rosicky, AOC, arteta, mertesacker and podolski out for this game and managed to win with still a good squad fielded out there. out of those 6, 4 were first teamers last season.
Thumpy Ick
Sep 15 2013, 03:55 PM

all fans are fickle like that.
i think walcott's going to prove something in the UCL game. as i've heard somewhere, marseille play a high defensive line ala AVB's spurs, and if they dont change that after seeing how many chances mesut put walcott through they're gonna get some from theo. i just hope he doesnt go on a one man mission to score and neglect giroud who might be in a better position centrally.
This post has been edited by Thumpy Ick: Sep 15 2013, 03:55 PM
Thumpy Ick
Sep 15 2013, 04:02 PM

to put it in another POV, giroud and theo combined is a complete striker. giroud is the one touch magician who can finish and assist with his one touch passing/shooting, he can head the ball, hold up play, link up play and provide physical aggression to put pressure on defenders. but when he has the ball he rarely runs past players a la wilshere to create chances on his own, or run onto through passes. theo is the runner who runs onto through balls and plays at the edge of the opponent's defence line. last season he was scoring, this season he hasn't. they both complement each other.
Thumpy Ick
Sep 15 2013, 09:37 PM

QUOTE(undentifyxd @ Sep 15 2013, 07:12 PM) that was also because we passed to him most of the time when we're out of ideas. he wasnt 100% fit but i saw a few brilliant touches from him already ytd, not just the one that led to giroud's goal. since i had my eyes on him for most of the match, i think he got dispossessed once and misplaced a pass once. definitely world class. it even got to the point where i was shouting at jenkinson for trying to dribble past a defender when he could've just laid the ball for ozil. same with theo, imo he shouldnt take crosses when ozil is on the pitch. i guess they'll iron it out in training, because i'm really not convinced with theo taking set pieces.
Thumpy Ick
Sep 15 2013, 10:50 PM

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Sep 15 2013, 10:27 PM) Hi Gentlemen i see a few here think i butthurt just bcs Walcott didn't score. I just want to clear things up that is not the case, it doesnt take a world class striker to score a goal. What i butthurt about is his lack of football ability, he only have world class speed thats all. All i'm saying as a observer is i cant wait for Chamberlain to mature so Walcott can be where he belong which is the bench. If you disagree just debate no need to be a monkey start calling people names. Do you see professional pundits like Rednapp or Neville having a go calling each other names just because they don't agree with something??? chill bro, that's why they're professional pundits not online fans. who knows, maybe redknapp frequently trolls on football sites under an anonymous username? i agree that i cant wait for AOC to get his breakthrough season and be a frequent fixture on our team. but saying walcott lacks football ability when he's the club's topscorer of last season, you'd have to expect some flak from fans for that dont you? i admit i used to slag off ramsey when he was making too much backheel passes and losing possession last season (but i'd never ask any player to leave), and after the phoenix like rise of him this season i am very reluctant to slag off any player, especially since we're very early in the season. i did criticise walcott after the game, esp on set pieces as his corner kicks almost always never reaches an arsenal player. ozil as i remember took one and it went straight to giroud/koscielny's head. he must be hitting the top corner every time in the training ground since he keeps taking freekicks in a real game, but so far the only guys that i remember that are able to actually hit the target are santi, lukas and new guy ozil. so yes i would like for him to kindly step off any set pieces.
Thumpy Ick
Sep 17 2013, 08:09 AM

theo is technically playing as a striker even when giroud is on, esp when we counter attack. giroud would be the one to link up play in the middle, while theo is actually the player in the most attacking position.
playing theo in #9 wont be a problem for him, except his link up play sucks. and if theo starts as a ST who'll play RW? jack?
Thumpy Ick
Sep 17 2013, 09:33 AM

what a pass, get in the team gnabry!
Thumpy Ick
Sep 17 2013, 04:36 PM

screw MOTD hansen/shearer. GNev/carragher is a lot better, they actually give analysis without bias, instead of hansen/shearer who goes on about how atrocious arsenal's defending are without acknowledging the fact that we're 2nd best defence last season. all they do is talk about the good ol days of football in their time.
Thumpy Ick
Sep 17 2013, 11:17 PM

QUOTE(ico12 @ Sep 17 2013, 08:07 PM) Juanfran reveals Arsenal approachthis is interdasting  seems like we are getting new right-back come January since Juanfran rejected us? Sagna also mentioned that his future is at the centre. Wenger must've thinking of positioning him there permanently to provide more competition to our current CBs  Abate!
Thumpy Ick
Sep 18 2013, 12:49 PM

cayala bole tgk game pukul 10, thanks for the info bro!
Thumpy Ick
Sep 18 2013, 07:35 PM

hahaha mesut kene ragging
Thumpy Ick
Sep 18 2013, 10:29 PM

which pes yang dia punya change of direction semua macam messi? pes 2009 isit?
Thumpy Ick
Sep 19 2013, 12:28 PM

a winning away start is the best kind of start. damn and we still have a midweek game next week. when will these barrage of games end?!
jack/ozil combo is superb
Thumpy Ick
Sep 19 2013, 04:50 PM

gibbs gave a really good performance, kept that guy fanni in his pocket. i dont know much about marseille, but is valbuena their main man? at times it felt like a one man team with valbuena doing everything
Thumpy Ick
Sep 19 2013, 08:17 PM

man, why all these talk of ramsey leaving? leave those depressing stuff till next summer, you wanna talk about ozil leaving also i dont care, this is the time of joy!
but the one topic i keep getting annoyed at this season so far is "wenger replacement" stories. he's having a good season so far and the media's talking about his successor, damnations!
Thumpy Ick
Sep 20 2013, 10:31 AM

eriksen went under the radar after the ozil and lamela transfer, but i think he's going to be a massive player for spurs this season. he's starting to turn it on already. lamela not so much
Thumpy Ick
Sep 21 2013, 10:26 AM

dafak bendtner, u sure that's not some random hobo in that park dressed as bendtner?
Thumpy Ick
Sep 21 2013, 01:34 PM

it'd be interesting to see if mata leaves chelsea. if jm does sell mata i hope he sells him to spain or anywhere else than EPL. i'd hate for him to sell mata to man utd, after all he said about blocking demba ba's loan here and not strengthening other rivals.