Advice on upgrading to active 3 way or 2 way, currently play on passive setup

TSenzim10
post Sep 15 2013, 08:42 AM, updated 13y ago

218 posts

Dear sifu's,

i interested to upgrade my current system from passive to full active setup or semi active. possibly to 3 way setup. my concern is to fully utilized what ever thing i have now to set up best surrounding and quality sound. i might add a few ice thing but depend on sifu suggestion. below is summary of my current setup:

Car - sedan pesona

1. Pioner p3450 dvd player
2.Alpine amplifier 4 channel
3. Maestro component set
4. Crossover - CDT Audio 2 ways crossover
5. Underseat Subwoofer;- under driver seat

note: currently i play front component- rear one i disable and not install any component.

i still have :

1. Audiocontrol 4xs - 2/3/4 ways active crossover
2. american sound Midbass 5.25" with crossover and tweeter
3. 2 channel amplifer
3. extras tweeter

here some diagram from active crossover setup catalogue:

Q: i only see to my next setup is 4 channel 2 way or 2 channel 3 ways . i will not going to 4 ways since i need to bu another exp. EQL/EQT. which one is the best ?

if i choose 4 channel 2 ways - i need to install new 4 channel amp and used back my 5.25 " midbass at rear side near rear pillar?
if i choose 2 channel 3 way - i need to add midrange woofer and another 2 unit of amplifier right for tweeter and midrange? for midrange mostly is 4" tyer. can i used 5.25" as i already have?

is that any significance difference between 4 channel 2 way and 2 channel 3 way?

This post has been edited by enzim10: Sep 23 2013, 09:04 PM
ryanu
post Sep 21 2013, 12:32 AM

Really depends on your own choice.. Whether or not u want rear fill or u just want front stage. If I were u, try to make it simpler.. Go for 3 way front stage plus sub...

Ur 5.25" is a midbass not midrange. I think u can get some used midrange quite at a fair price in lyn or zth.

Good luck!
CarroTT
post Sep 21 2013, 08:39 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

add a subwoofer
TSenzim10
post Sep 22 2013, 02:39 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(ryanu @ Sep 21 2013, 12:32 AM)
Really depends on your own choice.. Whether or not u want rear fill or u just want front stage. If I were u, try to make it simpler.. Go for 3 way front stage plus sub...

Ur 5.25" is a midbass not midrange. I think u can get some used midrange quite at a fair price in lyn or zth.

Good luck!
i see. thx. will look for midrange

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Sep 21 2013, 08:39 PM)
add a subwoofer
ahaa.. can i used underseat..that all can i affaord.. no more space availabe inside car
CarroTT
post Sep 22 2013, 08:25 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

QUOTE(enzim10 @ Sep 22 2013, 02:39 PM)
i see. thx. will look for midrange
ahaa.. can i used underseat..that all can i affaord.. no more space availabe inside car
wat u put inside ur boot until no space ?
i oso drive persona, this car got ample boot space for subs arr
TSenzim10
post Sep 23 2013, 08:32 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Sep 22 2013, 08:25 PM)
wat u put inside ur boot until no space ?
i oso drive persona, this car got ample boot space for subs arr
70 liter NGV Tank sweat.gif .. 20 sen increase is a lot to me .. wink.gif
CarroTT
post Sep 23 2013, 09:36 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

QUOTE(enzim10 @ Sep 23 2013, 08:32 AM)
70 liter NGV Tank  sweat.gif  .. 20 sen increase is a lot to me .. wink.gif
bro, how much it costs to install sweat.gif
TSenzim10
post Sep 29 2013, 09:34 PM