Sony XPERIA™ Z Ultra, Official Thread V5, 14.1.B.1.532 Out - Big In Every Way!

tonyyet
post Sep 17 2013, 09:41 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 17 2013, 09:06 AM)
Couldn't wait for ijat91 confirmation and proceeded to test myself.

Just flashed mine to 510 LTE version using flashtool. Chose data to remain - it was a breeze updating it. Phone bootup successfully with zero problems n all my stuffs remain intact.

Most important is : 3G n WiFi is still working well n I have chosen as default 4G/WCDMA/GSM in network settings
Will test out LTE when I am in a LTE area next time

BTW NO fake hang issue in rebooting even with optimised backlight deselected
Rooted back phone successfully with VRoot v1.70

Before :
[attachmentid=3632935]

After :

[attachmentid=3632937][attachmentid=3632936]

WOW : this is indeed amazing if I can get the LTE to work too. No need to upgrade to LTE model already !!  Users in KL - please test n report back - is very safe
Wow, u guys are really brave! rclxms.gif
tonyyet
post Sep 17 2013, 03:04 PM

76 posts

So is it just like what they did on Nexus 4? Wuah, Sony, this is such a trick!
tonyyet
post Sep 17 2013, 03:14 PM

76 posts

Sooo adventurous! Feel excited for u guys!
tonyyet
post Sep 17 2013, 03:22 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(leechunghan @ Sep 17 2013, 03:18 PM)
WT.... i tot only rm3XX - 6XX only..  cry.gif  doh.gif  rclxub.gif
Coz its USD $250 for QX10 and $500 for QX100. I'm so desperate to get one lol
tonyyet
post Sep 17 2013, 03:32 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Sep 17 2013, 03:27 PM)
Today 17 Sept already bro brows.gif few days to go to your new toy brows.gif
Note 3 will be a disaster for XZU ah. Hmm hmm.gif
tonyyet
post Sep 17 2013, 03:38 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 17 2013, 03:33 PM)
Not true.

Note 3 is pocketable with SPEN.
XZU is barely/not pocketable with Pencil.

Both are different category.
Haha love this, with Pencil! rclxms.gif
tonyyet
post Sep 17 2013, 03:40 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Sep 17 2013, 03:34 PM)
You getting black colour one brows.gif But I can't decide yet. As I owning Black XZU and Black iPhone 5, if go black Note 3 then will be nice, but white one more attract me brows.gif
Long time don't have black phone already, kinda miss that colour, hahah just saying lah biggrin.gif
tonyyet
post Sep 17 2013, 03:52 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(whyteaz @ Sep 17 2013, 03:50 PM)
hi, do any1 know where to buy lte ver of this phone?
AP set has LTE model right? If u don't mind..
tonyyet
post Sep 17 2013, 04:16 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(leechunghan @ Sep 17 2013, 04:14 PM)
did u all clearing ram on ur XZU ?
i din clear ram.. but very smooth..
Yah very smooth, I didn't clean too. I'll just reboot manually once in two days. blush.gif
tonyyet
post Sep 17 2013, 04:52 PM

76 posts

Imagine we already had 2GB RAM on our phones since last year but phones nowadays are getting more and more responsive, thanks to the better and stronger CPU, while RAM is still the same at 2GB, let alone those with 3GB, hahah wink.gif
tonyyet
post Sep 18 2013, 12:25 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Sep 17 2013, 11:06 PM)
This

[attachmentid=3634137]
Really dwarfs even the Note 3. I'm losing appetite when I see Touchwiz..
tonyyet
post Sep 18 2013, 08:02 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(adriancs @ Sep 18 2013, 12:36 AM)
I actually kinda like Samsung's notification drawer. I install Apex launcher to get rid of the TW launcher,  root and titanium backup to freeze bloatware.

And I love smartstay
Indeed, thats what I do on my Samsung now, Nova/Apex/Holo launcher, haha. The only thing I missed the most is Multiwindow. ohmy.gif
tonyyet
post Sep 18 2013, 09:50 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 18 2013, 09:47 AM)
TS should consider changing his thread title of :14.1.B.1.532 Out - Big In Every Way! to 14.1.B.1.532 Out - Bug In Every Way!
Joking only !!
Uncle that sounds so saddening eh.. sad.gif
tonyyet
post Sep 18 2013, 10:02 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 18 2013, 09:58 AM)
I am very happy with the XZU. As far as I am concerned I do not faced those issues except fake hang . But than is only a minor issue to me as I just need to select as default optimized backlight and I do not see any difference in display quality with or without it being set. And now on the LTE510 rom, this issue is no longer there !!
Yah. As far as I know, the "Optimized Backlight" difference isn't really obvious on my unit too.. Still loving XZU rclxms.gif
tonyyet
post Sep 18 2013, 10:55 AM

76 posts

Cheers. Agree on the radio part, remind me of XZ that is having poor wifi connection issue. XZU is a big leap from XZ, solving the wifi radio, white-washed display, overheat and slow charging issue while enhancing the performance and speed, plus material. It got lots of attention, my colleagues and friends have been asking about it, hahaha.

You reminded me of my Note 2. Yes the over sensitive S-Pen issue! Had been exchanging and sending for warranty due to the stupid sudden death issue. That day I was browsing on Facebook and the phone just dead in a sudden! Luckily my sixth sense told me to backup everything two days ago. Frankly say, the Note 2 I'm holding now is the third unit. The quality isn't that satisfying, I realized I've exchanged everything including the problematic charger. The only thing left is earphone (and battery) and now its already spoilt too. I'm not harsh with Note 2 at all so I had to say their quality control isn't that good too, or maybe its my luck. Lol. Their customer service is great though.

This post has been edited by tonyyet: Sep 18 2013, 10:56 AM
tonyyet
post Sep 18 2013, 12:42 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 18 2013, 12:16 PM)
Before that I also though is Chrome issue, but is not lo. I already get back my Tablet Z, I don't have issue watch inside Chrome or download the YouTube via JetVD, it run perfectly fine in Tablet Z and XiaoMi MI-2s.

The optimize backlight is affected me, you seen I post before on and off comparison right, my unit is big different.

The camera really bad la, it is the worst phone camera I ever use in recent 2 years. The over compression and noise filtering is unacceptable, and auto mode in dark place is over noise, Sony push too high the ISO, it is over limit.

I didn't face FC issue in my Samsung device, only face crazy hang in S II, that phone I sell within a month use, same as this Z Ultra.
Erm, seriously I watch Youtube very often and download videos from it too, never face any issue.. That's the reason I'm very satisfied with its entertainment performance. I'd say maybe it's about quality control, mine is great despite of having fake hang issue. Camera is about the same, Sony tends to pull up ISO and over processing, same on my XZ. It's usable, I wouldn't say it's good but it's not that bad..
tonyyet
post Sep 18 2013, 01:05 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 18 2013, 12:57 PM)
Singaporeans are selling their guide book ( comes with the phone) for S$18-20! Freaking unbelievable n yet there are buyers
Becoz of kiasu-ness... afraid to lose. Die die must buy all and complete tongue.gif
tonyyet
post Sep 18 2013, 01:43 PM

76 posts

Feel like Sony is just testing water with it. (And to beat Galaxy Mega 6.3). hmm.gif
tonyyet
post Sep 18 2013, 01:58 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 18 2013, 01:52 PM)
From price standpoint:- Cannot beat Mega lah. RM1399 SME set with LTE. How to beat????
From spec standpoint:- Mega got LED flash and LTE lah. XZU got S800 and 1080p triluminous.
hmm.gif
At least when looking at 6" display, Mega and Ascend Mate aren't the only options. Previously I was attracted by Mega 6.3 but the spec is just not that satisfying.. Here comes XZU to save me! HAHA drool.gif
tonyyet
post Sep 18 2013, 02:02 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 18 2013, 02:00 PM)
Hahaha... yeah...  rclxms.gif At first I thought, omg, 720p screen of huge Mega screen. Who wanna buy?  shakehead.gif
But in fact dat 720p on 6.3" almost made me throw my 720p on 5.5". Hahah rclxub.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0466sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:59 PM